We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian Food”
Review of Raj

Raj
Ranked #31 of 1,595 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A traditional Indian restaurant in the heart of Bristol. Established since 1981, The Raj has endeavored to serve the finest Indian cuisine, using the highest quality ingredients.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

In town for a Conference with a Danish colleague who like a good curry when in the country. Used TripAdvisor to find an Indian and chose the Raj. Very glad we did as it is great. Very friendly staff and quick efficient service, but best of all the food. Great flavours, good ingredients and generous portion size.

If I am in Bristol again, I will be back :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rooster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,095
    278
    88
    48
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Some of the Best Indian Food I've Ever Tasted”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were on a visit to Bristol and saw recommendations for Raj. They were absolutely right! We went in early inthe evening and were welcomed by the friendly and enthusiastic staff and quickly found a table. the service was excellent and the food was well presented and tasty. I had onion bhaji to start and it was definitely the best I have ever eaten, light and beautifully flavoured.

Our ten-year-old daughter was presented with an "Indian milkshake" free of charge, the waiter telling us they do this for all kids. A lovely gesture and one she enjoyed enormously!

There was a great cross-section of customers, couples, families, office parties, lads on a night out, older people. This I think is a recommendation in itself.

I cannot fault this restaurant in any way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing Indian restaurant in Bristol”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

After walking around bristol on a freezing cold snowy day we decided to pay the Raj a visit. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious and left us in good spirits. We have been to many other Indian restaurants in Bristol but the Raj is by far the best. I would recommend to anyone who likes good food and a good atmosphere!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BEATLES2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Love it, only place worth going to in bristol”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Service is excellent, feel very welcomed every time. The food is exceptional, best in bristol. All in all the raj is awesome and am getting cravings just thinking about it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbrain86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic service, friendly and delicious food.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was the perfect night out.
The service was fantastic and it honestly felt as though we had our own personal waiters where we made to feel so welcome.
The food was delicious and I am now going to be a regular customer because this is a place you have to return to time and time again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raj also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing