We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor housekeeping, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell Hotel & Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Reviewed January 23, 2013

stayed here for 4 nights , 21st - 25th jan 2013, room was small and dated, on 2nd night only the bed had been made, coffee cups had not been removed or cleaned, nothing tidied up, next morning no hot water, and no water to flush toilet, same evening no toiletries replaced. next day no coffee cups at all.!!! very dissapointing stay. The only saving light being the friendly staff, Charlotte, jo and Andrew, who made you feel welcome. other than the problems with housekeeping, i will say the food was very good, well prepared and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alank55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for negative and positive comments regarding your stay at the Bell. We have addressed your issues with the housekeeping team in regards to the feedback you gave and we have also passed onto Charlotte, Andrew and Jo your comments on how pleasant they were. Again thank you for your constructive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 367 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here on a New Year break and overall we found it to be very good value for money. Our room was in the old pub part of the hotel, characterful and quite comfortable if a bit small. The bed was comfortable with good quality linen and a a very clean bathroom. Staff were generally pleasant and helpful throughout, especially the ladies serving breakfast which, on both days was really good. Anywhere that manages to produce two runny poached eggs on my kippers is doing well. The meal on the first night was pretty good and although there was a mix-up that delayed our order the staff were extremely apologetic and went out of the way to make amends.

But - and it's a very big but - the occasion was spoiled by the atrocious experience of New Year's Eve itself. The first hint of a problem came on the first night when we were told it would be a buffet. This caused me to double check the promotional brochure, only to find I had overlooked the crucial wording 'celebratory dinner OR BUFFET with entertainment'. However, what was actually served could in no way be described as 'celebratory'. We arrived in the restaurant area only to find all the tables had been pushed back to the walls in unbroken lines of tables and chairs, making it impossible to reach the chairs in the middle of the rows. This was to allow room for dancing. And then, the so-called buffet was laid out on tables at one end with about as much skill and presentation as a greasy spoon cafe. Had there been a chef on hand to serve carved meats or perhaps a fresh salmon and some fresh vegetables or salads, I might have accepted the buffet as befitting New Year's Eve.

What we actually got was a triumph of freezer food shopping coupled with a few desultory and already drying-out sandwiches and a few trays of oven-cooked frozen chips with a few scraps of salad. This was followed by frozen profiteroles and choux buns that were brought from the kitchen and mixed indiscriminately wherever space could be made amongst the empty first course offerings. It was a total complete disgrace and left a lot of guests disgruntled. Many people were dressed in dinner jackets and party dresses so a higher expectation was pretty well widespread. The skeleton staff were plainly embarrassed but at no time did we see anyone discernibly in charge who might have taken responsibility for this shambles.

As the night wore on, the 'entertainment' turned out to be no more than a rather mediocre disco whose operator, devoid of personality, seemed to think he could keep cranking up the volume in a low-ceiling 17th century smallish room. It soon became evident the buffet had been a means of giving a night off to the staff and a lot of locals who appeared on the dance floor as midnight approached. The paying guests however retreated to the bar area - where we actually made a pleasant evening of it - to see in the new year by tuning in the TV to the excellent London fireworks.

The service and value ratings for much of the time actually deserved to be much better than I have given, but somehow I have to reflect the very poor experience of what had taken us there in the first place - to see in the new year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSue5058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and it’s nice to see customers having an enjoyable time. We're continuously trying to improve our service and offers and it's good to know we're moving in the right direction. Hope to see you back in the near future and once again thank you for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have stayed here numerous times and have always been very happy with my stays. The rooms are well decorated, especially the rooms above the pub which are character rooms with four-poster beds! The bar food was good and breakfast was excellent. The staff are always polite and attentive. For the price I would definitely recommend the Bell, it's great value for money and the village of Woburn is beautiful!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This has been the first time we have spent Christmas away from family and we were a little anxious about how it would work out. We needn't have worried. We booked a 3 night Christmas stay at a very reasonable package price. It was worth every penny of it. The accommodation is mainly in a Georgian building at one side of the road, while the bar and restaurant are in a much older building at the other side of the road. This made the bedrooms nice and quiet. We stayed in a lovely ground floor room (Room 11) at the back of the building. The room was quite small but had everything we needed, but the bathroom was very tiny. Had we been staying longer this might have proved difficult, but for 3 nights it was absolutely fine. The cleaners, receptionist, manager, bar staff, waitresses and the chef were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. To say how many people were served over the 2 sittings for Christmas lunch the staff appeared very calm and the food and service were wonderful. I will definitely be going back to this hotel in the future as it is located so close to Woburn Abbey and Safari Park, and is set in wonderful countryside. I would highly recommend it, especially for a fuss-free Christmas break.

Room Tip: Room to the back of the building away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We upgraded to superior room (rm 25) when we arrived, as it was bigger than the one allocated - though that was quite sufficient for a one night stay. For a weekend away the bigger room was preferable. We had a lovely room with window seat in bay window and you could see all the christmas lights in the street.

The breakfast was very good, as were the two evening meals we ate in the bar area.

The only negative was that the room was sooo hot - we switched heating off as soon as we arrived and had window open before bed, but it was still uncomfortably hot for a good nights sleep. But then that is just us, other people might like it being very warm.

We enjoyed a walk through Woburn abbey parkland up past the safari park (and saw some wolves!) onto Ridgemont and back via Eversholt and a look in the Woburn Abbey gardens and photographic exhibitions on the way back.

One point that would be useful to know before you park up is which side of the road you are staying on, as we ended up parked right at the back of the pub side carpark which was very wet and dirty. We needed to then walk in the rain through the puddles to the pub to be told we were actually over the other side, where the carpark is a lot better and closer to the door - so we did end up a bit wet and dirty on arrival as it was raining heavily.

An enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Room 25 was a superior room, and had a nice bathroom, overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dAb1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here on a Friday night, was made to feel welcome at the reception, Stayed in the Harold Wilson suite which is over the pub, was nice and warm as it was very cold outside, Room was clean and tidy, bathroom was very large with a roll top bath and seperate shower, had a great night sleep and had a fantastic breakfast in the morning. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisjLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your review Mr Jenkins and we are very happy you've enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon - we have some great offers coming up in the new year if you'd like to keep an eye on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed for one night in room 14, which was small and hot. The paper was peeling off the ceiling and the decoration was getting rather tired. We opened the sash window to cool the room down, but when we closed it to leave for the evening, found that there was no catch to lock it shut....that's when we spotted the piece of card on the outside cill, which must have been used to wedge it shut, so we resorted to the same trick. As a ground floor room facing the footpath this was really unacceptable for security. The bathroom was small but adequate, though there was not a decent sized mirror in the there or the room.
On the positive side, breakfast was good, with a very attentive lady looking after us, she was polite, helpful and even addressed us by our name.
All in all, having paid £65 for a Saturday night it was adequate.
So breakfast was good, security was bad, and the room was ugly!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Offthetouristtrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for visiting our hotel and for the feedback you provided, we are glad you've enjoyed our breakfast and the service you've received. We try to make the most of our little countryside hotel and give our customers a great 'Old English Inns' experience where service and cleanliness are our top priorities. In regards to your room standards I hope you can understand we have a very old building and maintenance is an ongoing job especially as it's now been 3 years since our last major refurbishment, but we are happy to let you know the window catch has now been fixed and we will be looking at fixing a bigger mirror in the bedroom with our next investment. Once again thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again soon in one of our properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
0.2 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
625 reviews
0 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
244 reviews
5.1 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel & Inn

Address: 21 Bedford Street, Woburn MK17 9QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range: $79 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Bell Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel Woburn
The Bell Hotel And Inn
Bell Hotel Woburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing