We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's changed but not for the better!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Piccolino

Piccolino
Ranked #209 of 1,565 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $26 - $52
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Piccolino in Bristol captures the spirit of Italy with its great food, unrivalled style and vibrant, charming character. Located in the striking new development of Cabot Circus, Piccolino is enhanced by its own equally eye-catching exterior, together with a delightful al fresco terrace that is the perfect place to take a break from shopping and enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat with friends. Once inside, the vibrant green leather upholstery, striking black marble table tops and sleek wooden finishes ensure a contemporary style and bold design with a smart yet informal atmosphere. Meanwhile, the chefs work passionately in the open kitchen, creating every dish with care and precision, whilst the sight of fresh pasta being made from scratch is a delightful spectacle for you to watch whilst enjoying modern and classic Italian cuisine.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's changed but not for the better!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I used to come here when we were dating and we used to say it was our place! It had a lovely atmosphere, the food was great and the service was excellent. We have since been back a few times and the last time unfortunately will be the last time. Each visit has dipped in quality. The menus became similar to a chain type restaurant. Plating up was not to the previous standard. As time has passed the music has got louder so you can barely hear yourself. (We aren't old fuddy duddys either- only in our 30s!) The waiters now shout at each other over the heads of diners. They shout for 'service' when they bring trays of food and not a smile to be seen! (The staff has changed drastically we noticed). It's just non stop stress!! The clientele has changed too. There were kids there at 9pm running along the seats (surely there should be a policy on 3 year olds running about the restaurant at 9pm on a Saturday night!!). We are so disappointed as our beloved restaurant has turned into what appears to be a bar- very loud and all about turn over rather than enjoying the experience. Please piccolinos- bring back the old way you used to run your Bristol restaurant!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    188
    111
    59
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Early Friday evening with friends, sat in covered & heated outdoor area which on looking around was a good option. Inside was very dark & tables very close together, definitely a young vibe not classy Italian dining. Food is ok & so is service. Wine is very expensive !! By 8.30 was a lot quieter so given its location seems very much to cater for the early evening Xmas party crowd at this time of year.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We dined at he Piccolino during a weekend break in December 2013, this was following a locals recommendation. It was the build-up to Christmas so the restaurant was very busy but they still managed to find us a table for 2, the place was totally buzzing with a great ambiance, the alcohol was reasonably priced and the food was better than average, what swung it for us was the service, the waitress's simply could not do enough for us, great attitude and always smiling, the Maitre d' was simply brilliant, he made time for us and checked many times that things were to our satisfaction...........if I'm honest I think it was the best service I'd ever received in a restaurant and we've eaten in hundreds, I even felt compelled to tell them afterwards (something I've never done before!).
Great restaurant, better service...would recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnW50London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a Buzz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was the first time we had been to this restaurant but won't be last. The food was fantastic, the drinks good and not over priced, service excellent but the best bit was the atmosphere. It was really busy and we had a drink in the bar first.
It reminded us of Le Caprice in London
Well worth a visit. It is located behind Harvey Nichols in the Cabot Centre

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Poor Pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a very pleasant restaurant with some very good food. Unfortunately the Pizza's are not that good. My partner order the Pizza Picante and when it arrived the base looked very "shop bought" although we know they make the base on the premises. The topping was probably the most disappointing; a cartwheel of broccoli with a few pieces of spicy sausage dotted in between.
Maybe another Pizza would be better but this one was very disappointing.
However the pasta dish that I chose was tasty and the wine was very nice indeed. The starters of mussels and prawns on ciabatta bread were delicious. The seating area outside is very inviting with lovely soft sofa's to relax on. So all in all it was a pleasant experience, but if you are a Pizza connoisseur as my husband is, then avoid the Pizza Picante. The service was excellent and the staff could not do enough for us. It was a busy Sunday late afternoon but we were accommodated straight away.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felicity U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Piccolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing