We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place for quick lunch”
Review of Grafton Inn

Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Grafton
Cuisines: Grill, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Recently under new management, and situated on the Ross Road into Hereford, The Grafton Inn is comfortable and cosy with a relaxed atmosphere. It has a large and well kept garden to enjoy, with views across the countryside. It has a large conservatory area for diners, which can also be used for private functions such as wedding parties, christening, and buffets. It boasts a varied menu with a primary focus on grills and burgers, although we cater for all tastes. We have a good selection of vegetarian meals, and Specials on offer through out the week. We also have special offers every evening, and throughout the week offer 2 meals for £12.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good place for quick lunch”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have now visited twice and on both occasions the staff were very friendly and helpful. For the price, the food was really good. I had fish which was beautifully cooked and my husband had gammon, again good quality.

Although the decor is dated, the warmth of the staff made up for it. We look forward to visiting again when the weather allows us to sit outside in the garden.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hulberthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraftonInn, Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your great comments!

The weather is getting warmer and our beer garden is looking great. Be sure to come and visit us soon.

We will aim for a 5 star rating next time!

Kind regards, Simon.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    68
    40
    43
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, professional service ”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Sunny Sunday afternoon, so had a drive to Hereford, called into the Grafton for a spot of lunch and sit in the stunning beer garden and have a pint. The Sunday roast was hot, all cooked fresh and real Yorkshire puds, always a bonus. As for the staff, they are all very warm and welcoming. Only bad points I can think of is the garden furniture was tired but that's a very small blemish on an otherwise lovely visit.

Helpful?
Thank A-Harrison77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraftonInn, Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We also love real Yorkshire puddings along with the home made gravy and great quality beef.

You'll be glad to hear that our garden furniture will be re-painted in the next week or so why not call with us again and take advantage off all this lovely weather we're having!

Thanks again, Simon.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
547 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Lovely staff but food not quite up to scratch”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were impressed by the bar staff here, who were friendly and very welcoming. The pub is also nicely decorated with several different areas for you to choose to dine in. Although the choice of drinks was good we were a little disappointed with the food. The fish sharing platter wasn't as described on the menu, and I understand that sometimes the kitchen will run out of certain items but it wouldn't have taken much time to mention this to us when the meal was served. It didn't help that some of the substituted items were of quite poor quality. I should point out that when we provided feedback at the end of the meal we were given an apology, which shows the professionalism of the bar staff. Perhaps we were just unlucky with our meal choice on this occasion.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PebbleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraftonInn, Guest Relations Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

The team are pleased to hear that you received good customer service here at the Grafton.

We have taken on board your comments regarding the food and apologise that you had items missing.

As a gesture of good will we would like to invite you back with the offer of 3 free desserts after your meal, so perhaps we can make amends for your visit.

Please contact us via email grafton@sabrain.com or via telephone 01432 355 233 so we can send you a voucher.

Many thanks

Richard
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drybrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent visit overall”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were support to visit The Grafton for our valentines day meal but unfortunately they had to cancel due to having no power. However, the great thing was they rang us a couple of days later and offered to rearrange our meal and give us a free bottle of wine. We didn't expect anything from them after they cancelled but this definitely exceeded our expectations. We then visited this weekend and the food was fab! The staff were polite, helpful and very efficient - Both with clearing our table and bringing our food. We were not left waiting at all. They made sure to ask if everything was okay with out meal and if we had everything we required. The food was great, good value for food as well, especially compared to some other local restaurants. They also do value nights like 25% off grill and two meals for £10.99 which is great and we would definitely visit again! This was our first time at this restaurant but will certainly not be our last. Thanks again for such a great night and atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraftonInn, Guest Relations Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. We were utterly dissappointed we had to close the business on valentines night. The storm that night caused a regional power cut, so it didn't just affect us. We thought it would be right to offer guests a free bottle of wine if they would like to come back and we were very pleased that you accepted.

We will pass your positive comments onto the team and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard

Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“birthday”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Went to the grafton for my birthday with my mum dad and sister geat meal yum yum. Good choice from the menu and the special board,always vist. Staff outstanding very helpful. Sat on table 6 the roundtable at around 18.30. Will be back thanks for a great time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank georgina_stevenson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraftonInn, Public Relations Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we will pass your positivie comments onto our kitchen and front of house teams. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Richard
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grafton Inn also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Much Birch, Hereford
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing