We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another weekend in paradise.”
Review of Rock Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Margarets
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 St Margarets B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another weekend in paradise.”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Some B & B's are nice but Rock Cottage offer a real home from home. Me and my hubby just had the most wonderful, relaxing weekend at this great hidden oasis. It's great for walks bird watching, or just chilling out in the garden. We couldn't have asked for better hosts, nothing was too much trouble and our great room was really good value for money. Breakfast was a feast fit for a king or queen so we'll definitely be back.

six stars

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyclingranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Three Old world cottages merged into one dwelling .3 letting rooms , ours was the smallest but very nicley done must be seen to be appreciated .
Owners Sue and Chris very nice people lovley breakfast home made jams and bread
fresh sqeezed whole orange juice .Good value for money
Ralph & jan Kendrick

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEASTREAKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This small cosy b and b was fabulous. Comfy rooms, stylishly decorated. On a very quiet country lane. Lovely garden. Woodpeckers on the feeder. Fabulous breakfast with local eggs, bacon and sausage with tomatoes and mushrooms, freshly squeezed orange juice, choice of teas and coffee. Lovely hosts. Glorious area. I could go on but you get the picture.
Great value too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CharlieBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We booked Rock Cottage having read previous trip advisor reviews and were delighted. Sue and Chris welcomed us with tea on the terrace and the fantastic hospitality continued throughout the 3 days we stayed.

The best thing for us was that the children were welcomed as warmly as the adults - even their varying breakfast preferences were catered for with care and without fuss.

The rooms were beautifully furnished and supplied with all the little extras you could wish for. The location is stunning with glorious views from the garden across the nearby valley.

The food was delicious with an emphasis on hearty homemade and local produce.

Tip: If you're walking, ask Sue for a packed lunch - ours was bountiful, with generous portions of homemade bread and cake as well as crisps and fruit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoStraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing weekend away in Herefordshire at this lovely cottage B&B. Sue and Chris were great hosts, and we were well looked-after throughout our stay. The cottage is neatly tucked away in the little hamlet of St. Margarets, but there are well-signposted walks in all directions from the cottage door, and our border collie Jester was much impressed by our wanderings. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Sussex, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2010

All the other reviews are spot on. Chris and Sue are fantastic hosts and really love what they are doing and it shows in their attention to all the details. Anyone running a B and B or intenkding to set one up should be made lto stay here a week.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodchoppert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I booked to stay at Rock Cottage for two nights after the B&B that I have stayed in before near Hay on Wye was fully booked. We were looking for a few days somewhere rural to relax, eat nice food and do a few walks. We got all three in abundance.

The location is handy for walks in the Black Mountains, or just a local circuit through fields with amazing views (Sue and Chris will be happy to help with routes and maps). The room was lovely, had everything we could need, was spotless and welcoming, with comfy sofas outside to lounge in and lots of different books to read. The food was also amazing, with a home cooked evening meal at a brilliant price.

The thing that stood out the most though was that Sue and Chris seem to really like people - a quality that not all B&B hosts seem to have. This made our visit really fantastic. Breakfast and dinner was at the main kitchen's long table, eating with the owners, and so felt friendly and sociable. The info that we received before and during our stay was excellent, and both Sue and Chris could not have been more helpful. It was a pleasure to meet them and stay in their lovely home. I would recommend to anyone who wants a break in beautiful, rural countryside with good food and conversation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoe2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rock Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Cottage B&B

Property: Rock Cottage B&B
Address: Rock Cottage Rock Road | Newton St Margaret's, St Margarets HR2 0QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > St Margarets
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Margarets
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing