We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many memories!”
Review of Oakham Treasures

Oakham Treasures
Ranked #16 of 207 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So many memories!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Visited here with my 90 year old mother who is disabled. What a wonderful afternoon we spent wandering round all the displays. There is so much to see, too much really to take in in one visit. For those of us who are 50 plus the place contains a wealth of memories from food to toys and household appliances. Not to mention the tools and tractor collection, and the old newspapers and magazines. Probably not much there to interest young children but a real useful place to jog the memory of the elderly and to stimulate the brain. The free car parking, easy disabled access, including in a wheelchair, lovely toilets and a super little cafe, plus very friendly and helpful staff. Very reasonably priced (£5.50 for senior citizens, and £6.50 for adults) for a good 2-4 hours entertainment, and could be a lot longer if your legs and head could stand it! An excellent venue for a rainy day with friends or elderly relatives.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stumperett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Wheelchairs are free of charge to use during your visit. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    48
    7
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best and widest collection of OLD Shop stuff and tractors AMAZING”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A really worthwhile place to take people too, older age people can recollect old memories, young can learn a brillaint visual history.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your visit. We also offer a children's quiz to keep them involved on their visit too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Great collection ,great nostalgia.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I love this eccentric collection of shop stock and old tractors. Classically English and quirky. The owner is very proud of his collection and rightly so.Pity he closed the adjacent Butchers shop though.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank foxmeister-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your favourable comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Quirky, unusual and memorable”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went here having seen a leaflet at Bristol Tourist Information and spent a very enjoyable couple of hours wandering round the exhibits.

It's probably ideal if you are in your seventies or eighties as you will remember everything on display but, as a couple just into their sixties, we recognised most things - and they certainly brought back memories. It really is fascinating to look at what must be thousands of all kinds of items from the past 80 years or so.

If we'd been interested in tractors and farm machinery we could have spent another hour wandering round those exhibits. The cafe was fine and the toilets very clean.

The only slight disappointment was the 'shop', which was tiny and could be developed much more. Also it should be said that the road to the Farm from Portbury is just a bit dangerous: lots of bends and cars go very fast.

All in all, an excellent afternoon, and I would strongly recommend this attraction.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cltc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your review we are pleased you had an enjoyable day. In our shop we only stock selected items suitable to our clientele. If you would like to suggest any items that we could stock which is suitable then please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOMERSET
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Took a coach party to Oakham last week the group really enjoyed the visit easily accessible for disabled, lots to see and reminisce about, Nice little cafe, ideal coffee or tea stop for coach parties instead of motorway services. can really recommend this place, will be taking some of my other groups to visit soon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SANDIE1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakham Treasures also viewed

 

Been to Oakham Treasures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing