We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
swansea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, excellent staff”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a lovely stay in Radisson Blu. The staff were wonderful, so helpful, nothing too much trouble. Had a great room, huge with very comfy bed. Everything you could possibly need including iron and ironing board. Had some nibbles in bar which were plentiful and well priced. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of hot and cold food on offer. The location is fantastic. Two minutes to the harbour and plenty of shops and bars in the vicinity. Directly opposite the Hippodrome. Have stayed in quite a few hotels in Bristol and this was my favourite by far. Will be returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djslangland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Very nice review, thank you for taking the time to write it
I have passed on your comments regarding our staff member, who was thrilled to recieve this.
comments like this are always great to see, thank you

best regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    756
    243
    82
    54
See reviews for
204
773
89
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed Saturday Night 9th march 2013, booked through lastminute.com and got a very good deal so was not expecting a great room just standard hotel.Was very suprised that I got a lovely big room with great views on the 10th floor the bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom huge and well stocked.free Coke and water in fridge a bonus and lovely expresso machine to make coffee was a bonus too. The staff in the hotel were all very professional smart and attentive checked in and out in 2 minutes flat ( think the guy was called Ernesto at reception who was very pleasent and helpful) quickest ever in a hotel I think and I do stay at a lot for work.I stayed at the Radisson Blu in Edinburgh in the summer and that was great as well the hotel management must be very good or just lucky with their staff as all the staff seemed happy and smiley in their work and created a nice atmosphere where you felt you were being looked after and not just a number. I recently stayed at the American Eagle hotel Amsterdam which has been taken over by the Hampshire chain my room was 4 times the price of this room and really no way near as good so for the price this was a great stay will certainly stay again when in Bristol on buisness or for pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Fantastic review and lovely to hear we have impressed well. Thank you.
having named the staff member in your review has earned him the award of employee of the month which makes him and i very proud, as he definately deserves the award
thank you very much.

best regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had a one night stay in this hotel and found it to be no more or less than it sets out to be which is a mid range business hotel. The 6th floor room was fine and clean and reasonably well appointed but my view was only of the side of a neighbouring building. Getting up and down was a little tricky with only one lift working and the restaurant food quality was adequate but unexceptional. The strength of the hotel is in its (mostly foreign - Eastern European?) staff who were all exceptionally pleasant and helpful and reception sorted out a mistake in my booking quickly and without fuss. I used a function room which was well equipped, everything worked and again the staff were excellent. It is just off the city centre with Temple Meads Station and the Central Bus Station both about a 10 minute walk.... if you don't get lost.

Room Tip: The higher up the building the better, not all sides have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the review and taking the time to give us feed back.
always very much appreciated

best regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hotel was great, clean room, bathroom spot on, fridge in room which was handy, valet parking brilliant but should be included in the price though as £23 extra is expensive, would use again and would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucypat1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay.

We look forward to your next visit with us

best regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed just one night on business, nice greeting at reception very friendly member of staff, never got chance to eat in restaurant or try bar, but hotel very modern and clean price not bad look for offers, I would have liked a room on river side to check out view but I overlooked an empty office block on other side.
It was a strange area at night very quite with a big issue seller out at 10.30 bit unnerving for the ladies. It was a Monday night so weekend may have been better

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We take the comfort and security of our guests very seriously and it worries me that you di not feel 100% comfortable. I will look into this and see if we can help in any way to improve the overall situation

best regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
492 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Location of hotel is very good – a moment away from the waterfront and a five minute walk to Broadmead and Cabot Circus.

301 was large but the lighting extremely poor. No electric socket in proximity of the mirror so made drying hair challenging. Bathroom was fine. One elevator was out of service for the whole duration of our stay. Never saw any engineers on site. Car parking is with valet service.

The buffet breakfast on the first morning was disappointing. Food was cold and many items, in particular the bacon were tough, grey and unappetising. Some improvement was noted on second morning. Bar service both evenings was painfully slow – not even particularly busy.

The main problem however was noise. On the second night on entering room thought the television must have switched itself on. It quickly became apparent that it was not the television but music from the floor below. I called reception and explained the level of noise was unacceptable. The person with whom I spoke stated a big party was taking place but the duty manager would call me back ‘in two minutes’. Eight minutes later I called back and was again told the duty manager would call. This time I insisted to stay on the line as it was blatantly apparent that I was simply being fobbed off by staff. Eventually I was put through to a lady who said she was the duty manager. She reiterated a party was on until the early hours and there was nothing she could do as the hotel was full (quite why she thought we would be agreeable to pack up and change rooms at this time of night I have no idea).

I explained that doing nothing about the music volume was not an option and that the volume had to be turned down. She said she would deal with it. After a further 15 minutes of no action I called again but the duty manager was ‘on another line’. I again insisted to the person the music had to be turned down. The duty manager did eventually call me back and said the party would end at 12.30 and that we would not be charged for the second night.

When I asked why guests attending the party had not been accommodated on the floor which we were on she responded “the hotel is full”. She either could not or did not wish to understand my question. Fortunately at checkout the receptionist had far more intelligence as he stated ‘ I cannot understand why you were even put in 301 as it was known there would be a late, noisy party’ I was also told the Front Office Manager would be contacting me for a further discussion, but, at the time of writing this review no contact has been forthcoming.

I visit Bristol at least twice a year but will certainly not be making a future reservation at the Radisson.

Room Tip: Avoid 301 and probably and room between 300 and 308 due to noise from party room below
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeManagerRB, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the noise disturbance caused during your stay. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. Thank-you for taking the time to personally speak with me following your stay, I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should your travels bring you back to Bristol.

Best Regards

John Bailey
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location right on the quays but you need to be picky about rooms and push for a response if you re unhappy with anything despite the Radisson 100% satisfaction promise.

We booked a standard room through laterooms.com at £86 for a night, although standard rooms were shown as sold out on the hotel's own website. It turned out to be a disabled accessible room which was OK but with a rather tired and scruffy adapted bathroom. Looking into the inner court yard rather than over the city, which again was OK for the price I suppose.

What was not good was that there were interconnecting doors to the next room which were left open, and even when closed let all the noise from the party next door through so we could even hear them yawn! We did ask the reception staff to close the doors and they said they would make sure we were not disturbed but we were woken (through earplugs!) when the other people came to bed at 2.30 am, and felt a real lack of privacy. Our romantic escape from kids was a bit hampered!

We talked politely to reception again in the morning and got the classic line 'no one else has complained' and that was it. I suspect that they are selling off the rooms they can't let normally through laterooms and don't feel it is good value for a broken night's sleep and a feeling of being overheard. Breakfast was lovely though.

Room Tip: Ask whether it has interconnecting doors! Also if you want a view you will probably need a pricer ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your feed back.

Regards

Christopher Peach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#5 of 38 in Bristol
1,178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Address: Broad Quay, Bristol BS1 4DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#9 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol is a first-class accommodation choice in England's sixth most populous city. A total of 176 stylish, comfortable rooms provide ample amenities, including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. Many of the rooms also overlook the picturesque harbour as well. Filini Restaurant helps supercharge your morning with the expansive Super Breakfast Buffet, complete with pastries, fruit and coffee. Lunch and dinner specialities include Mediterranean favourites. For exceptional events, the flexible and sophisticated meeting facilities can be customised to suit your hosting needs. - Only 20 minutes from Bristol Airport - A total of 176 Bristol hotel rooms and suites in three design styles: Chic, Fashion and Fresh - On-site Filini Restaurant offering the Super Breakfast Buffet and delicious Mediterranean cuisine - Free high-speed, wireless Internet throughout the hotel - Convenient on-site features like a business centre, which provides secretarial services including printing and copying - Five meeting rooms for personal and business events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing