We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a corker!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lockside

Lockside
Ranked #146 of 1,556 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $29
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bristol
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a corker!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful restaurant with fabulous staff and superb food.
This is my 4th time at Lockside and I can assure you, I will be back.
The menus are always changing and are always excellent. The summer salads are the best in Bristol. The pastas are wonderful. The desserts are to die for.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wowfactor78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    75
    22
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Grand Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was devasted to read some negative reviews about his amazing and almost unique Restaurant. I have been a regular visitor for many years and for many different reasons [pop in for coffee; brunch with Son; Brekky with Mrs Baritone etc]. On every occasion bar none we have been treated with politeness, deference and charm and can only compliment the recruitment policy for finding staff who know how to look after people so well. When it comes to the food the owners seem to have struck a wonderful balance of quality, quantity and price. Yes ... of course you can find cheaper - any burger van will give you a breakfast in a bun for a few quid less - but if you're after cheap ... don't go to Lockside. If, however, you want gorgeous, freshly sought and prepared gourmet style food in a convivial atmosphere then you could travel a long way to find better. I can assure you one thing ... after new year's eve breakfast we are seriously considering having our company Christmas "Do" there this year. Well done Lockside

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Baritone747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Christmas breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This year we chose lockside for a work Christmas breakfast. They were extremely busy and I was a little worried about how they would cope. My fears were soon calmed though. The food was at its usual high standard and the service really attentive. There were some really nice touches, such as party hats, crackers and create your own animal shaped balloons, which was good fun.

The staff all worked really hard to ensure that all our needs were met, and we felt no pressure to leave when we were the last table remaining.

Great place for a Christmas get together, or at any other time of year, highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamiewestcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a great place for any meal of the day although we go for Breakfast normally. I remember this place as a greasy spoon as a child with lorries outside. Now, what a difference, their website says more polished spoon than greasy spoon and they are absolutely right. If you are calling in for breakfast at the weekend ring to book ahead. Food is excellent and the service is spot on, the host is charming. Our last visit was last Sunday - the clientele were a mostly groups of families of three generations, all eating breakfast but with a definite evening vibe to the atmosphere. Great views, food and service. Spot on.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsTinckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“works christmas meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

A good admosphere and the menu was good but dissappointed as meals came on the cooler side as plates not heated and by time everyone received their meals eventually the rest were cold.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank philandlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lockside also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Lockside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing