We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous lighter appetite lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peacock at Rowsley Restaurant

The Peacock at Rowsley Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Rowsley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $74
Cuisines: Bar, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A perfect spot for visiting the Peak National Park, Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall. The Peacock is located in the small, pretty village of Rowsley. We serve delicious food both lunch and dinner in the warm and cosy surroundings of our atmospheric bar. Our 3 dining rooms overlook our gardens and lunch is served from 12 noon til 2 pm and dinner from 7pm to 9 pm (8.30 Pm) on Sunday. We offer something for everyone from a bowl of homemade soup to our fine dining experience in the evening and we have been awarded 3 rosettes by the AA. Reservations for our dining rooms and first come first served for our bar. We look forward to welcoming you. The Peacock at RowsleyBakewell Road, Rowsley, Derbyshire. DE4 2EB
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous lighter appetite lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was our first visit to the Peacock and we chose to have the lighter appetite lunch (3 course meal, including a lighter main, for £17.99 per person). The meal was fabulous, and exceptionally good value for money, particularly considering the wonderful attention to detail in food presentation and great flavours. I can not fault the food or service, which was highly attentive/professional and courteous. The Peacock is beautifully decorated, it is charming, elegant and modern, and it is worth a visit, especially at lunchtime. To be honest I can not understand the other 'negative' reviews....if you enjoy well crafted and beautiful food then this restaurant should absolutely be on your list of places to visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlisonChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    36
    17
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RESTUARANT OVER PRICED BY AT LEAST 33.3%”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

£14 for a small crab salad starter £8.00 for Soup; Both dishes absolutely ordinary.
Insipid bottle of ROSE' wine £32.00
Halibut served with a very strong overpowering sauce - Being already poured over this delicate fish give me no choice to pass on this item.
Beef was miniscule Total Cost over £150..
During the choosing of our meal we asked what the item listed as 'Crispy- Egg' was. We were told it was a surprise-- Was this a coded message saying, '' I Do Not Know.''
All in all a very disappointing experience which we will not be repeating at this hotel

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank skipde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch, attentive service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

3 of us ate here in the bar. Service was fine, if a little pretentious for a bar. The vegetarian main courses were tasty though small in size, the apple crumble was a reasonable portion.

Disappointingly the cheese selection was meagre. "A selection of cheeses, water biscuits, oat cakes £7.95" comprised 3 very small pieces of cheese, an ordinary Brie, a standard Cheddar and a slightly better quality Stilton, served with a few grapes, celery stalks, 2 small water biscuits and 2 "Nairns" type oatcakes.

Overall the cost would have been fine if the standard and quantities had been better and represented value for money - this place thinks it is better than it is and charges accordingly. I would not visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAMandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“far too expensive for what it offers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I am lucky enough to have eaten in some of the fanciest restaurants on planet earth, and not blanched at paying top dollar for a good meal. I'm afraid the prices charged for dinner at The Peacock at Rowsley, in the heart of the Derbyshire countyside, are taking the mickey. Main courses costing towards £40, a wine list with little to select under £50 a bottle, is way OTT for unmemorable fare. There are few restaurants in central London with the nerve to charge so much for so little. My good fortune was to have spent the evening with my wonderful wife and charming friends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Came here with my husband for a drink and decided to book a meal for later in the week. Throughout our visit the service was good and staff attentive so cannot fault that at all. The food however was overpriced and not worth it. We have eaten in a number of similar rated restaurants (including London and paid less!) and I'm afraid it didn't quite live up to expectations. Unfortunately seasoning seemed to be lacking in the main course! The Peacock is obviously trying to achieve a level of exclusivity and people were being turned away at the door when they just wanted to visit the bar, so can only assume there is a strong customer base that allows them to do this! Overall the experience was OK and I did enjoy the evening. There was a good varied wine list and staff always made sure glasses were topped up.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DJC197327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock at Rowsley Restaurant also viewed

Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Rowsley, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Peacock at Rowsley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing