We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Certificate of Excellence
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just back from hotel, and I cannot fault anything.
The staff brilliant, food very good, rooms really nice,
had a signature plus with great views.
entertainment was of a high standard and very enjoyable.
very friendly people there.
nice pool etc, used every day.
outdoor activities good.
overall very very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for your great comments about your recent visit to Holme Lacy House Hotel. It was lovely to read that you found the team, food, rooms, entertainment, activities and pool so wonderful. I have passed your comments on to each department.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Rachael Fitton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    372
    135
    43
    31
See reviews for
120
631
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a lovely large country house hotel, set in beautiful grounds. Firstly I would like to say that the staff at the hotel were very welcoming, helpful and courteous.

We had a choice of two dining rooms and we chose to eat in the Bremner Scott restaurant, the food was delicious, hot and with a good choice of dishes. We were looked after by Victor and Aurelia who couldn't do enough for us. Very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast is self service and there was a good selection of food, from full English to Continental, lots of fruit juices, fresh fruit and freshly prepared yoghurt. The plates were hot (needed a serviette to hold them) which kept your breakfast hot right to the very last bite.

We tried our hand at pitching and putting, (18 hole putting green in front of the hotel), bowls, archery, rifle shooting, table tennis, billiards and snooker. All the Leisure staff were brilliant, they looked after us very well and in particular I would like to single out TOM who is a delightful young man, who coached us in Archery and Bowls, he had lots of time and patience, corrected our mistakes and encouraged our triumphs. He has a charming demeanor and the hotel management should be proud to have him on the team, he is a real credit to the Warners group of hotels.

Lesley our chambermaid was lovely, always had a smile for us and she kept our room beautifully clean and tidy. The Standard Room was very large, with a wardrobe, dressing table, chest of drawers, bedside cabinets, very very large bed and they also supplied a Hairdryer, iron and ironing board. PLUS tea and coffee making facilities

The entertainments team worked very hard during the day and long into the night, putting on various entertainments, learn to dance, singing lessons, quizzes etc to keep the guests occupied.

A great deal of hard work and thought has gone into making this an exceptional hotel, from the Express check-in to the delicious food, beautifully kept gardens, wide range of activities etc. and all of this was made so much better by the wonderful staff they employ....WARNERS please take time to thank your staff at this lovely hotel.

Would I stay again?......................it's a definite YES.

Room Tip: Stayed in a Standard Room, No 256) at the back of the hotel, very quiet, easy access to car park. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcw1650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello.

Thank you for writing on Trip advisor, I am pleased that you enjoyed your break at Holme Lacy House Hotel. It’s lovely to read that the team had such a positive impact on your break, especially Tom, Lesley, Victor and Aurelia. Your praise will be passed on to the team.

Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had been to Holme Lacy some years ago and had enjoyed it very much however I could not say that of this visit.
Perhaps the weather had aa lot to do with it very dark and wet and we were given a room at the back which was like a dungeon surrounded by high walls and although it had two sets of glassed doors the walls only being a matter of six feet from the exterior of the building we were in almost permanent darkness and had to have all the lights on no matter what time of day. However having said that the room was clean and of ample space and the housekeeping was good.
The dining room we chose (Bremner-Scott), had been extended since we were last there and the corridor that ran alongside had been converted into a long thin dining area to which we were assigned a table. This feature worked perfectly well as the actual dining room is over lit and not very nice to sit in the lighting being very strong.
The service was very good with the waiters and waitresses being very overworked once the place filled up. The staff were extremely polite and helpful and would carry out any request that was asked of them despite being understaffed.
The food was of good quality and thankfully not of huge portions as used to be their wont at Warner a lot of waste in the past with people leaving a lot of food I had noticed previously. The plates were well presented so that the food looked good and was pleasing to the eye, and also it tasted good once sampled. Breakfast was a good meal as well and it set us up for the day out although we did have a light lunch ashore on our travels. The wine although not the best in the world was of good quality and the white had been chilled very nicely however the red was a tad bitter for my lady`s taste but all in all dining was not a bad experience.
We did not sample any of the entertainment as we like to go to bed early and read so cannot comment on that, it starts too late.
The bar is not too well stocked and the bar staff not too well versed in the drinks trade as things had to be explained to them plus a lot of guests had wheelchairs(motorised) and tended to congregate in the small bar area prior to dinner which made getting to the bar very awkward, not a criticism, merely a comment especially as there was two very large rooms in spitting distance and outside the dining room.
The grounds are being left to go down compared to what they were,prunings not being lifted or blown away, moss in great quantities in the gravel paths, shrubs half finished, the stripes on the lawns being made by a one eyed drunk man not very great at all, the flower beds on the other hand had been weeded but no attempt had been made to dead head any of the dahlias to prolong the flowering period.
The house interior itself is still in good repair with the decor being still quite clean and bright, no smoking and in particular no kids makes a big difference to furnishings and the decorations staying in good repair.
Although the weather had turned quite chilly and very damp the heating was turned off even the towel rails so in our dungeon as we called it we had to have jackets and my lady her jumper/cardigan. My fault I should have asked for heating.
We have decided that the Warner experience id no longer for us and will not be returning to Warner again, a pity really as we have enjoyed the previous four visits to different locations

Room Tip: Make sure,unless it is Mid-Summer that you not allocated a back room as they are called even if it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Warners are still excellent for a short break but they are gradually economising in some areas, such as no free coffee with meals, and lack of named stars on the entertainment scene. Having said that rooms are spacious, clean & comfortable, food is good, but perhaps not as much choice as previously. Still we are in an economy era, are we not? Staff were friendly, efficient and really work hard to entertain.

Room Tip: Most rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,125 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

One of Warner's nicest Hotels, set in lovely grounds, Went for a special event in the family and we weren't disappointed. Its nice to go to a Hotel were Children are not allowed. The Hotel is set in an old Country House and has been tastefully adapted. The Staff made our stay relaxing and were always pleased to help. There is always plenty to do in the day with regular activities and the evening entertainment is first class.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just got back from a three night stay - paid £400 which was a half price offer.
The plus points first:The room was spacious and clean, the house was gorgeous with stunning gardens, the staff couldn't have been more helpful
The negatives: the wine list was sparse. We tried the Pinot Grigio and thought it would have been better on chips. The carvery on Sunday night was very good but this was not our experience on the other two evenings. On Friday there was either turkey or Turkey served with carrots (every night), green beans (every night) and frozen mixed vegetables. I have had better meals in backstreet pubs.
Wi-fi was advertised as being available in the public rooms in the old house but we could only pick up a signal within 20 yards of reception and whilst this may be sufficient for their usual demographic it didn't help us to plan days out. The lack of mobile signal inside the building (we're on O2 which normally gets through anywhere) didn't help either.
Having to take towels from your room when you wanted a swim meant that you had to dry yourself with something smelling of chlorine if you had a shower later in the day - the pool and changing rooms are looking "tired"
If you want to try a Warner break go to Thorsby Hall - we've been twice and couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Stay away from through routes to the entertainment as we were woken every night by people going bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AVLWrenbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our third Warner break and the best so far (3 x nights 20th-23rd September 2013. Stayed in a Signature Room overlooking the gardens and did a half board deal for two of us for £525.00-excellent value for money. The house was impressive but the gardens were truly amazing as was the lake (you can fish this - carp, tench, roach etc) Numerous activities were available, we tried archery and we also took the coach into Hereford (about 7 miles away) on the Saturday (£7.50 each which included a cream tea on your return) which gave you about 4 hours to shop etc.
Evening entertainment was exceptional being led by the "Blue Jeans" from the sixties on Saturday night, but in truth ALL of it was high class and very professional.
Food was really good, plenty of choice for all palets, and gave you the choice of buffet or waiter service. Wine was excellent ( a very nice Shiraz!!!!!!!) and very keenly priced.
All staff were friendly, curtious, and a credit to their manager and Warners.
We obviously had a terrific time and I could go on and on, but the bottom line is if you have not tried it then do so - we will definately be going back to Holme Lacy House in the near future.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Signature Room - well worth the exra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holme Lacy
3.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
6.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.0 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
7.4 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Property: Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Holme Lacy HR2 6LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Holme Lacy
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be swept off your feet by the 18th century charms of this Grade I Georgian Historic Hotel, with its landscaped gardens, elegant drawing rooms, imposing staircases and fantastic views. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holme Lacy Hereford
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing