We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wrong with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here with 2 friends in 2 rooms. We had originally booked a single and double but on arrival they moved the single to 2 doors from us and upgraded to a double free of charge. We were on the top floor in smoking rooms. Rooms were great, had what we needed. Shower worked well, no complaints. Excellent location, walking distance to Cabbotts. Reception staff were very helpful and poilte. We didn't eat the brekkie as we were too hungover from a night in the City!! Would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornwall78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Cornwall78
Thank you for taking your time to post a review for us. We are pleased to hear that you and your friends have had a pleasant stay with us and we have met your needs for your night out in Bristol. We look forward to your return soon
Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 742 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

Had a few doubts when I first booked with some negative reviews,but as soon as we arrived they were dispelled.Very friendly reception soon had us booked into our room on the second floor at the rear of the hotel..The room was comfy with the sofa bed for our son.The bathroom was quite large with a walk in shower that was very welcome after our drive down.Breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals, breads,jams,yogurts,fruits and pastries,also sausages,scrambled egg and beans.Some moaned about the lack of bacon but there was enough choice to fill up on.I remember when it was just a cold buffet.Some people just like to find faultsThe staff kept the food topped up as well as cleaning the tables .The car park was £6 per night which isn't bad for a city centre,and it was secure with a coded gate.Right opposite the railway station and a short walk to the city.Only about 20 miles from Weston along the A370.SWould use this hotel again.

Room Tip: we had a rear room but with the window open could here the traffic from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigfredthegoalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Bigfredthegoalie
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review posted. It is great to hear that you chose to book with us even with a small handful of negative comments posted and have had your doubts dispelled during your stay with us. We have always prided ourselves on our excellent customer service and also we would like to take this opportunity to reiterate that we do not provide bacon for hot breakfast due to brand standards. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

First impression was that the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was quite nice and it was clean. Breakfast was tasty. Very close to temple meads train station and within walking distance of the centre of town.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Kelli92
I would like to thank you for posting a review for us and we are very pleased to hear that you have had a pleasant stay at our property and our customer service standards have met your expectations.
Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

I got a fairly reasonable rate at this hotel, and my stay was pleasant enough. Staff were friendly, asked me what floor I wanted to stay on etc.

My only major gripes were that there was a strong smell of drainage on the top floor and that the shower hardly functioned at all as the water pressure was so low.

I would stay again but would request a better room next time!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear JamesShelley
Thank you for posting a review for us. I am pleased to know that we have deliver good customer service but sorry to hear that the room you had was not to our normal standard.
Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Receptionists very friendly and helpful. Room modern, well maintained, spacious and clean and everything worked. Good price relative to other hotels nearby. Privilege Card members treated very well so sign up, costs nothing. Minor niggles - shower water pressure poor on the 6th floor, use the public car park at the rear at £4 a night instead of the hotel section of the same car park at £6, and needs a proper conveyor belt toaster in the breakfast room. Bar quite expensive but plenty of other options nearby. Very convenient for station. Overall enjoyed the stay, would definitely use this hotel on any future visit to Bristol, provided the price is right: it's in the £75 class.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Steve L
We are very happy to hear that you have had a good stay with us and will be staying with us again on your next visit.
Thank you for mentioning our loyalty programme which is world class and I am sure that fellow travellers appreciate the sharing of this information and would sign up to the Priority Club programme to start enjoying the benefits. Also as mentioned, joining at no cost to our guests. Also there are various promotions which you will be able to take advantage of and numerous rate products to choose.
Our secure car park has limited spaces therefore we have a concession rate of £2.50 overnight at the NCP car park for our guests
The water pressure is being investigated and we endeavour to resolve this issue as soon as possible.
Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and i arrived at Bristol at nearly midnight due to arriving on a late evening flight and due to catch the train in the morning and so the Holiday Inn Express was a good choice. The hotel is just across the road from the train station so the location was perfect for us.

On arrival the receptionist was very polite and welcoming. We were given the option of a smoking room which was fine for us as we are smokers (its very rare to find a hotel that lets you smoke indoors.) Our room was on the 6th floor to the back of the building so very little noise from the traffic on the main road. We were pleasantly suprised by the room as the decor and room amenities were really nice and so much better than the 4 star hotel we stayed in on our trip to Prague.

We enjoyed a good nights sleep although i did get woken up by someone returning to their room in the early hours but apart from that it was very quiet. In the morning we took advantage of the free breakfast which was a basic selection of hot food, toast and pastries and it set us up for the day.

This hotel is perfect if you are staying for one night or for the weekend due to its location by the train station and only a few minutes walk to the city centre. The standard of amenities and level of customer service is very good considering this is only a 2.5 star hotel. For the price i paid i got my moneys worth and would definately recommend the hotel if you were wanting to only stay in Bristol for 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redbulllover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Redbulllover
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for writing such a great comment for us and your recommendation to fellow travellers
Many travellers, both leisure or business, have found that our location is ideal for them due to the close proximity to the Templemeads Train Station and also the Express Link to and from Bristol Airport.
We are pleased to hear that our customer service and facilities have met your expectations and that you have had a great stay with us.
Once again, thank you
Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in holiday inn for a night away with friends we were initially impressed as rooms were bright and looked clean but after spending time in the room a awful smell was coming from the bathroom my friend complained to reception and the lady came to investigate and said it didn't smell before u must have used the shower?!?! We weren't offered a move and anyway my friends room had the same smell too so guess it was a problem.on the plus side the bed was comfy. in the morning we went for breakfast which was disapointing there was no Bacon only scambled egg if you could call it that it tasted like it had come out of a packet if u can buy packet scrambled egg? It tasted plastic and artificial there were cheap sausages if u were lucky enough to grab one before the greedy people filled there plates! I would not stay here again bristol has much nicer hotels nearby

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear sharonbooth,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#15 of 39 in Bristol
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Address: South END Temple Gate, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $63 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing