We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed by Location, Service, Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Impressed by Location, Service, Amenities”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I spent a night at the Radisson Blu (while in Bristol for far too short a time on my recent vacation) and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The clean, modern facility towers over the center of town without imposing itself unnecessarily on the surroundings.

I checked in extremely late, but it was a breeze and the man at the front desk was friendly and very professional. I was hoping for a room with a view over the Floating Harbour but was far too late for one of those, so I was given a room on the 14th floor with a nearly-as-impressive view of the city.

The room was spacious and well appointed with a comfy bed, desk, and chair. The bathroom was spacious too, and the entrance alcove included a small fridge. Included in the cost of the night's stay were wi-fi Internet access as well as bottles of water and cans of Coke from the fridge. How thoughtful!

The only challenge I had was figuring out how to operate the shower. (They don't make 'em like this in America!) A quick call to the front desk solved the problem quickly and professionally, although a good laugh at my expense would have been completely justified.

Did I mention how great the location is? Right on Broad Quay in the center of the city, across from the Floating Harbour and a block from late-night dining, drinking, and dancing options. (The map shown here on TA is not correct, so check on Google Maps instead.) I ventured out well past midnight on a Wednesday night and had no trouble getting dinner, then a drink and dancing, within a few blocks.

Overall, I was very happy I opted for this property instead of something closer to Temple Meads. Speaking of which, I recommend taking a taxi or the bus to get to the Radisson Blu from the train station. I attempted to walk it and got lost (not a problem I typically experience), so I ended up having to catch a bus anyway.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davdaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    775
    247
    84
    55
See reviews for
213
789
93
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The hotel has large and comfy double bed rooms with elegant furniture. The bathrooms are stylish and cozy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Stayed for two nights and will happily return. A short taxi from Temple Meads to the "back door" of the hotel for £5. Usually happy to take the 8/9 bus to the bottom of Park Street, but it can be a bit of a wait on a Sunday. Perfect location for Blue Reef and At Bristol. Reception staff were very professional. Had a standard room on a very high floor, with a river view - fabulous. Very comfortable bed; the usual fluffy towels and toiletries. Decent sized tv with a few family movies on offer. Absolutely no noise problems. Having sampled the Cardiff Rad Blu breakfast, decided to opt for vegetarian with room service - a little strange (included boiled potatoes), but perfectly edible. The only let-down was having to wait almost an hour for the main course in the restaurant on the second night. Otherwise a perfect stay.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldFreddy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The Radisson Blu is a 4-star rated hotel located right in the heart of Bristol close to Broad Quay and within walking distances of many bars, restaurants, shops and other places of interest. This ultra-modern 17 storey blue glass building rises up above all the others and you can get excellent views over the city if you are staying in one of the upper floors. The interior of the hotel is decorated in a contemporary style with clean lines, black tiles and chrome finishing.

I stayed at the hotel with friends for a stag weekend. Check-in was fast and each pair of our party was given an envelope containing our keycards and paperwork. The receptionists were all smartly dressed and professional.

The rooms we had were all well appointed with the same modern design as throughout the hotel. We had a number of twin rooms for our party. My room had two very comfortable single beds. A large wall-mounted flatscreen television with freeview channels as well as pay-per-view features. There is plenty of storage for clothes, a passcode safety deposit box and small refridgerator that contained two complimentary bottles of water and two cans of coke. There were tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and ironing board and a hairdryer included inside the room. The hotel is wi-fi enabled throughout. The wi-fi internet access is free for all hotel guests, you only need your room number and surname to access the wi-fi facilties.

The en-suite bathroom was clean with black marble/stone tiled flooring, pristine white bathroom furniture and a powerful shower. There were some complimentary branded shampoo and shower gels provided.

On site there is a bar area just adjacent to the lobby which has large screen televisions. Drinks prices here are very expensive. When compared to prices in the surrounding pubs, about 30 percent higher. Upstairs on the first level is a restaurant called the Filini restaurant. It's an Italian restaurant. We went there for breakfast each morning but did not have any other meals there. The breakfast service had a good range of breakfast items available from the buffet, with English cooked breakfast items as well as continental, cereals, yoghurts, fruit and juices.

Overall we had a very positive experience at this hotel. Everyone from my group enjoyed the stay here. The only negative comments we had were that our rooms did not have a particularly inspiring view, there was a wall outside our window to a courtyard. I put this down to us having booked through an agent at a discounted group rate. I guess the discounted rooms are the ones without a view. The only other thing I'd mention are that there are two lifts servicing all the floors which are fairly slow. You sometimes have to wait a while for the lift to arrive. One of my friends got stuck in the lift for about 5 minutes and had to press the bell, he found that experience amusing more than anything.

In conclusion, an excellent hotel in an excellent location. I'd definately like to stay here again and will definately consider the Radisson brand for any future bookings.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonewayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Stayed on 16th floor; could just sit looking out the window all the time.Fantastic views.Hotel was part of a prize that I had won from Visit Bristol & although well appointed was a bit too modern & impersonal for my taste.My friend could not cope with air conditioning at night so I was too hot in bed (ample duvets) & of course you cannot open a window on the 16th floor.Nevertheless we enjoyed the novelty of staying in such a chic room with a lovely tho unfeminine (dark grey tiles) bathroom with excellent shower.Breakfast was what you would expect from a 4star hotel with ample choice though spoiled by cheap yogurt.
The best thing about the hotel is its location, a minute away from the City Centre Ferry stop & the bars & cafes of Millenium Square, bus stops, etc.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hectoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed on a Sunday night having obtained a good Internet rate for the room from the Radisson website.
The hotel is near a lively part of Bristol and is a new build. It has an unpretentious entrance, and the reception area is somewhat gloomy. The receptionists though were welcoming and professional. They had noted and gave us our room preference. The room was large and airy. There were complimentary soft drinks. Internet was also complimentary and fast.
The breakfast was the usual extensive Radisson buffet with good quality food and service.
One possible downside for some travellers might be the cost of car parking, but it is in central Bristol. Because we stayed on a Sunday night we parked on the street - gratis.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marks069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Stayyed at this hotel for one night with youg twins to visit Bristol. Were giiven a really large rooom for £79 with breakfast. Breakfast was excellent lots of choice and friendly staff.
Location good to the centre of Bristol, Lovely restaurant round the corner Italian San Carlo we went to.
Overall very good hotel for one nights staff. Would go agsin.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Address: Broad Quay, Bristol BS1 4DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#9 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol is a first-class accommodation choice in England's sixth most populous city. A total of 176 stylish, comfortable rooms provide ample amenities, including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Many of the rooms also overlook the picturesque harbour as well. Filini Restaurant helps supercharge your morning with the expansive Super Breakfast Buffet, complete with pastries, fruit and coffee. Lunch and dinner specialities include Mediterranean favourites. For exceptional events, the flexible and sophisticated meeting facilities can be customised to suit your hosting needs. - Only 20 minutes from Bristol Airport - A total of 176 Bristol hotel rooms and suites in three design styles: Chic, Fashion and Fresh - On-site Filini Restaurant offering the Super Breakfast Buffet and delicious Mediterranean cuisine - Free high-speed, wireless Internet throughout the hotel - Convenient on-site features like a business centre, which provides secretarial services including printing and copying - Five meeting rooms for personal and business events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Rezidor, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing