We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended”

Galloway's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Woburn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“recommended”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Lovely evening out with friends at Woburn Galloway's. Warm and friendly welcome from David and his staff. Food was faultless....best duck I have ever tasted sublime! Well balanced menu; many of your favourites with one or two original dishes.The wines were wonderful........catch the creme brulee before it all goes. For a relaxed evening out you cannot do better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    43
    17
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such fun!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A lovely evening with great people and what beautiful food. Something different for every taste bud! Great atmosphere and brilliant host! It's like home from home everyone is so welcoming!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great night out with friends”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

For my 50 th birthday a group of 8 of us had a wonderful night out at Galoways. A very attentive host David made us feel very welcome. Food was excellent and the service spot on. Thank you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Easterholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Reliably great”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have been to Galloway's for an evening meal, with various friends, on many occassions over the years. Each time the service, food and atmosphere was excellent. It therefore made sense for me to organise a friend's special birthday celebration at the restaurant.

Before the event, David, the owner, went to great lengths to ensure he understood what I needed. I think my calls and emails overwhelmed him a bit! However, he remained patient and noted all my requests, including making sure someone was on hand to take in deliveries of party balloons and banners.

On a Saturday lunchtime, the restaurant was opened just for our party and it all went perfectly. There were 19 people, all enjoying a full a la carte menu, plus a wonderful, specially made, birthday cake and first class wine. One thing you can rely on... David knows his wine and loves opening a good bottle for his guests.

The food is imaginative, attractively presented and delicious. It's also great that the menu changes regularly. The service is appropriately attentive and professional and the atmosphere is cosy and welcoming. There is also a sporting connection. David's father is the late Alex Hay, renowned golfing commentator, so it is unsurprising that the restaurant has photographs of many golfing celebrities. Then, of course, there is the personal attention of the owner and his team. No wonder it's my favourite home counties restaurant

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanniebren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Hi All! After reading the reviews i finally managed to eat here last night, i was not disappointed!
From the lovely warm welcome, to the Owner recommending our Great fish main courses. Had a fab cheese board with a delightful dessert wine. Great ambience, brill staff and a thouroughly wonderful dining experience. My tip- GO THERE!!! : )

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uktrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galloway's Restaurant also viewed

Woburn, Bedfordshire
Woburn, Bedfordshire
 
Woburn, Bedfordshire
 
Woburn, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Galloway's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing