We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great collection ,great nostalgia.”
Review of Oakham Treasures

Oakham Treasures
Ranked #19 of 212 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I love this eccentric collection of shop stock and old tractors. Classically English and quirky. The owner is very proud of his collection and rightly so.Pity he closed the adjacent Butchers shop though.

Thank foxmeister-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your favourable comments. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 222 of 237 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went here having seen a leaflet at Bristol Tourist Information and spent a very enjoyable couple of hours wandering round the exhibits.

It's probably ideal if you are in your seventies or eighties as you will remember everything on display but, as a couple just into their sixties, we recognised most things - and they certainly brought back memories. It really is fascinating to look at what must be thousands of all kinds of items from the past 80 years or so.

If we'd been interested in tractors and farm machinery we could have spent another hour wandering round those exhibits. The cafe was fine and the toilets very clean.

The only slight disappointment was the 'shop', which was tiny and could be developed much more. Also it should be said that the road to the Farm from Portbury is just a bit dangerous: lots of bends and cars go very fast.

All in all, an excellent afternoon, and I would strongly recommend this attraction.

1  Thank cltc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your review we are pleased you had an enjoyable day. In our shop we only stock selected items suitable to our clientele. If you would like to suggest any items that we could stock which is suitable then please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Took a coach party to Oakham last week the group really enjoyed the visit easily accessible for disabled, lots to see and reminisce about, Nice little cafe, ideal coffee or tea stop for coach parties instead of motorway services. can really recommend this place, will be taking some of my other groups to visit soon.

Thank SANDIE1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We took our daughter and 10 year old grandson to see this attraction.

On arrival we weren't really impressed with the big barn type buildings, but once we had parked the car and entered the building things changed. The displays contain a massive amount of artefacts.

As one enters the first room there is plenty of space to see the few objects on display, but from there on inwards it gets more crowded and more interesting. Large model aeroplanes hang from the roof and display cabinets fill the available area. Some parts are constructed to resemble shops -- chemist, corsetry, luggage, groceries, etc. If you're into nostalgia, you will love it here. As one walks around the exhibits memories of how things used to be keep coming to the forefront.

One room is full of vintage tractors, stationary engines and associated paraphernalia (not unusual for a farm).

The whole place is light and airy. We had lunch in the cafeteria and we felt that this was excellent value for money.

Thank wessex-andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments. You are welcome to visit the cafe facilities at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Easy to take my disabled father around in his wheelchair. Fascinating collection for all types of shops. Enjoyed nice lunch in the cafe. Brought back lots of memories of the past. Well laid out in their individual sections. Good parking.

Thank Diane1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakhamTreasures, Manager at Oakham Treasures, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Don't forget we have wheelchairs here for your use, free of charge, during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakham Treasures also viewed

 

Been to Oakham Treasures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing