We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandycove House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
The Castle Townshend(Castletownshend)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic House B&B(Castletownshend)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
77
6
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
6
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssandy covewild atlantic waywest corkbredairelandremotebnb
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 89 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great sea view, clean and comfortable, decent shower pressure and very friendly and helpful hosts John and Breda. On account of the rain they dropped us down to the restaurant (Mary Anne's) and collected us afterwards.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Not sure what the person from Missouri was talking about......My husband and I have been traveling around Ireland for a month and one of our last stops has been in the Southwest....Castletownsend, Co. Cork..... The most fabulous spot we have found. The vista is better than the Cliffs of Moher.....that being said, the B & B is grand, the proprietor is grand and very hospitable. John and Breda O'Driscoll have been the finest hosts. They have gone out of their way to help us and provide us with anything we need. The B&B itself is grand with view that takes your breath away. The B&B is on the top of the Cliff overlooking the Sandy Cove. Every view has this grand view. I can't say enough about the the kindness and helpfulness of the O'Driscoll's.
The accommodations are beautiful, sparkling clean with an upscale designers touch. We are able to sit and enjoy their home, their kindness and their Donkey. A MUST SEE TO BELIEVE!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatGallagher1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Let me start off by saying the location is absolutely stunning. Amazing views of the sea and a small beach accessible if you do a bit of climbing. However, it also rather hard to find and takes a while to get anywhere from the house. Also, we found the hostess to be rather unfriendly and not at all professional. The moment we arrived, she began making fun of us and our rental car. She continued to do this throughout our three night stay. She also informed us that we would have to leave by 9:00am our first morning because she had somewhere to be and didn't want anyone in the house while she was gone. Then, when she actually realized we had reservations for three nights rather than one, she made us change rooms. The room we had originally been in had a great view and a comfortable bed, but a very tiny bathroom. The room she moved us to had a view of the driveway and a hard bed. It did have a rather nice bathroom, though. The rooms themselves are also quite small, but clean. The hostess also had a habit of whining about her personal problems to us. In the end, it is a nice place, but has some problems.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Just returned from spending 3 nights at this wonderfully located B&B in Sandycove. We stayed in the 3 bedroom bungalow which was very confortable and really a home away from home. Very welcoming throughout our stay and the breakfast room is stunning perched on an elevated position with magnificant views of a piece of paradise in West Cork.

We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at this B&B at the start of our Eire trip, and it was hard to find an overall better B&B. Hosts were friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean, if a little small. View of the bay from the breakfast room is fantastic, and the breakfast itself was complete and well cooked. Hi to Bertie the donkey!

Room Tip: Rooms face towards and away from the bay
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taisapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews