We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castle Townshend
Certificate of Excellence
cork
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely castle”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I can nt understand earlier reviews either we stayed here got a really nice welcome the bedroom was , clean and warm , the castle is very unique with lots of character and makes a lovely change from the bladness of your run of the mill hotels , will definately return
some time

Room Tip: pick the room with the four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank com7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    20
    7
    4
    10
See reviews for
23
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Wonderful location right on the water. Had the balcony room and were able to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine. One must realize you are staying in an old building and take that in to consideration when making a critique. Must be a massive undertaking to keep up but we were very comfortable. Certainly memorable!

Room Tip: Balcony room overlooks the yard and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tandyjo_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the castle in a separate room. The owner calls it the studio. It has its own separate entrance.
The first impression is fine but one can see (and smell) that the place has known better days.
The carpet on the floor is worn, the woods would need a coat of pain, the furniture is very tired
and the linen (shower towel in particular) NEED to be replaced.
The room is comfortable although everything is either slightly broken or not fully functional. I almost broke my neck on a swing chair that does not stay up, the radio does not work, there is only 3 coasters out of 4 and so one.
It's a bit like visiting a family summer house that is not used much. You would expect things to be like this. But to be honest, for that price, I won't go back.
A word about the lady who owns the place. Some people manage to find the perfect balance between being natural and being service oriented. Unfortunately whining about customers (incl. some staying at the time) is rarely the way to achieve this. She has a way to make you understand that things (and you) should work around her and not the other way around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank matdiver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I didn't actually get to stay at the Castle, as my partner got struck down with a bug the day before we were due to arrive. We were very disappointed as we had been looking forward to it. However, I have to say thank you to Mrs. Cochrane-Towshend who was very nice about our cancelling and did not charge us, even though it was at such short notice. We definitely plan to come another time.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Four of us stayed at the Castle while on a golfing holiday around Ireland. It was highly recommended to us. Being about an hour's drive from Cork airport it was very convenient. Ann was so welcoming, and what a place to stay! We loved the history and the walks around the place, and it was lovely to sit outside overlooking the water enjoying a glass of wine. It was very comfortable and we all enjoyed a magnificent breakfast. We had dinner at Mary Anne's bar up the road, again recommended. The food and wine were superb.
Our first game of golf was at Skibbereen Golf Club not more than 15 minutes drive away.
We would certainly love to go back there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molliegjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My family and I stayed for a few d ays to celebrate parents diamond jubilee. It was a superb place and gorgeous spot . Not often you get to stay in somewhere so historic , with the descendants of the original builders of the Castle. strongly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Truths 4 poster room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sir Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Excellent description to find our way there

The owner Anne showed up with a welcome basket with cheese, butter, bread, eggs and a bottle of wine and a big smile.
Also a starterpack for the openfire with a whole large basket of fire-wood, kindle and fire-starter-brickettes. There was also coffee and tea.

A very friendly welcome and re-assurance if there was anything just let them know.
The use of the castle grounds were at our disposal.

We had a large livingroom/kitchen area a large bedroom with a double bed and a single.(plenty of storage) a very large sunny bathroom.
A washing machine, vacuum,oven and a micro

Our "patio" was a very nice and sunny place.

We found it a quiet getaway and a good starting point for our exploration of the coast of coork.
We rented a car and must say the only damper was that this April was rather cold and wet but that we are more then happy to go back.

Yes if you expect a mint-chocolate on your pillow every morning - this is not for you.

But we loved the surrounding and such friendly neighbours and a general cosy and warm feel of the whole village.
And the views.............postcard perfect.

i think I fell in love with Ireland.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletownshend
4.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
472 reviews
8.7 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
7.0 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
13.8 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
397 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandycove House Bed & Breakfast
Sandycove House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Castletownshend
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Townshend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Townshend

Property: The Castle Townshend
Address: The Castle, Castletownshend, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castletownshend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castletownshen...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Castle Townshend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Townshend Hotel Castletownshend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing