We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Down Country Park

Old Down Country Park
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This park is a little gem of a place. Lots of animals to see, a restaurant where you can eat or just have a cuppa and lovely views of the Severn and both bridges. When we went there was a craft fayre happen in the house. We enjoyed the visit and will go back again

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindey B, Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are all very proud of our little gem and we hope you come and visit us again very soon. We are open every day until Dec 23rd and then again from Jan 2nd.
Anya Hallett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    37
    19
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice day out, just a strange layout!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a lovely day out at Old Down with friends and toddlers. There are quite a lot of animals to look at and a lot of other things to see and do but it isn't well signposted and is not logically laid out. For instance, we paid and walked in past the manor and shop and then had no idea how to actually get into the park - turned out you had to go through the shop!!

We went to the animal encounters bit, but it was all a bit strange and the staff seemed a little miserable and it really didn't smell pleasant - I know farms have a certain smell about them, I don't mind that, but this was a really unpleasant smell. I had to leave the area....

There is a lovely walled garden and a great play area for younger children with lots of little cars, trampolines, a bouncy castle and some climbing frames. There is a massive play area for older kids in a different area, which I guess would be annoying if you had children of different ages with you. For us, with only toddlers it worked really well as it meant that there really was only toddlers around.

Back to the animals - some of the pens have information on the animals but others there was nothing at all. We couldn't even find the wallabies.

The restaurant barn is lovely, although we chose to eat outside as the weather was lovely. I had a full English breakfast which I have to say was pretty blummin' good! We also had some cake of which there was plenty to choose from and they were yummy as well.

Definitely worth a visit, but probably won't go back for a while.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ctcondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindey B, Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments, really pleased you enjoyed your day with us. I will follow up on all your points with the Staff particularly regarding signage in the Park. We will action the feedback and we hope you come back and visit us again very soon.
Anya Hallett
Park Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Down - shame about travel directions!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have been here twice this summer. Once with 2 adults & children. Then again with grandparents. Really enjoy ourselves and really good value for money. The bouncy pillow is the favourite. Make sure that children that are old enough to climb should have a friend with them otherwise the parents will be climbing! Would definate recommend this place to anyone. The only gripe (and the reason for 4 stars and not 5) is the directions on the website and not signposted from main roads. Think we seen one but it was for the oppsite traffic. I've heard that they have been in contact with council for more signs but could they update their website in the meantime?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindey B, Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the directions and signage we apologize for the difficulty you had in finding us, but so pleased you had a good day with us. We are hoping that the Brown Tourist Signs will be sorted as soon as possible and we will update the website with some more detail on the actual location today.
Anya Hallett
Park Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Really gorgeous place well worth a day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

To be honest didn't know the place was here but invited along by friends. What a find. An old manor with lovely gardens and walks but a genuine focus on younger children. Well spread out with defined spaces for play animals and picnics. It's work in progress but such a lovely atmosphere. I can imagine it being ten times the size in a few years ( aka folly farm) but its relaxed atmosphere is what makes it. A real picnic paradise. Mention to staff as well, from office to cafe/bistro, they are just so friendly and helpful and take their time to chat and make you feel welcome. Brilliant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Celtica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindey B, Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments - our relaxed atmosphere, warm welcome and good customer service is key to our popularity and we will ensure these elements remain our focus as we develop. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good reasonably priced Family day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lots of good play equipment for the children and animal interaction and nice walks. Watch out for wasps, but I guess that's something all outside venues suffer from at this time of year.

I would say I used to go their when it was open as a farm park under different ownership, some 10 years ago, although my daughter was too young back then to take advantage of the adventure playground, it always looked a lot of fun and challenging, amongst the trees, rope bridge, etc....would like to see that being reinstated.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JustVed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindey B, Manager at Old Down Country Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We do like your ideas for more play equipment in the Woods, we no longer own all the land that the original Country Park used therefore we are more limited for space but we will give this idea some thought!
Anya Hallett
Park Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Down Country Park also viewed

 

Been to Old Down Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing