We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bargain break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bell Hotel & Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Bargain break”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We took a late one night booking and got a good rate. Room clean but on road side of hotel and a little noisy. Request for extra blanket dealt with well. Breakfast good but dirty plates left in front of us and not cleared away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelg_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thankyou for your comments; we have recently made changes to ensure that breakfast service is of a better standard, and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    90
    81
    51
    45
See reviews for
56
148
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

1st stay here on a bargain 2 night break (£9.95 each per night bed & breakfast). Ridiculously good value for money.

On check-in we rejected the 1st room as it was freezing cold and faced the main road at ground level. Were lucky enough to be moved to a room at the back (room 16) which was both warm and quiet. The room was quite small but OK with a comfortable bed. Housekeeping needs to take a bit more care on the dusting front (the hairdryer was covered in it) but overall quite clean.

The only thing that is completely bonkers is the layout of the bathroom sink. It is small, at thigh height and has a glass shelf about 8 inches above it. The only thing you can do in it is wash your hands - impossible to even wash your face. Cleaning your teeth required considerable accuracy in spitting out and trying to rinse off my face after shaving was beyond a joke. How anyone can layout a bathroom like this is beyond belief. To make things even worse both the hot and cold taps are quite capable of dispensing water at such a force as to shoot straight out of the sink over you and the floor and given that the hot water is exceedingly hot potentially quite hazardous.

You might think the above is overstating the sink problem but believe me it was really annoying (unnnecessarily so). Pleased to say the shower was fine!

The only other problem was that for the 3 days we were there the wi-fi was down completely due to the internet provider cutting it off when the hotel was apparently in the process of switching to a new provider - rather annoying.

We eat in the restaurant both nights and found the restaurant nearly full at 7.00pm - so I recommend you book a table when you check-in. The menu is varied (available to view on-line) and very reasonable. The 1st night we had the 2 mains for £9.95 (cheapskates I know!) but the food was excellent and great value for money. Absolutely no complaints about the service either.The wine list is very reasonably priced with a good quality selection from about £11.95 Breakfasts were also excellent with a buffet selection of fruit, cereals, pastries and juice followed by a good hot selection which is brought direct to the table.

We were very pleasantly surprised by how good the food was and all told thught this was a brilliant value place to stay particularly if you get a deal like ours.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room away from main road when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our stay and thank you for your recommendation to our restaurant. Your comments regarding the Wifi have been rectified now and is in full working order, and housekeeping standards have been improved since your stay. Again, thankyou for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited this pub on recommendation of a local business, and weren't disappointed. The bar is fairly small but there was a really good atmosphere. We only had burgers and chips but they arrived pretty quickly despite the pub being very busy, were well cooked, hot and really tasty. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
It is great to get positive feedback, thank you for taking the time. We will pass on all comments to the team & hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very Friendly Staff, Food was excellent with a good choice and reasonably priced.
Bedroom was clean and tidy with a good shower. Breakfast was very good and the staff very efficient so you weren't hanging around waiting for cooked food to come out.
I stayed here on Business for 2 Nights room rate with breakfast was about £74 and the evening meal cost me about £25 with a starter and a couple of drinks. The food was well presented and the dining room was lovely with old beams and wooden floor.
Woburn itself is very Nice with Sandstone houses and a range of pubs and restaurants including a Loch Fyne just up the road.
Close to the M1 and 20 mins from Milton Keynes and just over an hour from London
all in all good value for your Money

Room Tip: when you arrive at the Bell the hotel is on the opposite side of the road from the pub so don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike11959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
It is great to get to see that you had a great time and , thank you for taking the time. We will pass on all the positive comments to the team & hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

stayed here for 4 nights , 21st - 25th jan 2013, room was small and dated, on 2nd night only the bed had been made, coffee cups had not been removed or cleaned, nothing tidied up, next morning no hot water, and no water to flush toilet, same evening no toiletries replaced. next day no coffee cups at all.!!! very dissapointing stay. The only saving light being the friendly staff, Charlotte, jo and Andrew, who made you feel welcome. other than the problems with housekeeping, i will say the food was very good, well prepared and enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alank55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for negative and positive comments regarding your stay at the Bell. We have addressed your issues with the housekeeping team in regards to the feedback you gave and we have also passed onto Charlotte, Andrew and Jo your comments on how pleasant they were. Again thank you for your constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here on a New Year break and overall we found it to be very good value for money. Our room was in the old pub part of the hotel, characterful and quite comfortable if a bit small. The bed was comfortable with good quality linen and a a very clean bathroom. Staff were generally pleasant and helpful throughout, especially the ladies serving breakfast which, on both days was really good. Anywhere that manages to produce two runny poached eggs on my kippers is doing well. The meal on the first night was pretty good and although there was a mix-up that delayed our order the staff were extremely apologetic and went out of the way to make amends.

But - and it's a very big but - the occasion was spoiled by the atrocious experience of New Year's Eve itself. The first hint of a problem came on the first night when we were told it would be a buffet. This caused me to double check the promotional brochure, only to find I had overlooked the crucial wording 'celebratory dinner OR BUFFET with entertainment'. However, what was actually served could in no way be described as 'celebratory'. We arrived in the restaurant area only to find all the tables had been pushed back to the walls in unbroken lines of tables and chairs, making it impossible to reach the chairs in the middle of the rows. This was to allow room for dancing. And then, the so-called buffet was laid out on tables at one end with about as much skill and presentation as a greasy spoon cafe. Had there been a chef on hand to serve carved meats or perhaps a fresh salmon and some fresh vegetables or salads, I might have accepted the buffet as befitting New Year's Eve.

What we actually got was a triumph of freezer food shopping coupled with a few desultory and already drying-out sandwiches and a few trays of oven-cooked frozen chips with a few scraps of salad. This was followed by frozen profiteroles and choux buns that were brought from the kitchen and mixed indiscriminately wherever space could be made amongst the empty first course offerings. It was a total complete disgrace and left a lot of guests disgruntled. Many people were dressed in dinner jackets and party dresses so a higher expectation was pretty well widespread. The skeleton staff were plainly embarrassed but at no time did we see anyone discernibly in charge who might have taken responsibility for this shambles.

As the night wore on, the 'entertainment' turned out to be no more than a rather mediocre disco whose operator, devoid of personality, seemed to think he could keep cranking up the volume in a low-ceiling 17th century smallish room. It soon became evident the buffet had been a means of giving a night off to the staff and a lot of locals who appeared on the dance floor as midnight approached. The paying guests however retreated to the bar area - where we actually made a pleasant evening of it - to see in the new year by tuning in the TV to the excellent London fireworks.

The service and value ratings for much of the time actually deserved to be much better than I have given, but somehow I have to reflect the very poor experience of what had taken us there in the first place - to see in the new year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSue5058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and it’s nice to see customers having an enjoyable time. We're continuously trying to improve our service and offers and it's good to know we're moving in the right direction. Hope to see you back in the near future and once again thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times and have always been very happy with my stays. The rooms are well decorated, especially the rooms above the pub which are character rooms with four-poster beds! The bar food was good and breakfast was excellent. The staff are always polite and attentive. For the price I would definitely recommend the Bell, it's great value for money and the village of Woburn is beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
0.0 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel & Inn

Property: The Bell Hotel & Inn
Address: 21 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bell Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel And Inn
The Bell Hotel Woburn
Bell Hotel Woburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing