We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good place to sleep” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rock'n'Bowl Motel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not a good place to sleep”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

We booked a doublebedded and got a bunker bed. The room was not so clean, so were the sheets. The noise on the street was unbearable and on the weekends they offer free earplugs. That's why we stayed only one night.
The kitchen was undergoing some works and the showers/bathrooms were not all available as the women's were out of order and some of the others had some small problems.
The staff was pretty friendly and very helpfull and they do have free wifi.
For the same price we went for a B&B not far away which offered a real doublebedded room with TV and a sink, with a full english breakfast included on the price and the double of the room area, if not more.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iakaox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    243
    99
    40
    52
See reviews for
10
53
252
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lecco
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

I’ve just come back from Bristol. The Rock’n bowl motel is very close to the city centre, just in front of The Mall and a few minutes walk from st. nick’s. The location is great, quite easy to find and not far from the bus station, but this is almost the only positive aspect of this hostel.
we stayed here only for a few days, we slept for one night in the 8 bed mixed dorm and for a couple of nights in the twin room. Both were quite small, and they had a terrible smell and were very unclean. But the worst thing was the bathrooms, which had something like a tacky mud on the floor. That’s why we used to have a shower wearing our flip flops.
Another disgusting thing is the kitchen, which was dirty and without any table or chair.
The staff is quite friendly, if you can find someone at the reception…you have to ring the bell, and wait for at least 5-10 minutes…that’s why there is a quite comfortable sofa where you can sit while you’re waiting just in front of the reception.
If you have to stay here during the weekend, and you want to sleep before 4 a.m., ask for ear plugs: at the bowling the level of music is very high.
On the web site is written that they organize tours for Stonehenge, but that’s not true. We asked for that to the staff, but they didn’t know anything about that.
I would recommend this hostel only to young people who only want to sleep here and spend the rest of the day around (like we did) cause it’s cheap and in a great location, but definitely not very nice.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank franokkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

15 mins walk up to our party in Clifton village, so dam central. We loved the cider bar and bowling. Rooms are in size but with big windows. Great fun place in a brilliant city.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crumpet88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

First off, we were a group of 10 arriving on Friday night into Bristol for the first time. Rock N Bowl was hard to find but actually close to Temple Meads. Nice bright reception and helpful staff, though only one staff member. We had a prviate room with ensuite on top floor. Big enough and recently decoracted.LMassive windows. Bath had push button taps, which was a pain. We didnt use other facilties, except the bowl where were drinks were taken before heading out into the Bristol night. Overall pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryuk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Good place for backpackers or large groups which appreciate low price more than comfort. On the ground floor is bowling bar loudly partying all night long during weekends.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sigydotcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock'n'Bowl Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Property: Rock'n'Bowl Motel
Address: 22 Nelson Street, Bristol BS1 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock'n'Bowl Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Bristol, Rock'n'Bowl features a 24-hour front desk, common areas with free Wi-Fi, flat TVs, a tennis table and a big courtyard. Guests benefit from several discounts at The Lanes, the on-site bowling alley and night club venue, with a special selection of beers, cocktails, a karaoke facilities, pool tables and the famous Ray's Pizza, made with daily fresh dough, buffalo mozzarella and imported Italian ingredients. A nice and healthy breakfast which includes locally roasted fresh coffee, tea, milk, jam, orange juice, toast and cereals, is included with each reservation. The on-site complex, the historical THE LANES, has club nights with many important bands and djs so please be aware that there will be noise disruption on Friday and Saturday nights in particular until about 03:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Rock'n'Bowl Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock `n Bowl Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing