We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel - perfect Wedding Day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel - perfect Wedding Day”
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Well I don't quite know where to start singing the praises of East Lodge. We had our wedding reception there on the 5th September and it was the most amazing day of our lives. We booked the Gold package which mean't exclusive use of the hotel for the whole day and night and it was so worth it. The staff at East Lodge are wonderful particular thanks goes out to Charlotte and Emma the hotels wedding co-ordinators who worked so hard and not once got annoyed with my millions of emails and phonecalls leading up to the wedding! One of the key reasons we chose East Lodge was for the food and my god was it amazing. The fillet of beef was so perfectly cooked it melted in your mouth I didn't hear a single bad comment about the food just lots of amazing ones! Good food en masse is definitley a skill! Everything about our day from start to finish was perfect. The Food, the presentation, the disco right through to the cracking evening buffet and all in the perfect setting. The rooms are just the icing on the cake and the deep bath tub in the bridal suite was much appreciated the morning after the wedding. How perfect to sit in the bath and recover from a pounding head and amazing day, watch hollyoaks and then eat a yummy breakfast delivered to your room! I would highly recommend East Lodge and whats more I think the price is really reasonable for everything that is included. Many thanks again for what was the most special day of our lives. I hope we manage to make it back for our 1 year anniversary next yeat.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiobhainAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    79
    23
    15
    17
See reviews for
91
218
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

The Staff is polite and helpful. The hotel is well situated with a lovely view of the countryside. The bath in our room had been recently updated. It had a towel warmer, a shower and a TV in front of the deep soaking tub (how decadent). Though I had trouble using it, the free Wifi is a nice plus. The seating areas are attractive and homey.

Breakfasts were excellent - service was great. Cooked and cold breakfasts were available and both were included in our room rate.

As for the restaurant at dinner: It was not particularly creative and generally over salted. However, the service was excellent and all our needs were taken care of. There was nothing outstanding about the food, it was merely well presented and prepared. The food is much better than typical country cooking and we enjoyed our dinner.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Booked at last minute for 1 night at hotel. Reduced price as paid in advance. Was told we were getting a "king" room but if that was a king then wonder what the standard was like? Room was very small with sloping roof, had to be careful when crossing it during night! Nevertheless it was nicely decorated with all necessary facilities, only complaint was the bed was a bit too firm for my liking. Staff were attentive, escorting us to room and ensuring we knew where everything was and how it worked. Booked for evening meal and as we made our menu selection were brought a small selection of canapes and at start of meal were given a small appetiser to taste. A nice touch. The meal was excellent, all dishes selcted were tasty and well presented. Selected from an extensive wine list with bottles from £17 upwards. Breakfast menu was extensive, service was good. Hotel is in a nice location, lovely gardens and short walk into Rowsley.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharrenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

I have to start by saying i have reviewed this hotel before but after having the pleasure to go again i felt i must say how good this hotel is.

We went to East lodge to celebrate Dad's 65th birthday. What a fantastic weekend,one we shall all remember for the right reasons.

The welcome you get at East Lodge makes you feel special,all the staff are very attentive from the boss to the waitress,nothing is too much trouble. The food was out of this world,i can recomend the braised beef cheek if it's on the menu.

The rooms are clean and well appointed with sky being a bonus.

I can't really say anything else,just try it for yourself!

I would also like to thank everybody at east lodge for making Dads,an our weekend so special.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobtash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We decided to go to East Lodge after a horrible trip to York. Yes we know it's quite a way apart - we went to York for the day and had a let down at the Ibis .... we then spent quite a while driving round York getting more and more fed up (especially with the very smugg receptionist at the travelodge, quite rude for a receptionist) so we made a decision to drive down to the Peak District.
Great decision, wonderful friendly reception at East Lodge, cosy elegant room. Everything we needed and superbly quiet. Excellent bath and shower and such a comfy bed.
Very good breakfast although service was a little slow and we were left alone a bit too long. The one thing we liked the least was that the owner, his wife and family had breakfast in the dining room which we found a little uncomfortable. It just took the edge off the visit.
Checkout was very good and would happily return again but only at the "discounted" rate.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fluffybunny666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Once more we have had the pleasure of staying at East Lodge. As I have quoted before a piece of paradise in Derbyshire.
The weather was lovely so we could dine outside in the beautiful garen area. The staff do their utmost to ensure that your stay is stress free, and you leave feeling rested and relaxed. The room, as usual, was well equipped with everything you could possibly need, including an iron, and serviced to a very high standard.
It is a place we keep returning to because we have the confidence to know that it will be just as good as our last visit, and that is something that cannot be said about many places.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-pie-bun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

I held a networking event for proffessional business women at East Lodge and it was great. My guests arrived and had a choice of white wine or elderflower soft drink with East Lodge staff on hand should they need anything else. My guests then sat down for a buffet lunch, which was one of the best lunches provided at any of my events. The staff then took my delegates on a tour of the hotel. I think East Lodge is a great place to get away, with a really relaxed atmosphere. I will definately be using East Lodge again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eventsteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
675 reviews
5.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
245 reviews
13.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lodge Country House Hotel

Property: East Lodge Country House Hotel
Address: Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your East Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Country
East Lodge Country House Hotel Rowsley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing