We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Door locks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Certificate of Excellence
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Door locks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just be aware if you go into the bathroom on your own as my husband went into the room at 11.30pm only to find he could not get out. The door has no lock but the mechanism had broken. After struggling to find someone and convince them that there was a problem at that time of night, the door had to be broken down to let him out. No apology was received from anyone. Staff excellent, food excellent, Management very poor. We did not want compensation just an old fashioned apology from Management!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    376
    140
    45
    34
See reviews for
124
643
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel is in a magnificent setting and first impressions are "great", having just driven 200 miles.

We were met outside, given our room details and told where to park. Finding the rooms were not a problem and there was assistance available if it was required. The rooms were very hot inside even with all the windows open, one room required a fan !!!!!!!! (Not a good start) It took three attempts to obtain an additional sheet instead of using the duvet.

The restaurant was an absolute oven, we were told the air conditioning was awaiting repair (it never worked the whole time) . Some of the food was in edible but there was sufficient choice to try something else.

The public areas were tired, the stair carpets were frayed and dangerous, the decoration also needed addressing. In the age of mobile phones etc, the only area available to receive a signal was cramped and confined.

We wanted to try the Orchard Restaurant on the last night but there were two surcharges, one for the meal and then the coffee !!!!! (that is a charge too far)

All the activities inside and outside we're excellent, it was a great disappointment, the other hotels I have visited have been more than acceptable.

Room Tip: Not above the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holme W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments, by receiving your feedback it helps us improve as a company.
It’s nice to read about your check-in experience as it is something that we have recently been working on.
I was sorry to learn that you were unhappy with the temperature in the bedroom. Unfortunately, it is something that is hard for us to control in the summer but we will take your comments on board.
I am surprised to read about your comments on the public areas, as we have recently had the corridors refurbished to a high standard. However, your comments have been passed on to the Maintenance Team.
Unfortunately, mobile signal is something that we are unable to control. Phones are provided in all rooms in case a call is needed to be made.
Regarding the Orchard Restaurant, we feel that the £12.50 supplement to upgrade to a Rosette Restaurant is exceptional value for money. As a company we found the biggest negative feedback was about the quality and taste of the coffee served after dinner, and most guests would prefer to pay a little more for a better quality coffee. Therefore, we have invested in a new quality coffee and new machines across all our 13 Warner hotels.

Once again I thank you taking the time to provide us with your feedback; it is invaluable to us both at Holme Lacy House Hotel and within Warner Leisure Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The two types of bedrooms that I was booked in were excellent,Historic and Signature

The restaurant food was hot and varied, rooms large and airy, grounds were well manicured and lovely views.Staff were helpful and polite Plenty of things organised during day if you so wished. Lovely swimming pool and Spa. In all was very surprised
Entertainment in evenings if you wished , only complaint as always music too loud for me and most others, but think that is the same anywhere!

Room Tip: Signature room 230 was quiet and overlooking green areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronnie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is our second break this year,(Sinah Warren in June).
I cannot understand the negative comments,if you read your hotel information you were sent then it tells you check in from 11:30,book your table from 12:30.
We were checked outside main reception still in the car(this has changed since we last visited in 2011).and told were to park.
We had booked 2 singe rooms,140 for my mum which has shower only,and 252(which is not as noisy when the music starts up! ) .
The choice of food was good and varied.the staff are friendly,drink prices reasonable but I cannot see why we should pay extra for coffee after dinner ?.
Sunday afternoon there was live music outside the Terrace bar in the sunshine !,really good !(after a boat trip on the river wye in the morning).
There is plenty of places to sit in the Blue room or the bar,or go to the pavilion for music and dance.
Overall great location and grounds.good deals to be had !!. hope to come back next year.!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our first visit to a Warners Leisure Hotel, and we were not very impressed. We didn't know we had to reserve our meal table on arrival, and every reasonable space was already taken, with canteen style seating all that was left in the main restaurant. Our Signature room with patio was very small, the patio doors were in need of attention, and the view from the patio was a steep bank.
The matress and pillows were thin and uncomfortable, and the two beds were not properly fitted together. The 'reading' lights were just side lights attached to the main all in one headboard and all the lights were dim.
The 'luxury' shower was just one of the normal fitments put in where the bath had been, with a grip on the back wall unable to be used to assist a disabled person out of the shower, and the only luxury beside the main ceiling shower head was a seperate wand head, with nowhere provided to place shampoo or soap except down on the floor. The towels were thin and scratchy and not even a flannel provided.
We have booked another visit to a Warners hotel, but we would not go back to Holme Lacy House again.

Room Tip: Try for a Signature plus or higher, standard rooms are not much different than Signature rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank howardsenduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in 2 rooms in early August '13. The building & grounds are beautiful, the staff helpful & well trained. The menu had several choices for each course but the wonderful chefs were still willing to make me something different as I don't eat meat or dairy. We went to a few workshops or tours which were all good - morning T'ai Chi was wonderful. My sister swam in the mornings & said the pool was lovely too. Good experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in standard rooms & they were absolutely fine. Mum was in a single 246 and had a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Compared to other Warner hotels I think holme lacy tried to cut a few corners to save money.. Paying for coffee after your evening meal for example... We were in a very nice historic room, not cheap, no slippers as advertised and no small tablet of soap provided every day,standard procedure according to our cleaner!!!!(big savings there)!!!....we were not offered to dine in the orchard room I never queried this as I thought you had to stay in a historical suite.. Most annoyed that we did pay extra than fellow guests ..I mentioned this to reception but to no avail. When you book your holiday by phone insist that you get the best rate and it won't go down in price ask for a price promise...nothing worse than finding out you have paid more than the couple next door for exactly the same break ..on saying all this we did have a very pleasant stay... Value for money?? Well that depends on how much you paid

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john112john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holme Lacy
3.9 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
4.2 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Property: Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Holme Lacy HR2 6LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Holme Lacy
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be swept off your feet by the 18th century charms of this Grade I Georgian Historic Hotel, with its landscaped gardens, elegant drawing rooms, imposing staircases and fantastic views. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holme Lacy Hereford
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing