We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpectedly great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unexpectedly great holiday”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

My parents, daughter and myself have just returned from a wonderful break at Holme Lacy. Great food, great entertainment,The Holme Lacy Players, Sam, Ricky, Adam, SJ, Lola, Mad and Kyle were lovely and friendly and made our stay even more special. The activities were fun and well planned. There is so much to get involved in, if you wished to do so. My daughter was the youngest at 27 and even she thoroughly enjoyed herself. My parents felt very relaxed and had a lovely time. We all would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 118LynnE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    389
    146
    46
    35
See reviews for
125
667
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Have been to other Warner hotels, but Holm Lacy is one of the best for comfort; food and gardens. You don't need to do anything but relax at Holm Lacy, swimming pool and leisure centre, excellent. Gardens and activities are great. We did a coach trip with them and it was very well organised and enjoyable

Room Tip: Make sure you phone them well inadvance to get the room you require
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lavorrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Fabulous venue to meet up with relatives, and will treasure memories of listening to Kathy North in the Blue Room ... when will she be back?????

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank acorn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The setting was beautiful, very member of staff very friendly and helpful.
Orchrard restaurant a wonderful experience, food out of this world and waiters flawless.
Best Warners break so far.
Thank you to everyone who made this so special!

Room Tip: Historic rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jean250711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed for a 3 night weekend in an historic suite which gave us access to have all of our meals in the Orchard restaurant. First impressions were excellent - meeter/greeter on the drive to tell you where to park, excellent check-in. The suite was lovely - spacious, clean, with lovely views over the pitch/putt and lake. Unlike some Warner hotels, Holme Lacy has three restaurants and all of them looked good enough to eat in. However once we tried the Orchard, we were more than happy to stay there. This hotel now has 'Players' (a team of actors - like Thoresby has had for some time) and they certainly add to the holiday with the Book at Bedtime, Murder Mystery etc. The Four Tops Tribute were very good and had the dance floor filled, and the resident entertainers were also good.
Facilities here are great - we tried the putting/bunker set-up, pitch & putt, tennis and pool. There were some walks on offer but we ran out of time. We've tried about 5 Warner hotels now so know what to expect, but we both felt this had the edge on Thoresby Hall and was the best we've tried. So much so, that we booked to go back in October. If you have ever been to a Warner hotel, we would certainly recommend that you try this one.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for an historic room to eat in the Orchard Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NettePowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had a family gathering here last weekend (22/23/24 July 2011). The food was good - plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meals. The service was good at these times too. Lunchtime meals was a bit of a fiasco though on the Saturday. The staff didn't seem to be able to cope with the outside bar-b-q they had laid on. Long delays ensued. If you want to buy food or drinks then it's a good idea to sign up to one of their Warner plastic cards - which you then use like a credit card to pay for drinks etc. As paying by any other means seems to be more difficult - heaven knows why!
They have lots of activities to do but if you want to do pistol shooting, rifle shooting or archery - then it's best to sign up immediately as places are very limited as we found out to our dissappointment. The fencing wasn't fully booked so I signed up to that which was very enjoyable. They also have tennis, swimming, bowls, croquet, a putting green, a fishing lake - don't forget your rods (all other equipment can be borrowed from the sports desk by the pool. The gym equipment room is very well appointed with all the latest gear and you can watch TV whilst you work out.
We signed up to the hot air baloon flight which was fantastic - but do be prepared to set off at 6.00am and also be prepared to climb over a fence and walk across a field to get to the baloon. Also be prepared to help roll up the balloon after you land - but it's not compulsory if you are not yound and fit.
Live entertainment every night will also appeal to many - dancing and music. I especially enjoyed the Saturday lunchtime 3 piece Irish folk music band whilst waiting for the bar-b-q.
The bird of prey display was fantastic too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_1958_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed in historic room 306 which was up 2 flights of stairs. It had a large bathroom and medium sized room. Bed was very comfy. It was bright and airy. We ate in the orchard restaurant which was very good and very bad for my diet. We enjoyed jazz on the terrace, mini golf, shooting, archery and the murder mystery evening ( acting was excellent by the staff) and I will not ruin it by telling you who did it ! I would go back again and recommend it highly, gardens are lovely as is the scenery. I also had an excellent Swedish massage which got a lot of my knots out of back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ningaloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holme Lacy
3.9 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
431 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
175 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hereford
293 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
799 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel

Property: Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel
Address: Bridge Road, Holme Lacy HR2 6LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Holme Lacy
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holme Lacy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll be swept off your feet by the 18th century charms of this Grade I Georgian Historic Hotel, with its landscaped gardens, elegant drawing rooms, imposing staircases and fantastic views. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holme Lacy Hereford
Warner Holme Lacy House Hotel Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing