We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here if you want to sleep!!!”
Review of Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rock'n'Bowl Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Ear plugs only worked until the music was turned up louder at 1.30am. Music until 3.30, loud drunks outside, bowling noise until 6am, people knocking our door all night = no sleep all night. Man coming into our 4 bed female dorm at 4am! Not enough showers, half out of order and others disgustingly filthy!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 694 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Great rooms, great kitchen, okay showers and common room. The only thing thats poor is the atmosphere, because there are people who stay for long periods of time, they are all in their clicky groups so it's hard to meet people.
Otherwise I really enjoyed it here

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkibaddeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Firstly let it be known that there are two Nelson Streets in Bristol, and if, like me, you don't know Bristol too well and are relying on Google maps/iPhone maps to find your way to this hotel make sure it is the right one! A friend and I spent a good half-hour walking out from the city centre to find we had been right next to the motel at our start point!

However, do not let this navigation slip-up (completely my own fault) taint your view of this excellent place to stay. For the incredibly reasonable rates you get a bed and washing facilities at a good standard, which when traveling on a budget is all you want. My booking took place literally the night before staying but I was pleased to see cheap rates regardless of this. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the bowling alley/bar adjoining the motel looked fantastic, will definitely be making good use of those next time I stay here!

Sure, the kitchen area was a little messy and the music does go on til late, but with the prices as excellent as they are it is difficult to complain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calebski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Currently attempting to sleep at the rock and bowl. It's 2.40am and our room is directly above a nightclub. Incredibly loud and the room is vibrating! I've stayed in many hostels and have never experieced anything this bad. There should be health and safety regulations about selling rooms with this much noise. Do not stay here if you want to sleep!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adellem1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

in for a night and only got a quick impression. the staff were probably the high point - very helpful with maps and information. the whole place looks like it could do with a bit of a freshen up, but the rooms and facilities seemed clean. location isn't

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markchopperreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were here at a weekend on a stag do. The staff were friendly & organised and the rooms were clean. There is a bar downstairs which has excellent ales on tap; later on on Saturday it becomes a quite a good disco playing '60s beat and northern soul. Based on a weekend visit, it's good if you want to party, I imagine less so if you want to sleep. However, Friday night was quiet, so I imagine other week nights would be too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bimblinghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I was happy with this hostel. staff are friendly and helpful. not expensive for the central bristol location. its nice and clean and the kitchen is well stocked (although the pans are pretty old).

There's a club downstairs which plays very loud music but only on a sat night until 3am which was fine for us because we were out partying till late anyway. however if you need to get an early night on a Saturday this place may not suit you.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,860 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bristol Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#31 of 39 in Bristol
742 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Bristol
YHA Bristol
#5 of 35 in Bristol
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock'n'Bowl Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Address: 22 Nelson Street, Bristol BS1 2LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Bristol
Price Range: $20 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock'n'Bowl Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Bristol, Rock'n'Bowl features a 24-hour front desk, common areas with free Wi-Fi, flat TVs, a tennis table and a big courtyard. Guests benefit from several discounts at The Lanes, the on-site bowling alley and night club venue, with a special selection of beers, cocktails, a karaoke facilities, pool tables and the famous Ray's Pizza, made with daily fresh dough, buffalo mozzarella and imported Italian ingredients. A nice and healthy breakfast which includes locally roasted fresh coffee, tea, milk, jam, orange juice, toast and cereals, is included with each reservation. The on-site complex, the historical THE LANES, has club nights with many important bands and djs so please be aware that there will be noise disruption on Friday and Saturday nights in particular until about 03:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Rock'n'Bowl Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock `n Bowl Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing