We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing.”
Review of Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rock'n'Bowl Motel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Seems like a great place at first, with a nice look, great location, good kitchen and nice living room. It could be the perfect hostel if not for two things: it is extremely noisy at night and it was impossible to lock the shower stall (one didn't even have a lock, and the other didn't work properly - any knock from outside was enough to open it!). Taking into account that it was a mixed shower room, with men coming and going all the time, this is a serious issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucianna_furtado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    246
    101
    43
    53
See reviews for
11
55
256
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Though the price is very appealing, it is NOT worth it. I stayed for two nights at this location and did not at any point feel safe. I stayed in a co-ed dorm style room, which essentially consisted of myself and a lot of men. I never felt secure leaving any personal belongings in the room, it was extremely loud at all times, the other guests and staff were far from friendly, and the use of the kitchen space was not explained at all by the staff upon arrival.
The majority of the electrical outlets did not work, the bathrooms were, for the most part, dirty, and people would enter and leave the room at all hours, at various degrees of drunkenness. (I stayed during the mid-week).
Would only stay again if forced to for economic reasons or accompanied by at least two other people I know, so as never to be alone here.

Room Tip: For females - go female only or private room For anyone - stay on highest level possible, though it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed in the rock and bowl hostel for 2 nights with a friend as we were in the city for a concert, at first I was very scepticale, I don't like the word "hostel" haha, I was worried about the location as it was in the city centre and was worried about "safety" at night, but I was pleasently surprised to find that every door leading you to the motel rooms were locked using a key card mechanism so only residents with key cards can get through to the rooms, (this i was extremely happy about). We stayed in a double room (more private) and was surprised at how comfy the double bed was! Yes the room was very basic but it was all we needed. The linin was clean and the was tidy, only one plug socket which was a little annoying but only a minor set back. The main thing was everyone was so friendly! And the whole atmosphere was very chilled and relaxed. Toilets were spottless, (didn't use a shower so wouldn't know to comment, used a friends who stayed near by) not so much noise atall, would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckyh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Reasonably priced at around £18 for a 12bed dorm this hostel has a bowling alley and bar below with guests getting 20% off bowling (£3.5per game) and pizzas, get amongst! If you like a dead quiet hostel this place isn't for you; the noise from bar and bowling works its way up and can be heard from most of the dorms but with a few drinks and earplugs you wont even notice. They do offer free earplugs at reception which is helpful. Wifi is available throughout and with a large lounge and separate huge kitchen/dining area this hostel has it all. The only downside was that the showers on our wing of the 2nd floor were all out of action so we had to use the others and there was a bit of a queue in the morning.
Oh yeah and check out is at midday so you can sleep off a hangover somewhat before heading out to brunch somewhere; I recommend somewhere up in Stokes Croft - the Bristolian or if you don't want to walk too far then The Birdcage is another good cafe.

Room Tip: As high up as you can get so you are away from the bowling alley and bar noise. But that is hard to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place is adequate, but don't expect anything more.

It's a great place if you want to party.

Stayed in a dorm room. People were coming and going from our room at ALL HOURS of the night.

The toilets are disgusting.

I stayed in March 2013 with a friend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTraveller5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you are looking for a cosy and friendly hostel don't go to Rock N' Bowl Hostel ! Overall I had a good stay, and the staff was nice but the hostel was just too big and not cosy enough for me! The room was okay, even though it was a bit cold and really noise during the night! The hostel is located in Nelson Street, which has a lot of nice street art, and is not too far away from the city centre, there is a shopping gallery just next to it as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here yesterday and that was fantastic. Very clean and spacious room, clean white linens, thick and soft pillows and mattress, everything is impeccable and hostel is well managed. I stayed in 12 bed dorm (#212) and showers in this side of building didn't give warm water so i've to go to the other side (but same floor), and that was the only issue i faced. Kitchen is very nice too, so as fast wifi, so as the crowd. I'm now in Plymouth with good memories of Bristol, all because of Rock n Bowl (the lanes). I give a 5 star for the best service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iFlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock'n'Bowl Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Property: Rock'n'Bowl Motel
Address: 22 Nelson Street, Bristol BS1 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock'n'Bowl Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Bristol, Rock'n'Bowl features a 24-hour front desk, common areas with free Wi-Fi, flat TVs, a tennis table and a big courtyard. Guests benefit from several discounts at The Lanes, the on-site bowling alley and night club venue, with a special selection of beers, cocktails, a karaoke facilities, pool tables and the famous Ray's Pizza, made with daily fresh dough, buffalo mozzarella and imported Italian ingredients. A nice and healthy breakfast which includes locally roasted fresh coffee, tea, milk, jam, orange juice, toast and cereals, is included with each reservation. The on-site complex, the historical THE LANES, has club nights with many important bands and djs so please be aware that there will be noise disruption on Friday and Saturday nights in particular until about 03:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Rock'n'Bowl Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock `n Bowl Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing