We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor deal!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Broadfield Court

Broadfield Court
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Bodenham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor deal!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Although we had a voucher for £35 given by friends to spend at Broadfield Court it was only possible to spend two-thirds of this. We would have had to pay an extra £2 (not allowed from the voucher) if we had ordered the fishcakes. The wine could not come from the voucher or indeed even a cup of coffee. The outcome was that Broadfield Court kept £9.20 of our voucher money!!
Not a very friendly establishment.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Nilgiri_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlicG, Manager at Broadfield Court, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
As manager of Broadfield Court, I would like to apologise that you felt disappointed with your deal. As my colleagues explained to you at the time, this was a Groupon voucher and the items covered are pre-determined by them. When you came to use the voucher, this was explained and we tried to be as flexible as possible, but with stipulations already in place with Groupon, there was very little we could do.

If you wish to contact me personally via info@broadfieldcourt.co.uk, I will see what I can do with regard to complimentary refreshments on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Broadfield Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    18
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Being an adventurous couple my husband and I set out to find a venue which could suit our thirst for a traditional English tea party. We stumbled across broadfield court on the Internet and decided to pay it a visit. Wonderful warm and welcoming staff along with delicious aromas wafting from the kitchen. We ordered our afternoon tea and then pondered around the exquisite well maintained traditional English gardens and vineyard. The walled garden was bursting with veg used in the restaurant on the menu and the vineyard supplying the grapes of the wines sold in the shop. A most interesting host which gave the history behind the estate and the family along with the wine tasting which rounded our afternoon off delightfully. Really worth a visit, especially when the sun is shining and you can enjoy your glass of wine on the lawn outside the main house looking at beautiful Herefordshire views.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing coffee stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Delicious smell of garlic wafting through cafe when I stopped for Elevenses. Disappointing coffee and an expensive tea cake of which there were three halves! Bizarre.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank fabchicktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlicG, Manager at Broadfield Court, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
As manager of Broadfield Court, I would like to apologise that you found our coffee to be disappointing. We only use high quality ground coffee, hand selected by our team and freshly brewed.

After speaking to the kitchen staff, they remembered your visit and let me know that you ended up with three halves because we felt two was rather stingy, with them being smaller buns than our usual ones.

Regardless, if you would like to contact me personally via inof@broadfieldcourt.co.uk, I will see what I can do with regard to complimentary refreshments on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Broadfield Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokkola, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great wine for a celebration.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were a group of 18 people from Scandinavia visiting Broadfield Court on the Jubilee Bank Holiday and were treated to a very special afternoon as there was a Jubillee Fete opened by Derek Jakobi. The whole set up of stalls and entertainment was very good. There were all the tradidional 'bowling for a pig' type stalls and many more that were pertinent to the Jubilee. It was the first time that our Scandinavian guests had experienced an English fete and they were so delighted with everything, including the host and hostess who, on a very busy afternoon, put themselves out for our benefit to give us a lot of extra information. The usual afternoon tea menu had been replaced by a hog roast as well as a special Jubilee tea and we were treated to a wine tasting - very popular with our group who purchased wine in order to continue toasting the Queen in the evening! Both gardens and vineyard looked very well kempt and we enjoyed sharing a very special day with the family at Broadfield Court and the villagers of Bodenham. We were made most welcome.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

We visited Broadfield Court this afternoon and managed to walk around the well tended garden & vines between the very heavy rain showers. We then settled down for afternoon tea (a Groupon deal). Everything was well presented ( tasty sandwiches, delicious lemon drizzle cake and lovely scones & cream) and then we sampled the wine and proceeded to buy some for later. The staff were very friendly, and the whole experience was lovely. If only the weather had been better ......... Still we will not hesitate to return to this hidden gem.

Helpful?
2 Thank Slimlinelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadfield Court also viewed

 
Bromyard, Herefordshire
Kingsland, Leominster
 

Been to Broadfield Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing