We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just the ticket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“just the ticket”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My son (aged 10) and I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights as it was cheaper to stay here than in Cardiff for a trip to the cricket. Excellent location for Temple Meads Station as its just over the road, but a good 15 min walk into the centre of Bristol, ask for a map at reception as its not the easiest job to find which direction to go. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and friendly, we were checked in quickly. The room was fairly spacious and clean, bathroom spotless, bed comfortable, TV worked with fairly good choice of channels and overall very happy with the room. The complementary breakfast was good too, my only slight gripe was when stocks were running low the staff were a bit slow on topping them up and the toaster took what seemed an absolute age to toast the bread even on a low setting. On the whole a great place to stop if travelling by train for a day or two (it was my first visit to Bristol and I liked the place) and don't mind the trek into the town centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siethepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Siethepie
Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your first trip to Bristol. We hope you and your son have enjoyed the cricket in Cardiff. We are glad to hear that our customer service and facilities have met your expectations and the issue regarding our toaster has been passed onto our maintenance technician. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your 2nd visit.
Regards
Katya Basaeva-Beattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    296
    155
    44
    28
See reviews for
74
220
72
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

nice hotel, well situated, in the centre of bristol near the shopping centre and pubs ! matress not very good but correct .
the room is spacious and the bathroom is spacious too.
it is better to ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the road in front of the hôtel is busy;
the railway station is just at the opposite of the road.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilou F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear LilouF
Thank you for writing a review for us. We have you have had a great time in Bristol and have enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards
Sharine Carrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in Bristol as unable to get train home after speedway at Cardiff. Convenient for train station and short walk to city centre. Staff very friendly and chatty. We were even asked if we preferred a room with a better view but could be a bit noisy or a quieter room at the back. The room was a good size and spotless, and the breakfast was substantial and tasty. Couldn't fault it really.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear JulieJ48
Thank you for posting such a lovely comment for us. We hope you have enjoyed your trip to Cardiff. We are pleased to hear we have delivered great customer service and our facilities have met your expectations during your short stay with us. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Bristol.
Regards
Sharine Carrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bueckeburg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Arrival wasn't bad. The 20 allocated parking spaces were full so we parked in the pay and display car park next to the hotel for a reasonable 6 pounds. Location is conveniently opposite Temple Meads station and less than a ten minute walk into the city centre.

As far as the room is concerned, the bed was fine and even had a choice of different pillows. There was the usual range of facilities for a hotel of this class, although the whole hotel looks a bit worn especially the exterior. The cleanliness wasn't great and there was a very unpleasant smell in the bathroom. I assume that the drains were blocked.

For breakfast there was a wide range of cooked options and cereals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Michael W
Thank you for posting a review for us. We hope you have had a great time in Bristol and thank you for bringing the maintenance issue in your room to our attention.
Regards
Sharine Carrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here for a stag weekend. Parking is confusing, either you get in their compound for £6 a day or next door in the multistorey which is £11 a day, but you have to be up before 9am to buy a new ticket.
Anyhow, staff excellent, really friendly, room good size spotless clean, lovely comfy beds and proper aircon in the rooms, teas, etc.?Nice fluffy towels, perfect. Breakfast not bad, sausage, beans and eggs . Good for filling up and staff relaxed. 20 minute walk into outskirts of town which is fine after a night out. Pub next door, what else do you need?. Really couldnt fault it to be honest, maybe a bit noisy on the roads, but it is in a city. Basically go with the right attitude and you cant go wrong. Perfect stop over for us for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Pan40
Thank you for writing a complimentary review for us. We hope that you and your friends have had a great time in Bristol. We are pleased to hear that we have delivered great customer service and our facilities have met your expectations. Once again, thank you and we wish the Stag a wonderful wedding day
Regards
Sharine Carrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel is easy to find by road, or is across the road from the railway station. The car park is a bit of a bind. You have to check in before parking as you need a code. You also need another code to get out of the car park the next day as it changes each day.It is safe but not very user friendly.
The staff were friendly and the rooms normal HI standard. The hotel was quiet despite the railway station and a noisy bar next door. There is not much within a easy walk but there is a 'spit and sawdust' bar next door and a restaurant that we didn't try. Breakfast is included and is not bad with plenty of cold options and a few hot(scrambled egg, sausages etc)
Its great if you just need a nights hotel like we did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Rob.Belc
Thank you for posting a review for us. We hope you have had a great time in Bristol and choose to stay with us on your next visit
Thank you
Sharine Carrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn to attend a family party nearby. The staff welcomed us with smiles, clear information and an offer to book cabs or anything else we needed. Our room was basic but spotless. Everything worked from the tv, hairdrier, internet and shower. We slept well with the choice of pillows. Breakfast next morning was efficient and ideal. Cereals and juices, breads and hot dishes. Again everything was spotless with the staff even wiping down the food cabinets during the service. I've not seen such attention to detail in 5 star hotels. Check out was 12 which suited us very well. I would recommend the hotel and its proximity to the station to all ages.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Admiral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear AnnM
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience and compliments for our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that our customer service and facilities have met your expectations. Once again thank you for choosing us and we hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Bristol
Regards
Sharine Carrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#15 of 37 in Bristol
1,416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Address: South End, Temple Gate House, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing