We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in this comfortable Country Hotel”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stretton Sugwas
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley Lancs
1 review
“A lovely stay in this comfortable Country Hotel”
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Owners could not do more. Chef serves up a very good and varied menu and we would recommend to all for an enjoyable quiet stay in the countryside. Bedrooms are large and very clean with furnishings of taste.

Give them a try and forget the earlier comments of previous owners!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWMBurnleyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    13
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
26
28
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nearby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Despite what they all say about "Mole", he ran a great shop.
Beautiful location and "loved" environment. Top entertainment and ....... "top!"

Sure, the building was "in need of ..." but that was what was inherited from the previousn owners (the infamous Benjamins), who let the whole place decay during the 18 years of their tenure. No sour grapes, just the truth.

We had a great time and 99.9% of our guests did too.
It's a shame that our legacy is tainted by a couple of disgruntled anonymous reviewers who perhaps "didn't get it".

I can give you 1000 people who did.

And the new owners? Love 'em. Not my styleee, perhaps, but most venerable caretakers of the Priory - the latest in a long and distingiuished line.. The Priory is in good hands

Just go there ... it's gorgeous, (and I miss it)

"Mole"(mr)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moleNearby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2008

We chose The New Priory Hotel for my Mother's 70th Birthday Dinner Party, following a friend's recommendation. The food was excellent, everything was so well organised and we were made to feel so welcome. Our friends and family said they felt "at home" and so looked after - nothing was too much trouble. We all would highly recommend it and will be visiting again soon.

  • Liked — Attractive, modern yet traditional
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DG2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

This place is in a lovely location & has been redecorated superbly. However I do have a few grips,
We had been attending a family party at the Priory & about 9pm I asked if we could have some sandwiches or something as we realised it was too late to eat in their restaurant, we were politely told that chef was in the bar so no. How difficult is it to rustle up a sandwich for goodness sake, I could have done it myself!
as we were only staying for one night we opted for the (cheapest) £85/night room. (Room 3) This room is a single room! the bathroom door did not fully open as the bed was in the way, this is wedged under the window so you have to crawl over it to put the blind own. Only the person sleeping on one side of the bed can watch tv as it is on the wrong wall. there is only one beside table & light so the person not watching TV can't even read! Plus, no tissues, no conditioner and cobwebs hanging from the ceiling.
The owners, although not rude, have no charm or personality, something I would consider essential in this trade.
Would I stay here again or recommend it - NO!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RockyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

This is a very comfortable and freindly hotel. We thought it was good value for money, and the food was excellent! The hotel's Hathway Restaurant is open to non-residents and we would recmmend it. We stayed for two nights end of July, and were very pleased.

  • Liked — freindliness and quality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Stayed for two nights at the New Priory Hotel based on Trip Advisor comments and it lived up to all the recent reviews given. The hotel has been totally refurbished early 2008 and it is lovely, A perfect mix of contemporary in sympathy with all the original features. Pay no attention to the negative comments left as these were before the new owners took over and gutted the place!

Everywhere is clean and spotless and the rooms are very comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and you are very well cared for. They even brought me soya milk especially as I mentioned when I made the booking! We had dinner on Saturday night and were very impressed with the food and wine which is exceptional value.

If you want a good hotel that isn't stuffy or over priced then look no further - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WigmanOxonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We had our wedding reception at the Priory Hotel in May 2008 and the service, food and accommadation was superb.
The hotel has been recently taken over and re-decorated to a very high standard. It is a family run business and has a warm and welcoming atmosphere. we strongly recommend it.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Nurse23Hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stretton Sugwas
3.5 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
450 reviews
3.3 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hereford
312 reviews
3.5 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
787 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
246 reviews
3.4 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#12 of 12 in Hereford
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: Priory Lane | Stretton Sugwas, Stretton Sugwas, Hereford HR4 7AR, England (Formerly New Priory Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Stretton Sugwas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stretton Sugwas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in rural Herefordshire, but just 3 miles from the Cathedral city of Hereford.Chris & Chris Rowbotham operate the family run country house hotel as a home from home. There are 8 en-suite bedrooms, ranging in size and bathroom options, offering every comfort. At the heart of the hotel is our Hathway Restaurant priding itself on using the finest local ingredients cooked fresh to order. Enjoy a glass of wine or local beer in the cosy lounge bar with an open fire for the winter or on the sun terrace if lucky with the weather. We also are a popular wedding venue in the area, licensed for civil marriage ceremonies and able to cater for up to 80 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Priory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing