We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great treat”

Aqua Italian Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #26 of 1,623 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great treat”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Myself and fiancé visited Aqua Italia on May 25th. We arrived at approx 6pm, and the restaurant was quite quiet. We were very impressed with the choice on the menu, the way the food was presented and the service. Alice, our waitress was very helpful and pleasant. I feel it it is very good value for money and the restaurant has a lovely ambience about it. I returned 2weeks later with my sister for a lunchtime and we were not disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    149
    50
    35
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very pleasant meal with family”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was a very enjoyable visit and everyone in our party of 7 enjoyed the meal. Having booked in advance, by phone, I was surprised to be asked to pay 10% deposit (but it was for a Friday night). On the night we had a comfortable position, upstairs, where it turned out to be not too noisy. The service from start to finish was very good - all the staff were pleasant, helpful, and not too stressed - making for a relaxing evening. The food we ordered ranged from pizzas to pasta, chicken to duck and all were well presented and tasty. Desserts were delicious - we had sticky toffee pudding, carrot cake, brownie, and the raspberry creme brulee I had was exceptional. Sure it's not the cheapest Italian restaurant in town - but for a special occasion (21st birthday celebration - which the staff marked with a candle on her dessert!) it proved to be well chosen, and we'd go there again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stopped by with family on a sunny Sunday lunchtime and, although we had not booked and the restaurant was busy, the Maitre d' gave us a lovely upstairs table. The menu was extensive enough to make us take our time in ordering, and the food when it came was ample and excellent quality. Also worthy of recommend are the cocktails - very tasty! Just one slight niggle - I did not like the fact that ten percent 'optional' service charge was automatically added to the final total. I felt awkward about asking them to remove it, but was much happier that I decided on the tip myself. Would recommend it for the food and service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scruntfuttock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a lunchtime try.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very nice restaurant which is a bit cheaper lunchtimes. Have not tried the evening menu. Service good; very nice pleasant staff.

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good value restaurant”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Aqua is in a great location on Whiteladies Road in Bristol. It is nice to sit outside on a balmy summers evening. There is a very varied menu and food is always to a reasonable standard.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank angela914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Italian Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Aqua Italian Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing