We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont take the kids”
Review of Oakham Treasures

Oakham Treasures
Ranked #17 of 211 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've been meaning to visit here for quite some time but had never got around to it, but in the middle of a wet and windy week off me and my wife dropped by for a good mooch around. Tractors are definitely not our thing and that bit of the exhibition was quickly passed over but there were certainly a lot of brightly painted tractor seats adorning the floors all around the other exhibits. Someone obviously has a lot of time on their hands. The rest of the very eclectic mix of everyday items is scattered around a collection of large sheds. There is very little organisation and even less information it is exactly if the items as found were just dumped somewhere for a future sorting that has never actually happened. There are themed area such as a chemist shop, a haberdasher and hardware shop filled to the brim with items from yesteryear, the age of each visitor determining exactly how much they can recognize and how much they can dredge up from the depths of memory. Me I enjoyed every minute I spent there, my wife not as much, she lacked my ability to get lost in the arcane trivia that makes up the bulk of the treasures.

Not everyone is going to enjoy this and to be honest the admission price is a little steep and the video on their website just a little bit misleading. But if you can get over hundreds of almost identical oil cans and boxes and boxes of old shoe accessories and just lose yourself in the wonderful world of vintage brand packaging that used to adorn every houses kitchen then this is for you. If not then take a free visit to Ikea.

Chances are that the older you are the better you will like this place. I'm not a wizened ancient but I bloody well loved it. It smells a bit, it was organized by a demented borrower and looks a lot like the overspill from a million garden sheds but it does have an odd charm that is hard to quantify.

You pays your money you takes your chance. But kids will be bored inside five minutes and I bet it's hard for dad to keep control of them whilst he's eying up a rusting box of Meccano. Didn't use the café but the prices looked reasonable and the food what I saw of it looked pretty good.

3  Thank Roy13c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We do offer a quiz to keep the children entertained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Oakham Treasures
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 231 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is the personal collection of a farmer who has built up a superb collection of everyday items of yesteryear into a well displayed museum nostalgia gone mad! There is a cafe and the museum attracts many coach parties, therer was a farm shop and other outlets but these have now closed, worth a visit.

1  Thank Johng59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lived near this place since it opened and pass it several times a week. Glad we eventually made the time to visit. Absolutely fascinating with an enormous collection of "stuff". Much of it seems like the the contents of peoples garages, attics and other places where items get stored and forgotten. The contents of what must have been closed down shops are a "blast from the past" and bring back lots of memories. If you are interested in old tractors and farm machinery there is a large collection. There is some organisation of the exhibits, but other areas are random, with unrelated items grouped together. More information about the items would have been better. Nevertheless much to interest and remind of the past, particularly for those of us who are a little older.

Thank gsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed reminiscing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The amount of items they have from the four ties, fifties and sixties really brings back memories and you spend all you time reminiscing. Takes about a hour to go around but not too expensive so a nice distraction if going to other places for the day and have time to spare. The farm shop has now closed which is a shame

Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Visited recently as a volunteer with a group of older people from a day centre. There are a lot of exhibits on display and I mean a lot. Not the type of museum where everything is individually labelled with a description. That would be impossible, rather the exhibits and displays speak for themselves.
Probably most rewarding for the over 60s, but younger age groups and even children will find things to like here.
The cafe area seems a bit dark, but that maybe just a contrast to the brilliant sunshine outside.
Our group especially enjoyed reading the naughty postcards!

1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your visit, the postcards are a firm favourite!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakham Treasures also viewed

 

Been to Oakham Treasures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing