We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely visit”

Woburn Abbey and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Woburn
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Woburn Abbey has been the home of the Earls and Dukes of Bedford for nearly 400 years and is now home to the 15th Duke and his family. Alongside the world class collection of art, the house contains the fascinating stories of the people who have shaped the history of both the Abbey and the nation; including the ‘creation ‘ of Afternoon Tea. The Gardens, with a twenty year restoration programme, are of equal splendour with 28 acres of Repton designs to be explored and discovered.Throughout the year Woburn also hosts a series of events including: classic cars rallies, The Woburn Abbey Garden Show, summer theatre, the country fair, vintage airplane rally and autumn deer walks.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great trip to Woburn Abbey and Gardens. It is a beautiful place and well worth a day's visit. I particularly enjoyed the gardens.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pauline_ronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    185
    41
    23
    35
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
167 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

beautiful, loved the landscape, the drive to the abbey is just as beautiful, narrow winding country roads.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shereen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“There was nothing we did not like about it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Everywhere was spotless, everyone was so friendly, the room stewards certainly knew their history of the Abbey and the whole place had an inviting cosy feel about it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aregulartraveller387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We went to Woburn Abbey yesterday as my Mam had come down to see us. We have not long moved to London and wanted some where to spend the day. There was a garden show on and i have tosay it took up most of our time just looking at everything. We did go into the house and spent a good couple of hours looking at everything and reading the details of the rooms. Will have to go back and look around the grounds. Well worth the money as i have worked in places that charge around the same and you get no where near as much for your money. All in all a fab day out.
Very friendly and helpfull staff also. Loved the little pottery shop and will have to go back and buy some.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AFLawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Another lovely Treasure House of England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The house itself is a relatively modest stately home. Maybe partly because the grounds are so vast, which makes the structure appear smaller than it really is. Partly because the house is indeed significantly smaller than its original size (parts demolished due to dry rot).

No photo allowed inside the house, which is a downer for me, as I'm rather forgetful, so by now the images of the interior of the house have eluded me. Only two things have stuck in my mind: of course, the room with over 20 Canaletto paintings, and even more interestingly some drawings by Queen Victoria and Prince Albert. These royal drawings are small and would have been completely overlooked had it not been for the guide pointing them out. I think Prince Albert was technically a better artist, but I love Queen V's drawing of a girl sitting on the throne rolling her eyes at a lecturing governess.

Very pleasant walk around the gardens.
The estate itself is massive with countless herds of deer. We didn't have the time nor energy to explore all of it.
The afternoon tea was supposedly invented at Woburn Abbey, with that in mind, I was expecting a really yummy scone from the duchess's tearoom... to be honestly, a bit disappointed. The jacket potato and a slice of cake were nice though.

To save some money, use a 'Treasure Houses of England' coupon (2 for 1 entry), or pick up a leaflet at Woburn Abbey for future use to the other Treasure houses, including Blenheim, Chatsworth, Leeds Castle, and more (the Woburn coupon is not valid to use at Woburn).
Also, you can convert Tesco vouchers into Woburn tickets.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BU88LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woburn Abbey and Gardens also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Woburn Abbey and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing