We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bell Inn and Hotel, Woburn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bell Hotel & Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
manchester, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Bell Inn and Hotel, Woburn”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a superb hotel! Everything was excellent. The room was nicely furnished, and reasonably spacious for a single. The comfortable bed was three quarter size and the linen of good quality. The only small niggle I had was that only 2 coat hangers were provided and there wasn't enough drawer space. The room wss equipped with the usual brew facilities, freeview TV and en-suite Staff were pleasant and efficient.

Food really good and not over priced.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigger41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thankyou for your kind comments regarding your stay here at The Bell. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    90
    81
    51
    45
See reviews for
56
148
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed over bank holiday can only say everything was very good. The Staff were all friendly and helpful,,The Room although was on the front of the building was good and did not notice any traffic noise. Breakfast was really good (although the oached eggs were over cooked..
Great location in lovely countryside. Plenty to do in the area Locally The safari Park and Woburn Abbey Shopping at Milton Keynes.Went to Wasddesdon National Trust about 45 Minutes away well worth the journey. Definately want to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thankyou for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will be pleased to have you stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here just for one night in 2 single rooms, both rooms very nice and clean, one of our rooms was at the front of the hotel so there was some noise from the road but room at the back of the hotel was lovely and quiet! Overall we was very pleased with our stay, breakfast was very good and a nice selection of items to help yourself to as well as a cooked breakfast to order. The staff at breakfast were keen to check we was happy with our food and offered us more coffee as and when we had finished. We had meal in the evening which was lovely however we did seem to wait a long time for it and only another thing which let our stay down was there was no staff around when we got to the hotel! As its in two parts all staff where over the road, at the desk was a sign saying ringing this number for help however it was not really clear that we should have been using the phone at the desk. We didn't really see any staff around the hotel but when we did they was nice but not overly friendly. We would stay here again if we was in the area, it was super value at £34 each and this was with breakfast.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the back of the hotel, you look out onto the car park but who really spends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thankyou for your kind comments. Our apologies for the slow food service, this issue has since been rectified and we welcome you to stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Took advantage of Old English Inns special deals. This was a good base to explore the surrounding area including Woburn Abbey and Safari Park, Bletchley Park, and for the enthusiast Leighton Buzzard Steam Railway. The hotel is in two parts, with the pub/restaurant with rooms above and opposite a fine georgian building with further rooms that seems to have been recently refurbished to a high standard.We were above the pub where the room overlooked the car park but with that came the sound and smell of the kitchen extractors. The room itself was full of character with large walk-in wardrobe and very good shower. Eating in the restaurant was a mixed experience, breakfast was very good, cooked to order, with the option of eggs benedict and smoked salmon, but the evening meal was more hit and miss which although reasonably priced was not so good with the Sunday roast disappointing. All in all a good value break and an opportunity to visit a different region.

Room Tip: Quieter away from the Pub/Restuarant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much MOD54. It is great to get all types of feedback, thank you for taking the time. With regards to the extractors, we have asked someone to come out and have a look at rectifying the issues you brought up. We will pass on all comments to the team & hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Bell is a proper old English Coaching Inn right in the heart of the pretty village of Woburn. It has got heaps of character and it is impossible not to like the comfortable but very unconventionally shaped rooms, they're clean and with all the mod-cons but mind your head. The bad news is that the pub and breakfast/dining area is across the road and although the food and drink is generally good and well-priced, don't expect a warm welcome or anything remotely resembling an attentive service. Most of the best choices on the dinner menu were 'finished' despite being at our seats early and breakfast the next morning was stone cold coffee, a grumpy/furious waitress who seemed to view this meal as a privilege rather than something a paying customer was actually entitled to enjoy. Some of my colleagues found her funny and wonderfully eccentric; I thought she deserved the sack.

Room Tip: Avoid anything on the main road, lots of Milton Keynes commuters roaring past late at night or early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you Richard D for taking the time to leave feedback for us. Rest assured that was not our normal way of doing things here, and all your comments have been taken on board and discussed with the relevant parties. We are very happy you found our hotel to have 'Heaps of Character' and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked a superior room because of other reviewers comments about small rooms. The room was in the old part, over the bar. It was OK. A bit quirky with beams & a sloping floor but it was quite small & there was nowhere to sit apart from on the bed. The bed was comfortable & the bedding was a good quality. In the wardrobe space there was only 3 coat hangers which was very meagre especially as many people who stay are attending a wedding at Woburn Abbey. (As we were) A good point was the availability of an ironing board & iron in the room. The bathroom was a decent size & the shower over the bath had good pressure.
Breakfast was fine. The buffet for juices/cereals etc. was fine. On the second morning we both ordered the ham, egg & cheese on ciabata. I had had this on the first day but this time it came on toast & we were not informed about this at the time we ordered & nothing was said about it when it was served.
We had a meal in the restaurant on the first evening. The meal was OK but there were already several items not available at 08:30 on a Thursday evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenys15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you glenys15 for taking the time to leave us some positive feedback. We have discussed your concerns with the relevant parties, and hope to have resolved them completely.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The pub itself looks fine. Its clea, modern and we had high hopes for a meal there. The drinks are good, staff friendly and attentive but we had a few issues over what was advertised on the menu and what was actually served. My wife and I both ordered "pan seared scallops with chorizo on a bed of watercress with a lemon mayonniase" as a starter. It was delivered quickly and the good point was that the scallops were warm. We had been told that the kitchen was out of chorizo but no problem, we ordered anyway. The scallops hadn't been near a pan, let alone seared. The mixed leaves under the the scallops were going brown. the lemon mayonnaise was just a watery white sauce. Next I ordered fillet steak - medium rare, it was served well done. Not impressed at all. We took a chance and ordered desserts...the trio of desserts was very nice and we had no cause for complaint. We did make our feelings known after each course and we did get the price of the scallops removed from the bill. Overall I wasn't impressed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
''Thank you for your comments and we do appreciate the feedback you gave us on the day during your meal and afterwards through our website and now on trip advisor and once again please accept our apologies for not delivering the scallops starter to the spec we advertise. We are usually more reliable than that but due to the lovely weather we had last week our kitchen has ran out of some items and saturday, busy as it was, we decided to remove the item of the menu which is why you were advised at the time of ordering of the lack of ingredients. Please be assured that this is not common practice but i hope you will understand that unexpected demand of some items will sometimes leave us short of ingredients. Once again we thank you for your feedback and look forward to your return. Kind Regards, Dan Pricop GM.''
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
0.0 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel & Inn

Property: The Bell Hotel & Inn
Address: 21 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bell Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel And Inn
The Bell Hotel Woburn
Bell Hotel Woburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing