We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff couldn't do enough to help”
Review of The Woburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Woburn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff couldn't do enough to help”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We did the safari package. Wonderful value rooms and food. All staff so friendly and helpful as we had an unwell person travelling with us. They made our room up early, spoilt the kids, gave directions to chemist etc. best housekeeping staff I have ever encountered. We had new smart family rooms so the furnishings were brand new as were the bathrooms. Great trip!

Room Tip: Family rooms are brand new 2012
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sksherman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidattheinn, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sksherman123,

Thank you for posting your review following your recent visit to the Inn.

Our safari package is very popular with groups and families and we are pleased to hear that you have found our facilities on this occasion to be most comfortable and our team most welcoming and helpful.

I sincerely hope that you travelling companion has now recovered and I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soo at the Inn.

Yours sincerely,

David Bouchet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    153
    54
    30
    11
See reviews for
138
206
13
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here with my wife, Mother-in-Law and 2 daughters, 12 &10.

I booked the Family room package which included 2 interconnecting rooms, £60 allowance towards dinner at Oliver's (hotel's restaurant), breakfast, 2 cudly toys for the kids and breakfast back in July. It was so good we have just returned from our second break!

The staff are extremely courteous and efficient here and any request met with a smile.

Our dinner at Oliver's on both occasions was in the fine dining category, not something we choose normally, but a wonderful experience. Well worth booking.

The rooms are spacious, clean and amongst the most comfortable we have stayed in. Ample free parking is available on site as well.

If I can think of a reason to visit Woburn again I am booking this hotel without hesitation!

Room Tip: The interconnecting rooms are excellent for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zerovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidattheinn, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Zerovis,

Thank you for posting your review on this site.

We are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also had the opportunity, on your inclusive package, to visit our great safari park here in Woburn.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon in Woburn.

Yours sincerely,

David Bouchet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We decided to visit Woburn Safari Park as a combined 5th wedding anniversary and 2nd birthday treat for the family and wanted to find somewhere to stay locally. We found a link to the Inn on the website and found their family package and went for it. We were upgraded to a cottage room as they didn't have any family rooms left. Not the cheapest break we've ever had, but when you consider the quality of service, food and accommodation it is great value!

Staff were so very helpful and accommodating. Everyone was polite and went the extra mile to be as friendly and helpful as possible. We ate with our nearly 2 year old in the main restaurant in the evening and were amazed at how good the staff were with him. He had a highchair set out for him along with crayons and a children's menu with a colouring sheet on the back. Staff were not phased by his presence even though it is clearly a fairly exclusive restaurant environment. Menu was fantastic and food melted in your mouth! Everything about the restaurant was amazing and comes highly recommended.

If your looking for somewhere special for a family weekend then you couldn't go far wrong with this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cooking_lawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidattheinn, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for posting your review on this site.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great time with us in Woburn. We also appreciate your comment regarding value for money, taking into consideration the level of service, quality of food and standard of accommodation you experienced.

We hope we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon in Woburn.

Yours sincerely,

David Bouchet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a brilliant hotel! My husband won a gift certificate in a school raffle for a nights stay at The Inn at Woburn and 3 course meal for two in the adjoining restaurant, Olivier's. We decided to use it for my birthday treat as money was a tad tight, but before my husband could book, he lost the envelope and all our plans were scuppered. However, the team at the hotel could not do enough to help and very generously honoured the certificate, thus saving the day!

We stayed there last night and on arrival found the staff to be just as helpful, polite and engaging as on the phone. Our dinner in Oliviers was wonderful, the certificate covered us for 3 courses plus coffee in the lounge, and we paid a very reasonable price for a bottle of wine. The food is simply delicious, and had a great choice on offer. The staff even presented me with a lovely decorated plate of petit fours as a birthday treat! Service was very quick, our wine was constantly topped up and we did not feel rushed at all. Our waitress even very helpfully loaned us a tray, ice bucket and glasses to take our champagne back to our room with us. Breakfast was equally as good, with quality food and freshly prepared meals on offer.

The room itself was clean, well decorated and had a large bed. The only downsides was that it was quite noisy as we were located next to fire doors that banged all through the night, the bed was quite hard with feather pillows (hate feather pillows!) and the room was small. The bed took up most of the space. The bathroom was also clean and well decorated but was small (had to sit sideways on the loo to fit!). Fine for a night or two but wouldnt like to stay long term in such a tight space.

Overall a lovely experience and I will be taking friends back to Olivier's in the near future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidattheinn, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your recent review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and dinner with us and also that the team marked your special occasion.

Points about your room have been noted. We have many type of rooms on offer to suit all requirements. Our standard double rooms are perfect for the single business traveller or for a couple for a short stay and our executive rooms, mini suite and cottages are better suited for weekends and longer stays.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon in Olivier's at the Inn at Woburn.

Yours sincerely,

David Bouchet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Spent two nights on a Golf package. Rooms very clean and good size. Breakfast excellent. Hotel well located for local shod and amenities. Only negative was tough steak for dinner. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidattheinn, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and that you also had the opportunty to play at Woburn Golf Club.

Sorry to hear that your main course at dinner did not meet your expectations.

We all hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon in Woburn.

Yours sincerely,


David Bouchet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

stayed at the hotel on business and was very impressed. meeting room was well presented, all in order, electric's and internet all worked and simple to use. Food and drinks arrived on time and as described. Staff very helpful and easy to contact.
bedroom very clean, and lots of room and a real king size bed!
its a little on the expensive side but worth it for the lack of hassle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aitchfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidattheinn, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed all our facilities here at the Inn.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

David Bouchet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We did not stay in the hotel, but celebrated a friend's 60th birthday by organising a surprise afternoon tea party.

The staff were wonderful at assisting with the surprise, setting up balloons etc. There was a good choice of teas/coffees accompanied by a lovely selction of fresh sandwiches;scones & cream & jam; fruit cake and a some yummy small cakes.

Afternoon Tea was invented by a Duchess of Bedford and the tradition is well supported by the Inn. We just need another excuse to go back for seconds!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retromobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidattheinn, Manager at The Woburn Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed Afternoon Tea at the Inn on this very special occasion.

The tradition of taking Afternoon Tea is said to have been started by Duchess Anna Maria, wife of the7th Duke of Bedford at Woburn Abbey during the 1840s. She felt that it was a long time between luncheon and dinner and that taking tea and delicate sandwiches, cakes and biscuits at 5 o’clock helped bridge the gap.

A traditional afternoon can also be experienced at the Duchess' Tea Room on the Abbey's grounds, where you can also have a leisurely walk around the gardens.

We are looking forward to welcoming back soon in Woburn.

Yours sincerely,

David Bouchet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woburn
5.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
0.1 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
225 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
0.1 mi away
The Bell Hotel & Inn
The Bell Hotel & Inn
#3 of 3 in Woburn
334 reviews
5.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woburn Hotel

Property: The Woburn Hotel
Address: George Street | Bedfordshire, Woburn MK17 9PX, England (Formerly Inn at Woburn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Woburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Woburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Woburn Hotel Woburn
Woburn Inn
The Inn At Woburn
Woburn Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing