We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, friendly and attentive service”
Review of Paco Tapas

Paco Tapas
Ranked #85 of 1,946 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $63
Description: Just like its namesake, Paco Tapas offers a vibrant, welcoming atmosphere. With an influence from Andalucía, Paco's dishes are colourfully tasty and stay true to authentic Spanish cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: Just like its namesake, Paco Tapas offers a vibrant, welcoming atmosphere. With an influence from Andalucía, Paco's dishes are colourfully tasty and stay true to authentic Spanish cuisine.
Reviewed June 15, 2019

Excellent food, friendly and attentive service.

We chose the 'chef's choice' menu (£50) and my husband had the sherry flight (£30 for 6 different sherries to accompany the various courses). The highlights of the meal were the sourdough bread, the olives, the cheese and ham croquettes, the Spanish omelette (lovely gooey middle), the slow cooked ribs, the fresh anchovies, the crema Catalana pudding (a bit like creme brulee). Nice coffee too.

The only reasons I haven't given the place 5 stars are as follows:
I don't like perching on high stools to eat; all the seating there is on stools
The table (for 3) was very small
The plates they serve on are very small - bigger plates would be appreciated (though we would have struggled to fit them on the table)
The serviettes were very small and thin, in a dispenser - I would have preferred more substantial serviettes as the food is quite messy, with lots of olive oil, so frequent finger wiping is needed.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KatharineB916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 240 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2019 via mobile

Very informal and casual vibe, lots of energy. But the food is amazing.
Had 8 dishes between us and every one was top quality and each came with an explanation of the cookery.
Worth the experience.... quite crowded and tables are close together but that’s all part of the style. We were at the counter as they graciously squeezed us in.
Varied and just great.... the bean stew was a particular favourite. Excellent service and not overly expensive for a Michelin star restaurant; sadly quite an exclusive middle class clientele as often found in bristol harbour restaurants but.... it really is all about the food. Recommended

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Slokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

I took my wife here for a birthday surprise, having visited before we knew it would be good.

The restaurant was busy with a large party, but the staff were working hard to keep everyone happy and seen to. The food as expected was delicious, some wonderful courses like the quail, fish and the tomato salad. A lovely place to spend some casual hours dining in a relaxed environment.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank 34PatrickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

Such a great ambience here! Chefs passion for food was apparent and infectious! We were educated by all staff throughout the meal so at no point were we overwhelmed or unaware.

Each dish celebrated traditional Spanish flavours and the wine/sherry accompaniments were unparalleled!

Great night, we highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank FabbsAbbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019

First stop on our whistle stop gastronomy tour of Bristol and what a great place to start. I managed to persuade my young friends to try a sherry to start and the waiter recommended an excellent one; a great choice which went down well. With one of the party a vegetarian we went for the all veggie tapas selection and we were not disappointed . A truly magnificent lunch. Superb waiter and overall excellent experience. We will be back!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank HappyCamper36953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paco Tapas also viewed

 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Paco Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing