We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The location is excellent but this is not a 4* hotel. The staff were very friendly but had poor communication skills. Breakfast was like eating in a works canteen, we waited on both mornings for bacon and eggs and on Sunday we requested the smoked salmon plate to be refilled but it failed to appear, however the fruit salad was delicious. There were no seats available so we had to take our food up and down to the bar - not ideal especially as we couldn't make anyone understand that a tray would be useful.
The deal included water and coke in the room - we had 2 bottles of water only on day 1 - it was not replenished. We were given cups but no saucers for tea, only 2 'ordinary' teabags per night, no biscuits. The was no mirror near a socket, so drying hair was a bit of a challenge.
After a long day on Saturday, we had a drink in the bar and decided to order room service. We requested a steak sandwich and a fish cake at around 2130 hrs, by 2230 hrs it had not arrived but by then we decided not to eat. Our order never materialised.
On leaving we voiced our complaints to the receptionist, he was very apologetic and said we would hear from the management - we are still waiting......

Room Tip: higher rooms have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
Your comments worry me greatly and is something I will get on to imediately. this is absolutely not how we wish to be percieved.
If you could please contact me directly I would like to discuss this situation further.

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    750
    238
    82
    53
See reviews for
200
761
88
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this new hotel for a long weekend in March. We don't have a single complaint to make - everything was excellent. The staff were warm and friendly, the room and hotel were new and spotlessly clean, the breakfast was absolutely excellent, our twelfth floor room looked over the harbour and the hotel's situation was ideal. Really - nothing negative to say - gold star to the Radisson - I hope we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour view. The Bristol Flyer bus from the airport (£11 return) drops you at the door of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedClancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Lovely review thank you very much. We are also looking forward to your return.
Please contact me directly when you have decided on dates and I will be very happy to arange the practicalities of the reservation.

best regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A good location for anyone arriving on the A2 airport flyer bus, which stops outside the door. Handy for exploring the regenerated harbour/docks area including M-shed and SS Great Britain. A 2-miles walk along the River Avon brings you to the Clifton suspension bridge. Avoid a room facing the front of the hotel at weekends as it can be very noisy, according to friends who stayed in a 1st-floor room. Also be aware that the "valet" car parking will cost you around £20 overnight whereas a five minutes walk will bring you to a car park behind the M-shed where the rate is much more reasonable (£7). Rooms are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on the first floor overlooking the harbour if it is at a weekend as it gets very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Nice review, thank you very much.

Hopefully we will see you down in bristol again soon.

best regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
751 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here on business and found it comfortable and practical for my purposes. It is basically a tower block so don't come here for the views as it is next to other tower blocks. However it is surrounded by restaurants a and bars etc. Thankfully no noise in the rooms so good for a night sleep and the breakfast is as you would expect from such a hotel. Downside no parking, and the deal offered was OTT, I would suggest finding your own alternative by looking up parking Bristol. Probably a good location to take in the night-life in Bristol at the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonA_Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the comments left on Trip Advisor, although we appreciate that valet parking is not everyones cup of tea, we do feel the price very reasonable for the offer. £23 for 24 hours is not unreasonable when you consider the local car park is charging £20 for anything over 4 hours, plus the convienience of not having to lug suitcases etc from down the road.
We do have stunning views from some of the rooms and we will aways try to allocate those if you request them, unfortunately they are not always available.

I thank you for your comments and feedback

best regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

it was a business related stay and it was comfortable.the rooms were basic but comfortable, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the view from my room was very impressive.
shame there is no car park available at the hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the review.
I am suprised to hear that you were not aware of our valet service for car parking as this is a very convienient, efficient service we offer.
We hope you come again and when you do, I will ensure you are made aware of the offer.

Thank you and best regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a lovely hotel, quite new and excellent location in Bristol with walking distance to most things. We had a nice, spacious room with a great view of the city. The service at check in and out was great and the staff were friendly and helpful.
The only criticism of our stay was the breakfast. We were at the restaurant at 9.30am (breakfast was until 10.30am). But there were so many people there! We managed to get a table, but most of the otherwise impressive buffet was empty. Many people were complaining and it was tedious waiting for the staff trying to refill the buffet.
Other than this it was a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor - this will give you a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
It is unfortunate that the weekend was marred by a poor breakfast experience. and we have used your comments to retrain our standards and push for improvments.
Rest assureed when you return your experience will be perfect.

best regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

So were there for a stag night; and a second time around one at that, so we are a bunch of guys in our 40s; perhaps more discerning or demanding customers than we might have been the first time around.

The good news is that this new, purpose built, hotel is ideally located in the city centre, close to the bars and entertainments. The rooms are well laid out (though slightly bizarre electrics) and most of all they are quiet, no slamming doors or noisy pipes - so a big tick, that is to me fundamental and so often missed!

The bathrooms were smart and clean, but oh! The water pressure was pathetic, and the baths the wrong shape; by which I mean that the shower was over the bath, which meant that with the dribble of a shower you had to squeeze up to the end, which was typically slightly curved so my toes were curled up the side of the bath. Needlessly irritating, it is a new purpose built bathroom, a pump on the shower would have transformed the experience. But the worst was yet to come.

Breakfast on Saturday is 0700 to 1000. The hotel was full, and there were lots of groups of young people out for hen and stag dos or other parties, so unsurprisingly, we all came down to breakfast at the end, in my case about 0945. There was no hot food left. So I asked for coffee whilst we waited, they brought a flask for a table of 4, that had one cup left in it. I waited 10 minutes before enquiring if the buffet was to be refilled - I was told it was 'on its way'. So I stood and waited (with a dozen other guests); they then brought our some sliced oranges (!) and 10 rashers of bacon (between 12 of us) - still no eggs sausages, hash browns or beans. They were on their way - then came black pudding, still no eggs or sausage; after 30 minutes things were getting restless, and the manager said that they were surprised by the number of guests (plainly reading the booking system was too much for them). In the end, at 1015 three poached eggs arrived. As I was front of queue, I took one and a hash brown. Frankly it was shambolic. When I checked out I mentioned this to the duty manager, who knew nothing about it. That in itself shows bad management, as I would have thought the restaurant manager would have called down for assistance in getting more food cooking, and more staff to serve. But apparently not. Radisson Blu is a good brand and this is my first poor experience with them; the bathroom issue was just down to poor design; the breakfast to poor management. If they improve this will be a very convenient and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londontraveller1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am dissapointed that you were underwhelmed by your experience in our hotel. Obvioulsy this not how we want to be seen.
We will use your comments to retrain our staff and ensure that going forward we do not have a repeat of these things.

Thank you again for your review

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Address: Broad Quay, Bristol BS1 4DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#9 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol is a first-class accommodation choice in England's sixth most populous city. A total of 176 stylish, comfortable rooms provide ample amenities, including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Many of the rooms also overlook the picturesque harbour as well. Filini Restaurant helps supercharge your morning with the expansive Super Breakfast Buffet, complete with pastries, fruit and coffee. Lunch and dinner specialities include Mediterranean favourites. For exceptional events, the flexible and sophisticated meeting facilities can be customised to suit your hosting needs. - Only 20 minutes from Bristol Airport - A total of 176 Bristol hotel rooms and suites in three design styles: Chic, Fashion and Fresh - On-site Filini Restaurant offering the Super Breakfast Buffet and delicious Mediterranean cuisine - Free high-speed, wireless Internet throughout the hotel - Convenient on-site features like a business centre, which provides secretarial services including printing and copying - Five meeting rooms for personal and business events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Rezidor, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing