We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Great location”

The Whitehouse Guest Rooms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Whitehouse Guest Rooms
Ranked #34 of 49 Bristol B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The rooms are basic but extremely clean and quite roomy for their price.
The ladies who checked us in were really friendly and helpful.
It's about 7 minutes walk to the Harbour area which is a fabulous night out in its self, so fabulous location.
Breakfast is only continental but there was plenty of it.
Very good value for money at £50 per night for a double

Room Tip: The double with private bathroom(not en-suite) was great for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DKerr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 50 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed at Whitehouse B&B for over 4 weeks and I loved it. Chris (owner) was very friendly same as Debbie and Emma. The rooms were kept satisfactorily clean and the continental breakfast was OK too. Internet worked well for me, and the showers were perfect. I agree the walls were rather thin and you could hear the people in the next room. It would be good to also have the washing machine working especially for long staying guests. Overall I enjoyed my stay and hope to be back.

Room Tip: higher rooms, especially facing dean lane have more lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank KB688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The guest rooms are clean but basic for the money. We didn't see anyone other than a cleaner during our stay - no owner or manager - and she didn't speak. It was very unwelcoming and I wouldn't consider staying here again. The breakfast was poor. I booked this as it was described as a family run guest house when it was nothing of the sort. If you are the only one booked in you will be on your own there. You would be better off staying in a youth hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khalm, Public Relations Manager at The Whitehouse Guest Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We work very hard to make all our guests welcome. On this particular occasion, a Sunday, the guest had given an arrival time of 2pm, and did not actually arrive until 9.30pm. We were there at 2pm and in fact at 5pm, but as we do not live on the premises we had gone home by 9pm. In the morning, once we have set up breakfast, we then clean rooms, tidy etc. as people leave, and it may well be that we were not in the dining room, when the guest came down for breakfast - it is unusual. As they only stayed one night, there was no opportunity for them to see many members of staff.
We do have guests who stay several nights, and in fact return on a regular basis and they are always happy with our welcome and service, and this is reinforced by the other reviews left. Our B&B is family run - so we take time at the B&B and we take time with our family. The majority of our clients love the welcome they receive when they visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Good location, close to the harbour (5 min walk). Clean Rooms. Early check in request granted.Friendly and accommodating staff.Very good place for quick lunch at 5 min walking down north road called The Old Bookshop.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pippiLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

After staying at the white house for a full week for a business trip I was extremely happy with the hospitality I received during my stay, nothing was too much haste. It was like a home from home, clean, tidy, good size rooms, friendly staff and a breakfast thrown in, what more could you ask for!!! Well done to all the staff

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavphp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Thanks for making my birthday weekend so enjoyable.
The staff were really helpful and friendly
The rooms were really clean and well presented
The continental breakfast was better than a lot of more expensive hotels I have stayed in
It really was a short walk to the docks
There was 17 of us and every one feels the same
For the money very good value we will be back
once more thanks to the owners mum what a nice lady
once more thanks

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for three nights for a long weekend. Rooms surprisingly nice for a guesthouse/B&B, everything seemed quite new (bathroom fittings, taps, towels, bed etc). Kettle & tea making stuff & a medium sized flat screen TV with a selection of channels. A good standard of cleanliness.  Heating always available & controllable using bedroom radiator thermostat.

Yes the stairs - as highlighted by other reviewers - are creaky but this was hardly an issue. A couple of noises in the night sounded mechanical but not really intrusive, they only went on for a short while. A noisy looking music venue nearby caused some concern on Friday night but luckily once we were in our room & bed, the sound was not major and did  not upset sleep. 

There was a very friendly & hospitable breakfast/housekeeping staff member second & third day. Breakfast itself was a bit disappointing, all a bit dull: Nescafé or tea, cheap sliced bread, hard croissants, very basic ham & cheese slices, orange juice & yoghurts. To be fair that all sounds ok actually, just not brilliant quality so a basic, and some might say, adequate offering.

My parents with whom we stayed experienced problems with their bedroom door  lock and even after a change of key from the very friendly staff, they still had trouble locking and unlocking their bedroom door. 

The car park at the rear with 6-7 spaces is extremely convenient and reassuring to know the car is parked in a secure location.  Always got a space & if there hadn't been room, plenty of free parking is available on the street.

A comfortable and convenient base for a stay in Bristol.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonestRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,834 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
1 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitehouse Guest Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitehouse Guest Rooms

Address: 28-30 Dean Lane | Southville, Bristol BS3 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Whitehouse Guest Rooms Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing