We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless food, Great value, superb atmosphere even on a sunday night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raj

Raj
Ranked #25 of 1,556 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A traditional Indian restaurant in the heart of Bristol. Established since 1981, The Raj has endeavored to serve the finest Indian cuisine, using the highest quality ingredients.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Faultless food, Great value, superb atmosphere even on a sunday night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I dropped by for the first time on a sunday evening as this was one of the few places open till late in the area. I'd read the reviews on here as we walked there and they were spot on. Food was fantastic, best onion bhaji i've ever had. The Chicken jalfrezi was also noteworthy. My girlfriend had the chicken Bhuna, which was also very good.

This place is also especially good value considering the 2for1 you can get using a taste card. All in all, a fantastic surprise for a sunday night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NVanHoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,051
    260
    83
    46
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BRISTOL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Wife and I came here on 21/04/13 after reading other review on here, and boy are we glad we did. Cannot fault the place, Food was perfect especially the Chicken Balti served in a korai (I have not had one so nice since 15 years ago in Birmingham). The wife loved here Chicken Tikka Masala and all the sides and extras were lush.

In all good value, excellent food, attentive & friendly but not overbearing staff all served in a clean and romantic environment.

Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CANKSTERBRISTOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Ate here for the first time this weekend. Food was really nice, all the usual curries, plus some we had never had. Good service, tasty food - would reccommend this restaurant and will definitely be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tuesday night and packed! Need I say more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Been here a number if times now and the hospitality and great service make me go back with different friends! Fantastic food, good service even if busy and that counts, at most restaurants the wheels come off if busy! Well done see you soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

In town for a Conference with a Danish colleague who like a good curry when in the country. Used TripAdvisor to find an Indian and chose the Raj. Very glad we did as it is great. Very friendly staff and quick efficient service, but best of all the food. Great flavours, good ingredients and generous portion size.

If I am in Bristol again, I will be back :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rooster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raj also viewed

 

Been to Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing