We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only the service would stop me returning”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Delmonico - CLOSED

Delmonico
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A charming family-run restaurant, Delmonico serves modern British cuisine with international twists. As well as tapas and sharing platters for more casual dining, a gourmet a la carte menu features Delmonico's renowned dessert creations. In the dining room filled with bistro furnishings and 1920s prints, guests can head to the sweeping mosaic-tiled bar for a choice from the well-chosen world wine list.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Only the service would stop me returning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were a walk-in booking for my daughter's birthday and this obviously took them by surprise as their greeting was less than hospitable and their willingness to accommodate us grudging to say the least. The menus let the ambience down, plasticky, laminated affairs more suited to a greasy spoon than a nice restaurant. Couldn't really grasp why there were two menus either. However the food was delicious, my daughter claims the butternut squash risotto to be the best thing she has ever eaten and would have happily eaten a second portion. My son's steak was cooked to perfection, my husband's roast turkey nice big portions and lovely and my chicken delicious. It's a shame that it wasn't clear that no veg were included! The choice of desserts were very limited and nothing took our fancy, their specialism seems to focus on mains. I have eaten the tapas here before on a booked date and they were lovely too. We felt the meals were a little overpriced by about £1-2. The value would have been about right if veg was included. I guess they were a bit overstretched as the service was rushed, slap dash and unfriendly. The final insult was after paying the bill of over £90 they couldn't even be bothered to say thank you or goodbye as we left and this in itself has put my husband off returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sibike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We visited Delmonico's on a Groupon voucher. We have been before so jumped at the chance again. The place is situated on the Gloucester Road which means a little trouble parking but once over that obstacle its a pleasure to relax and enjoy good food. The setting is contemporary but has a unique relaxed atmosphere, laid back but still with hosts who are very attentive and helpful. Saying this the hosts were not constantly at our elbow but left us to enjoy our meal in peace. The food is well presented and tasty, good variety on offer (including varied vegetarian dishes) on a regular changing menu according to what is in season. Tables are situated with plenty of space, tables can be booked or call in on the off chance, (generally good idea to book on a weekend). The proportions served are just right to enjoy a 3 course meal without feeling stuffed to burst and uncomfortable. The restaurant is suitable for an intimate dinner for 2, group of friends/family and families with children. There is a private dining room upstairs which can cater for large parties. The nice idea behind the private room dining is that the meal does not need to be pre ordered but is chosen on the night.
Definately a restaurant suitable for any event whether large or small.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colgate50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston Super Mare
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average food with slow unattentive service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Visited during December and ate from the set menu with a group booking. Pâté was delicious but rest of meal uninspiring. Great location and decor is lovely however service very slow which lets you down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ames_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently good quality food, with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have visited Delmonico's on a number of occasions over the last 6 years. The most recent time was the 14th December 2012. The restaurant was very busy and there was large group in the private dinning room. Despite the restaurant being under pressure the food was excellent as always,the service was good and the staff were friendly and well organised. This is unlike many restaurants we have experienced when they are busy close up to Christmas.

We both had fillet steak it was so tender you could have cut it with a spoon. Delmonico's remains our favourite restaurant and the place we go when we want to treat ourselves.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely group meal. Great food and service as usual.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just back from a lazy Sunday lunch at Delmonicos with a group of friends. We were a group of 10 with a couple of kids thrown in and everyone commented how good the meal was which was a relief as we had recommended the place to our friends.
We needn't have worried. Food and service is always top notch here and today especially so. Good selection of drinks too. The guys that run the place are very friendly and have been in the trade for many years and clearly know what they are doing. It's one of the best places on Gloucester Road and cracking value for the quality of food served.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billybobtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delmonico also viewed

Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing