We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely revisit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely revisit”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I returned to visit this venue two years after our wedding there. We had a lovely relaxing stay and all the staff were friendly, helpful and polite. The food was lovely. I hope to go back to what will always be a special place for us and will always have the biscuits!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    81
    25
    15
    18
See reviews for
95
222
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
holmes chapel
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We called in at East Lodge Hotel we were on our way to look at 2 other hotels a very pleasant young girl showed us round but we said we would carry on and look at the 2 we had in mind
but we liked what we had seen at East Lodge so back we went and we were not dissapointed we had a very spacious and well appointed room on the ground floor plenty of light and room to move about comfortable seats to sit and relax in after our days sight seeing The food was very good breakfast excellent we thought the dinner menu very limited and did not change it would be nice to have one other choice each night the same as you do with the sweet menu There was a relaxing and peacefull lounge and bar area to sit and have a drink andcoffee the staff were very helpfull nothing was to much trouble for them The hotel was in a nice setting green fields and the gardens were well worth walking round Wecertainly enjoyed our stay with them and there was also pleny to see and do round thet area of Derbyshire

Room Tip: allways ask to view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eileen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed at this wonderful hotel for a Chatsworth break recently. Wonderfully peaceful setting. Very attentive and helpful staff who anticipated our every requirement. Lovely room. Great food. Will definitely be going back - hopefully soon!
Pam Blackham

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family and I decided to have Sunday Lunch at East Lodge yesterday (Aug 26, 2012) as we had dined there many times over the past several years, including private family dining events for several guests. We have always enjoyed our meals at East Lodge, and the place is beautiful and in a fabulous country location. We have recommended East Lodge as a place to dine to many friends. However, our experience yesterday has left us bewildered and bitterly disappointed. The food was absolutely awful and in the case of the grouse starter and roast pork main course, totally inedible. Both had to be returned. But even the food that was edible was distinctly average. I am very sad to say that we will never return to East Lodge and certainly will make sure our friends are aware of the catastrophic decline in standards. Maybe the chef had a bad day or was pre-occupied with an event that was obviously going on at the time, but there are no excuses in this game, especially given the expectations and the prices. We did make our displeasure known to the restaurant manager, but I fear it fell on deaf ears, as the owner refused to even speak with us. All-in-all a pitiful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrTeeJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Having read reviews but unable to stay at this lovely hotel, we booked to have a family birthday meal there instead. The restaurant area surroundings were very pleasant, the grounds beautiful and the food was very good, having celebrated a milestone birthday recently myself, I have been fortunate to eat in several Michelin starred restaurants and this does not fall too far short! The portions on the main courses were variable (& 2 rather small, we had Turbot), but all courses very tasty. Service was good overall and very pleasant, but staff could have been a little more attentive; they disappeared after courses were served and were not in sight if / when needed. We were a party of six adults and would all eat in the restaurant again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as friends had wedding there ,stunning gardens a real joy to see and walk around , lights lit the garden at night just as lovely absolutely stunning!!!!!!!.

Staff could not be more helpful ,although little disappointed that despite some 30 odd people there i was told bar was closing and to call porter should we need a drink this at 10.30pm .

Room 8 was very good esp if you like a very firm bed!!, although dont think alledged ghost was in that room lol.
If you want to just relax and sit in beautiful surroundings i doubt you will find any better.

Food very good superb breakfasts .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just returned from a two-night stay at East Lodge. Although it is conveniently placed on the A6 it is set well back from the road in its own extensive grounds, so we were not troubled at all by traffic noise. Our room (executive) was spacious and had a very large, well equipped bathroom with roll-top bath and walk-in shower. Our view was overlooking the carpark with fields beyond.
On our first evening (a Sunday) we dined alone in the restaurant and enjoyed a superb meal and were pleased that the wine list was reasonable value. Wines are also available by the glass. On the second night the menu was unchanged, which could be a problem on a longer stay, the food however was equally good, the chef has real talent, (the hotel has just been awarded a third AA Rosette). This evening other guests had arrived and the restaurant was quite busy, but the service was just as efficient.
Breakfast was very good, both the buffet with fresh fruit and the cooked menu. The staff were excellent, cheerful and professional and made our stay very pleasant indeed - we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Molecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
392 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
693 reviews
5.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
294 reviews
13.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lodge Country House Hotel

Property: East Lodge Country House Hotel
Address: Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your East Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Country
East Lodge Country House Hotel Rowsley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing