We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely indian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Raj

Raj
Ranked #28 of 1,564 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A traditional Indian restaurant in the heart of Bristol. Established since 1981, The Raj has endeavored to serve the finest Indian cuisine, using the highest quality ingredients.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A lovely indian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Raj is a very lovely little place in central Bristol, highly recommended for the great food. Service also was quite good and quick. Prices are what you would expect. As the restaurant is in a basement, there are no windows and therefore it is quite dark, though on some occasions it might even add to the atmosphere, I would preferred some natural light.. All and all a good place for indian food lovers. 4 out of 5.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martinskik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,060
    268
    83
    48
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Great curry, attentive staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice curry, and the staff looked after us well. Need to know this is here as it is tucked away underground. No complaints.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank edwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old school curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I regularly visit the Raj when I'm in Bristol and have not found a better Indian in the city. Food here is excellent - and I'm from Glasgow so have high standards when it comes to curry. Staff are friendly and accommodate special requests. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The restaurant now has free wi-if which is great when eating alone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
936 reviews
535 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“There is better curry around”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This place has lost it's way. Simply, there are other, better places to get a curry in the city, that are only a stones throw away.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal for two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Me and a friend went for a last minute curry tonight, we were pleasantly surprised. The waiters were lovely and hospitable in particular the young smily guy who brought us our main dishes. The food was amazing I asked for more spice and it was perfect for me. Will definitely be visiting again with more friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raj also viewed

 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing