We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for locals and tourists to the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Delmonico - CLOSED

Delmonico
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A charming family-run restaurant, Delmonico serves modern British cuisine with international twists. As well as tapas and sharing platters for more casual dining, a gourmet a la carte menu features Delmonico's renowned dessert creations. In the dining room filled with bistro furnishings and 1920s prints, guests can head to the sweeping mosaic-tiled bar for a choice from the well-chosen world wine list.
Bristol
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great for locals and tourists to the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We visited Delmonicos for the third time this year last weekend. The food is always good and great value and a good selection of wines. A few have commented about slow service but I would call it more relaxed. You never feel rushed to leave... We had our table from 7.45 and were the last to go.
We have also been to Delmonicos with groups and they have a private dining room upstairs which is ideal for this - this probably takes up to about 25 to 30 or so. We have booked it for our annual pre Chstmas do with friends. There is usually about 20 of us, the food always comes out at the same time so you always eat together. There is a TV screen so you can take a computer and stream photos, DVDs etc which is good for celebrations
They are accommodating so if you have any particular requirements mention it the them when booking

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsTinckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Defo worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I know some reviewers have commented on the slow service...well, in my opinion, when you are out for a romantic meal with a partner, who cares whether the service is slow or not?
Our starters of "Piri piri chicken and mixed leaf salad with a yoghurt, cucumber and mint dressing" and "Warm deep filled leek, mushroom and cheddar tart served with homemade relish" were both very good. We opted for the belly pork with mashed potato, sauce vierge and a currant sauce, which was beautifully cooked and really tasty.
Seeing that the portions were very generous, we shared a lemon tart with raspberry coulis ~ lovely.
We would thoroughly recommend Delmonico to locals and those travelling from a bit further than Bristol.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexloveseatingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We dined here on a friday night a few weeks back. The restaurant is slightly archaic in it's design but this added charm and atmosphere to the place. The food was plentiful and well cooked ,I found the main a little bland for me, I had ordered the spicy chili but felt it was missing a kick! The staff were polite and friendly although the service was slow due to there only being two serving staff. The restaurant appeared to be a much loved popular place as it was constantly full throughout the duration of our meal. I would visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bristolmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food even if a little slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Ate here with a group of friends on a Saturday night, the food was delicious and not too expensive. Very friendly staff and a good atmosphere. Have to say it did take a long time to get our food - we were a table of 3 and it took 90 minutes to have our two courses. This wasn't a major problem but I was very hungry by the time the food came out! We also had a very average bottle of red wine - our fault for choosing a cheap bottle!

Overall the food makes up for the slow service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommygun147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I recommend this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very nice food - good choice and not too much goats cheese (no veggies like goats cheese!), excellent service and friendly atmosphere. I have been a number of times and enjoyed it each time - would recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delmonico also viewed

Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing