We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City of Sails Motel
Nearby Hotels
$121
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Anzac Court Motel(Takapuna)(Great Value!)
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Spencer on Byron Hotel(Takapuna)(Great Value!)
$130
$102
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Poenamo Hotel(Takapuna)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Inn Motel(Northcote)
$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
VR Takapuna(Bayswater)(Great Value!)
$84
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
7
17
10
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
17
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathgood sizeno liftbus stationfree wifimain roadplace to stayon arrivalmotorway accesshospitalmicrowavereceptionjugbedfarmaucklandcleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 34 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent one night here, having chosen the motel for its convenient location and was not disappointed. Room was of a good size, with a large, comfortable bed. Very quiet, considering the busy traffic outside. The person at reception was friendly and helpful. Had a great meal at a Malaysian restaurant down the road in Milford.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Kiwi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed in this motel on business and found it pleasant and comfortable. The location is good and underground carparking is provided, which is very convenient. I was impressed with the very helpful and friendly staff. The gentleman at the desk carried my bags up to my room for me and was most helpful during my stay. The room was spacious, pleasantly decorated and spotlessly clean. I particularly enjoyed the spa bath, which was very relaxing. I found it interesting that the room facilities were more in keeping with a hotel, rather than a motel. In particular, there was no fresh milk provided - only those horrible plastic containers you get in hotels! I find that most motels provide fresh milk these days. Also, there were no utensils or microwave facilities for preparing your own meals, although the staff provided eating utensils on request. I had to switch the fridge off at night, as it made a rattling sound and I am a very light sleeper. However, this was easy to do and not particularly inconvenient.

Room Tip: Ask whether some rooms have eating facilities.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Was here for a quick overnight stay and was certainly on a par with expectation.
Room was clean, quiet and sizeable. Bathroom was spotless and everything worked.
Entry to the establishment is tricky and could be better sign-posted...the building is prominent but a few u-turns had to be negotiated before the car park was accessed. Not a huge car park so could be a problem.
I did get a 'virus warning' on attempting to access the wi-fi so that may also be an issue but bottom line...good enough stay all round.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for a week and we did have a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is a basic place but everything was in working order and we had no problems at all with cleanliness.
Also, the people at reception were very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely return to this motel should the occassion arises.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petitmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Desk staff very friendly, even though it was busy with school netball teams, the room was quiet.... not to much noise was heard from other people. Parking was a bit of an issue, car parks small and was busy so at one stage we had to wait for a car-park to come free... no car-parking on road that we could see. Rooms clean and plenty of spare bedding.... spa bath was huge, shower etc was all good. Kitchen consisted of a small bench and fridge, microwave.... and heaps of coffee, milk etc... breakfast was ordered and delivered on time. All in all a pretty good stay and apart from the car-parks being small, no other real complaints :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaxxRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews