We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garway Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garway Moon Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Garway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Well, local pubs don't get any better than this...we took lunch here and was truly impressed with not only the super friendly owners,but the one of the nicest pub lunches....I had an amazing brisket sandwich, and superb beer battered cod,that my wife had.we were shown around the accommodation above the pub which I must say looked to be very clean and comfortable and certainly a place we would stay and recommend to our friends....overall, very enjoyable,we will be back without a doubt.

Room Tip: They all looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
35
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only 1 night and wished we had stayed longer. The pub has a friendly, local feel. We had a great curry and ample local beer. Very clean and comfortable rooms and Neil was up early to cook us a great breakfast. Great job and will visit again whenever we return to play the 'Rolls'!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IanEmMiaandEthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spent just one night here on a journey across country. We received a very warm welcome and everyone was very helpful and pleasant throughout our stay. We stayed in the Stars Room which has character (lots of beams) and a good bathroom although it does not have the views over the common that the other two rooms apparently have. Also we found the bed was not the most comfortable we have slept in on our travels (the springs made themselves known somewhat by feel and sound) and, as the room is directly over the bar, noisy until the pub shuts. That said, we slept OK and woke without any aches and pains so only a minor issue. The Pub itself oozes character and is a "proper pub" welcoming both visitors and locals. It is very friendly and has a "good feel" to it. The beer is good, the food and service excellent. Breakfast was also top notch. Definitely worth a try and is recommended. We would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnTravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a 2 night break at the garway moon, staff could not do enough for us , food at breakfast and evening was first class, room very cosy and clean. Nice place if you want good food good ales and a good night sleep.


Y
Y
T

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eccy48Blackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here on Easter Sunday just for the one night. Having spent a lot of time as a child in Garway with my father's family, it was lovely to return with my partner and stay at the Garway Moon. The pub itself has loads of character, and it is in a terrific location overlooking the Common. We stayed in the Stars room, which is the smaller one at the back, as the other two were booked. It was nicely refurbished with a smart contemporary bathroom. It was a very chilly Easter Weekend and I'm pleased to say we had absolutely no problems with heating, plumbing or hot water. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable though, and the room was noisy from the bar below after we had gone to bed. We had a proper pub meal in the evening, no pretentious gastro-pub nonsense. Although steak wasn't on the menu, one of the friendly locals told us to ask for it, and it was no trouble. Great to be able to have a carafe of wine rather than having to order a whole bottle. Lovely breakfast, and plenty of it. Good service and all staff were very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. At around £125 for room, all food, all drinks, coffee and tea when we arrived, it was really great value for money. We're already planning our next trip in the Summer, and will try to book earlier to get into the Sun or Globe rooms. PS The Garway Moon is, as the name suggests, in the village of Garway, not Orcop!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyPops44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Garway Moon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were helpful and attentive, but we were especially pleased with Casey the Head Chef. I have a wheat allergy and he made my stay such a treat with his expert knowledge. I had real battered fish and chips for the first time in three years! Nothing was too much trouble and any dietry needs are catered for. We stayed in the sun room, which was very nice with lovely views. We had a relaxing stay and would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We booked two rooms for our family, the Globe and the Sun. They are spacious, with lots of space, huge bathrooms, and lovely furnishings, and the Sun has exposed beams. The beds were very comfortable, and having arrived in the dark, it was a stunning view to wake up to!

Breakfast was brilliant - whatever we wanted, cooked especially for us, so everyone was happy!

Staff were friendly and welcoming. The only downside was that there had been a mix-up somewhere along the way, and the extra beds which we had booked hadn't been made up which took a little while to sort out - we wished that we had double-checked.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jw67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garway
5.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Bell at Skenfrith
The Bell at Skenfrith
#1 of 1 in Skenfrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.0 mi away
Norton House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garway Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garway Moon Inn

Property: Garway Moon Inn
Address: Garway | Hereford, Garway HR2 8RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Garway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Garway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garway Moon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Garway Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing