We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Grouse and Claret

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grouse and Claret
Ranked #3 of 5 Rowsley B&B and Inns
Heanor, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Having booked from the Christmas Fayre menu for the 8th Dec 2012, we found the veg let it down being luke warm and not a good selection, the brussels appeared to be cooked from frozen, not fresh. No bread roll with the soup as per menu, brown bread only and was not given a choice. no bread sauce with the main as per menu, no orange segments in Clementine Orange Pudding more like orange peel and had to look hard to find any. all in all rather Disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    128
    89
    63
    28
See reviews for
105
204
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just back from a weekend break spent at the Grouse and Claret in Rowsley just a stones throw from Chatsworth.
Jon and his team made us very welcome and our room was in excellent decorative order with a comfortable bed, bath and shower,flat screen tv and fluffy towels.
We ate in the pub on both nights and found the food well presented with good sized portions and attentive friendly staff.
Our breakfast was one of the best we have had with an excellent choice served in the sunny conservatory.

Thankyou and we will see you again in 2013.

Alan & Janice

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks for your review, we were very pleased to here your kind comments about our food and service standards. I will pass on your comments to all serving and kitchen staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grouse and Claret when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We came in here for the first time, expecting something bordering on gourmet based upon the name, what we got was something I'd expect from a chain like the Harvester. Management is at fault here I believe. They don't keep their employees in line to give the customer good service instead the waitress and runners go about their duties for the night, ignoring the customers for the most part so that we had to wait on things like our drink orders to arrive because they were left sitting at the bar for far too long (this happened twice!), waiting to place an order for dessert (we gave up waiting in the end and went to go pay the bill instead) and the manager had to step in and help with the food order because we were being completely ignored by our waitress. The kitchen doesn't know the difference between a medium rare steak and medium and rare. I had my dish sent back once, it should have been twice because they couldn't get it right but we wanted to get back to our B&B. The vegetables were all overcooked and therefore inedible. They had a tacky sort of snow maker in the front lobby with an even tackier sign stuck in the middle saying 'don't touch'. They're trying to promote their Christmas menu but frankly I wouldn't even bother. They're clearly after your money without having to provide the good service and food that should go along with it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank greenladybourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Grouse and Claret.

I wish to clarify a few of the points that you have raised.

1. We are indeed a "Chain Restaurant", we are part of the Marstons Inns and Taverns Group, who serve very competitively priced food in a pleasant enviroment.

2.Your claim that we didnt provide you with a very high level of customer service resulted in me speaking with your waitress on the evening, who has explained to me how hostile, rude and unfreindly you were towards her, thus hindering her ability to provide you with any sort of service whatsoever.

3. Your comments regarding the snow maker where taken with a pinch of salt as it was enjoyed by our many thousands of customers of all ages during the festive period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rowsley hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We would just like to say what a lovely weekend we have had staying here. Jon, Chris and all the staff were welcoming and accomodating.The breakfast was lovely as was the dinners and snacks.


Thank you all again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review of The Grouse and Claret. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have visited the Grouse and Claret many times on trips to Matlock and have always had a good meal with excellent service. We went this last Saturday night (27th October) and were very disappointed. The service was bad, the staff were not interested and the food was not as good as it used to be. It seemed the staff would rather just wander around, our main course plates were cleared and the guy never asked if we wanted a sweet and I had to ask another member of staff for a sweet menu. Once we had finished our sweets it was though we were being pushed to leave as lights were being turned off. Sorry but you have lost 2 loyal customers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kazzio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are very sorry that on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations, however may I offer some clarification on a few issues.

The guys that just "wander around" are "Runners" who bring out your meals and clear your empty plates, it may appear that they are only wandering around,but are there only for this purpose and do not take food orders.

Dessert Menus are on the tables and can be ordered with your waitress.

As the restaurant gets quieter throughout the evening and as we have less staff, certain empty areas are "closed down" and lights turned off, we apologise if you felt you were being pushed out, you wern't, this is just our procedure.

I hope that this clarifies the matter and that you give us the benefit of the doubt and return to the Grouse and Claret when you are next in the area. Jon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was reasonably priced and the food was good. Service was with a smile. My only gripe is that we felt at 10pm we were made to rush to leave!! The lady behind the bar had her coat on which I felt a little rude. Other than this really good and I would recommend it! Rooms excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamSmith84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your recent review, it was nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay, however I must apologise if you felt rushed to leave the bar, the lady in question was wearing her coat in preperation for leaving as she had finished her shift for the day,all guests are welcome to stay in the bar according to standard licencing laws.

We hope to see to again soon at the Grouse and Claret
Jon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have been regulars at the Grouse and Claret for several years and enjoyed great food with great service. Unfortunately, things appear to have taken a dip since the management changed there recently. On arrival, we asked if we could sit in the far room which is a little quieter, only to be told it was being closed for the night (on a busy Sunday), I'm presuming due to shortage of staff or not having to clean it afterwards.

We were approached by a waitress who couldn't even force a smile and requested a childrens menu, you would have thought I'd asked for a free meal. We ordered drinks and they took 10 minutes to arrive, we managed to order food about 10 minutes after that and it arrived 30 minutes after that. The food was good, I would give it 7/10 but nothing compared to how it used to be. We had to ask for sauces and no-one checked if our meal was OK. Service was poor from start to finish, the food rescued the night but only just.

I hope the management read this and take it a constructive criticism from a regular set of diners who are very disappointed and may not return as a result. I sincerely hope you turn things around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swoot_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We were sorry to hear that you felt that the Grouse and Claret had gone from "Top Class to" Average".., since taking over from the previous management some 12 months ago we have maintained a Top Class Service by enhancing the dining experience for all of our guests with improved training in all areas and maintaining a very high level of customer service at all times.

As we have less staff on a Sunday evening,due to it being a quieter period, we do close off certain areas of the restaurant and seat guests in areas where staff can be attentive. All areas of the restaurant are cleaned every morning.

You note that the waitress serving you was not very polite, I can only apologise that our normal high levels of customer service were not met on this occasion, however we would like to welcome you back to the Grouse and Claret very soon to realise that truly was an isolated incident. Jon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
0.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
734 reviews
5.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
245 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse and Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse and Claret

Property: Grouse and Claret
Address: Station Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grouse and Claret 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th-Century Restaurant/Public House with 8 beautifully appointed double en-suite bedrooms. Situated just 1 minutes drive outside the Peak District National Park we are well situated for all local amenities including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, and the towns of Matlock and Bakewell. Nestled to the rear of the Pub, alongside the the River Derwent we also have 29 hard standing pitches with electric-hook-up to accommodate Touring Caravans and Motor homes and a separate Tent field, facilities here include Hot Showers, Toilets, Chemical Toilet disposal and Washing Up facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Grouse and Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse And Claret Hotel Rowsley
Grouse And Claret Rowsley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing