We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Grouse and Claret

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grouse and Claret
Ranked #3 of 5 Rowsley B&B and Inns
Chipping Campden
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have visited the Grouse and Claret many times on trips to Matlock and have always had a good meal with excellent service. We went this last Saturday night (27th October) and were very disappointed. The service was bad, the staff were not interested and the food was not as good as it used to be. It seemed the staff would rather just wander around, our main course plates were cleared and the guy never asked if we wanted a sweet and I had to ask another member of staff for a sweet menu. Once we had finished our sweets it was though we were being pushed to leave as lights were being turned off. Sorry but you have lost 2 loyal customers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kazzio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are very sorry that on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations, however may I offer some clarification on a few issues.

The guys that just "wander around" are "Runners" who bring out your meals and clear your empty plates, it may appear that they are only wandering around,but are there only for this purpose and do not take food orders.

Dessert Menus are on the tables and can be ordered with your waitress.

As the restaurant gets quieter throughout the evening and as we have less staff, certain empty areas are "closed down" and lights turned off, we apologise if you felt you were being pushed out, you wern't, this is just our procedure.

I hope that this clarifies the matter and that you give us the benefit of the doubt and return to the Grouse and Claret when you are next in the area. Jon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    135
    95
    65
    32
See reviews for
118
213
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was reasonably priced and the food was good. Service was with a smile. My only gripe is that we felt at 10pm we were made to rush to leave!! The lady behind the bar had her coat on which I felt a little rude. Other than this really good and I would recommend it! Rooms excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamSmith84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your recent review, it was nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay, however I must apologise if you felt rushed to leave the bar, the lady in question was wearing her coat in preperation for leaving as she had finished her shift for the day,all guests are welcome to stay in the bar according to standard licencing laws.

We hope to see to again soon at the Grouse and Claret
Jon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have been regulars at the Grouse and Claret for several years and enjoyed great food with great service. Unfortunately, things appear to have taken a dip since the management changed there recently. On arrival, we asked if we could sit in the far room which is a little quieter, only to be told it was being closed for the night (on a busy Sunday), I'm presuming due to shortage of staff or not having to clean it afterwards.

We were approached by a waitress who couldn't even force a smile and requested a childrens menu, you would have thought I'd asked for a free meal. We ordered drinks and they took 10 minutes to arrive, we managed to order food about 10 minutes after that and it arrived 30 minutes after that. The food was good, I would give it 7/10 but nothing compared to how it used to be. We had to ask for sauces and no-one checked if our meal was OK. Service was poor from start to finish, the food rescued the night but only just.

I hope the management read this and take it a constructive criticism from a regular set of diners who are very disappointed and may not return as a result. I sincerely hope you turn things around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swoot_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We were sorry to hear that you felt that the Grouse and Claret had gone from "Top Class to" Average".., since taking over from the previous management some 12 months ago we have maintained a Top Class Service by enhancing the dining experience for all of our guests with improved training in all areas and maintaining a very high level of customer service at all times.

As we have less staff on a Sunday evening,due to it being a quieter period, we do close off certain areas of the restaurant and seat guests in areas where staff can be attentive. All areas of the restaurant are cleaned every morning.

You note that the waitress serving you was not very polite, I can only apologise that our normal high levels of customer service were not met on this occasion, however we would like to welcome you back to the Grouse and Claret very soon to realise that truly was an isolated incident. Jon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Both myself and family have stayed on numerous occasions at the Grouse and Claret, Station Rd, Rowsley in Room 5 (Family room) and during each stay, we have had a fantastic time. On each occasion, the manager Jon has greeted us with a friendly welcoming smile and nothing has ever been too much trouble for both him and his staff to do in order to accommodate our needs during our stay. We have always been offered assistance with our luggage when checking in and been provided with information about the area. The room we tend to stay in has always been exceptionally clean and up to a very high standard. Lots of hot running water/fresh towels, room is well maintained. The standard of breakfast is excellent, lots of variation and the evening meals were delicious. There is lots of choice for both adults and children and Jon always has always assisted us when going through the Specials board.I have no doubt that both me and my family will be stopping at this hotel again - excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Jon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Myself, my husband, daughter and son-in-law stayed this weekend (22/23rd September). We have stayed many times before at the Grouse and Claret, when the old managers were there. I can only say that the traveller who wrote the not so nice comments about the new management, could not of got it more wrong!. Previously you would get no communication and sometimes felt that you should not have been there. This time the atmosphere had really changed, food great, new decor and beds, great, much more relaxed and the two managers are great fun, friendly and wanting to know if everything was ok all the time. Staff are better that before as they have better bosses now. We are back at the end of November with more family. Thanks very much to John and Chris. DJW Nottingham

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards
Jon Brown
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

had a short stay here and found it to be excelent, room was great, food was great, and the staff very friendly always ready for a chat. Could not fault it at all. It is a very good location for peak district, and will be booking a longer stay next year.
Peter and Annette middlesbrough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards
Jon Brown
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darley Dale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having lived locally all my life and have visited the Grouse and Claret on numerous occasions to have a drink and a meal, I feel I must write and put my review for all to see. We have just returned from a family meal at the Claret generally the meal was ok, however that is the best I can say about it unfortunately. The decor and surroundings are beautiful the staff do seem pleasant enough, but there are much better places to eat not much further down the A6 towards Matlock, ie: The Grouse Inn at Darley Dale and the Whitworth Hotel to name just two off the main A6 and they are much more superior meals in quality for the same price, if not less money. I had a light bite which was adaquate, the kids had childrens meals which were ok, my husband had one of the specials, a steak with Stilton sauce served with a few chips and peas at £11.95 feel that this was overpriced for what it was. When we said that we were disappointed with the meal the staff said they were sorry but didnt seem interested in our comments and trying to retain our future custom. I am sorry to say I wouldnt eat here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Del2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the decor and surroundings and the staff were pleasant.. We have recently had a £500k refurbishment in February of this year and continued ongoing staff training is a priority to maintain high levels of customer service.

In response to you feeling that that you didnt receive "value for money" I must advise you that all menus and prices are set by Marstons Inns who strive to offer the very best quality of ingredients at a most competitive price. In line with our current menu offering, we also offer a 2 for £10.00 menu on Monday - Thursday , Light Bite meals priced around £5 and a £5.00 OFF voucher for a meal for 2 for all returning diners.

We do hope hope that you will visit us again soon..
Regards Jon Brown. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
0.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
392 reviews
5.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
774 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.1 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse and Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse and Claret

Property: Grouse and Claret
Address: Station Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th-Century Restaurant/Public House with 8 beautifully appointed double en-suite bedrooms. Situated just 1 minutes drive outside the Peak District National Park we are well situated for all local amenities including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, and the towns of Matlock and Bakewell. Nestled to the rear of the Pub, alongside the the River Derwent we also have 29 hard standing pitches with electric-hook-up to accommodate Touring Caravans and Motor homes and a separate Tent field, facilities here include Hot Showers, Toilets, Chemical Toilet disposal and Washing Up facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grouse and Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse And Claret Hotel Rowsley
Grouse And Claret Rowsley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing