We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with welcoming staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grouse and Claret

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grouse and Claret
Ranked #3 of 5 Rowsley B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely hotel with welcoming staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Both myself and family have stayed on numerous occasions at the Grouse and Claret, Station Rd, Rowsley in Room 5 (Family room) and during each stay, we have had a fantastic time. On each occasion, the manager Jon has greeted us with a friendly welcoming smile and nothing has ever been too much trouble for both him and his staff to do in order to accommodate our needs during our stay. We have always been offered assistance with our luggage when checking in and been provided with information about the area. The room we tend to stay in has always been exceptionally clean and up to a very high standard. Lots of hot running water/fresh towels, room is well maintained. The standard of breakfast is excellent, lots of variation and the evening meals were delicious. There is lots of choice for both adults and children and Jon always has always assisted us when going through the Specials board.I have no doubt that both me and my family will be stopping at this hotel again - excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Jon Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    121
    83
    62
    27
See reviews for
93
190
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Myself, my husband, daughter and son-in-law stayed this weekend (22/23rd September). We have stayed many times before at the Grouse and Claret, when the old managers were there. I can only say that the traveller who wrote the not so nice comments about the new management, could not of got it more wrong!. Previously you would get no communication and sometimes felt that you should not have been there. This time the atmosphere had really changed, food great, new decor and beds, great, much more relaxed and the two managers are great fun, friendly and wanting to know if everything was ok all the time. Staff are better that before as they have better bosses now. We are back at the end of November with more family. Thanks very much to John and Chris. DJW Nottingham

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards
Jon Brown
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

had a short stay here and found it to be excelent, room was great, food was great, and the staff very friendly always ready for a chat. Could not fault it at all. It is a very good location for peak district, and will be booking a longer stay next year.
Peter and Annette middlesbrough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards
Jon Brown
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darley Dale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having lived locally all my life and have visited the Grouse and Claret on numerous occasions to have a drink and a meal, I feel I must write and put my review for all to see. We have just returned from a family meal at the Claret generally the meal was ok, however that is the best I can say about it unfortunately. The decor and surroundings are beautiful the staff do seem pleasant enough, but there are much better places to eat not much further down the A6 towards Matlock, ie: The Grouse Inn at Darley Dale and the Whitworth Hotel to name just two off the main A6 and they are much more superior meals in quality for the same price, if not less money. I had a light bite which was adaquate, the kids had childrens meals which were ok, my husband had one of the specials, a steak with Stilton sauce served with a few chips and peas at £11.95 feel that this was overpriced for what it was. When we said that we were disappointed with the meal the staff said they were sorry but didnt seem interested in our comments and trying to retain our future custom. I am sorry to say I wouldnt eat here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Del2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the decor and surroundings and the staff were pleasant.. We have recently had a £500k refurbishment in February of this year and continued ongoing staff training is a priority to maintain high levels of customer service.

In response to you feeling that that you didnt receive "value for money" I must advise you that all menus and prices are set by Marstons Inns who strive to offer the very best quality of ingredients at a most competitive price. In line with our current menu offering, we also offer a 2 for £10.00 menu on Monday - Thursday , Light Bite meals priced around £5 and a £5.00 OFF voucher for a meal for 2 for all returning diners.

We do hope hope that you will visit us again soon..
Regards Jon Brown. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Having been regular diners at the Grouse and Claret for many years whilst visiting Bakewell we decided to stay overnight.

The place used to be run by another couple who had been there for many years. They retired last year on this was our first time since the new managers had taken over.

The resturaunt, the food and surroundings are still excellent, however getting a smile from the managers was impossible. All of the service staff were new, this was supprising as before they had remained the same people for quite a while. It soon became very aparant that the happy friendly atmosphere that had been there over previous years definalty seemed to have left with the previous managers.

OK. The rooms were really nice. Good decor, clean. Comfy bed and the windows drowned out the noise from the busy road outside. We couldn't hear any noise from the restaurant below either.

I booked a last minute deal so only paid £60 for a double room with breakfast for 2 so value for money was pretty good.

Overall its the managers who are letting this place down badly. Absolutely no interpersonal skills seem to be possessed which really quite annoyed us. Unfriendly, none wecomming and seemingly far to busy to be bothered with guests. Its so obviously creating friction with staff members too, who all though were nice, polite and friendly on the whole its nothing like it used to be.

Would I recommend you to visit? Yes, the food is great with a good menu. Would I recommend you to stay........on a deal price yes, full price.....no.

The poor managers annoyed us so much from the minute we entered the building the only saving grace was we didn't pay full price to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drnh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Grouse and Claret, it was nice to hear that you thought that the rooms were nice and that you enjoyed the food and the surroundings, however i am not to impressed that the management team let you down.

If you would send me an email to grouseandclaret.matlock@marstons.co.uk with a description of the persons that you were not happy with, I will speak to them personally and ensure that our high levels of customer service are adhered to in the future.
Regards. Jon Brown, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Myself and my wife stopped here recently to re-visit some of the places we used to court. The last time we were here was about 16 years ago and it wasn't like the place it is today - which was a very pleasant suprise. Its been extended and modernised greatly taking some of the original charm away but managing to still retain some of the history in there too.

We arrived and ordered a beer, tried to check in but the guy (very polite and helpful) wanted to ensure our room was prepared first (we were a little early). He said he'd go check then come find us with the key. We chose a seat outside as the sun was out and sure enough 10 mins later we were presented with the key as promised. A couple more beers (not cheap ... but well kept) and a meal later we went to the room.

The meal was ... absolutely divine ... Now I was hungry and things do taste nicer when you have an appetite but the taste and quality of the food was unexpected. We did miss dinner through our own mis-timing but breakfast was of equal quality (maybe lacking on the toast side).

The room was small but perfectly formed with a good TV, excellent shower and appeared clean and tastefully decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable (and one of the reasons why we missed dinner!)

In summary, the food was top quality, tasty, hot and sufficient in quanity. The drinks are expensive but are kept and served well and the room (or at least the one we had) was very pratical and well thought out. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

It's lost a star due to the expense of the drinks.

Would I go again? Yes, but I'm not going to leave a 16 year gap next time :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreudianSlyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisJon, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grouse and Claret very soon.
Regards Jon Brown , Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Clearly aimed at passing trade, as the level of service was shocking, you wouldn't want to return. Came in, asked bar man where we should sit, and he said anywhere, he came over and took our drinks order. Later someone came over and gave us kids menus. We then waited and waited and waited. In fact we waited over 20 minutes as staff (including the one who gave us the kids menu) studiousily ignored us.

So we paid for our drinks and made to leave. As we were doing so, someone finally came to take our order, claiming that we were sat in place for drinkers (desipte the menus on the table, the fact someone came to our table to take a drinks order and that someone had come over with a kids a menu). All excuses and no word of an apology.

For a brewery pub, the beer was in poor condition with bits in the bottom.

If you want a plastic pub experience devoid of atmosphere, then do go here, if not go else where - like the Red Lion in Birchover.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shefnumpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rowsley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowsley
3.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse and Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse and Claret

Property: Grouse and Claret
Address: Bakewell Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Rowsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rowsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grouse and Claret 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th-Century Restaurant/Public House with 8 beautifully appointed double en-suite bedrooms. Situated just 1 minutes drive outside the Peak District National Park we are well situated for all local amenities including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, and the towns of Matlock and Bakewell. Nestled to the rear of the Pub, alongside the the River Derwent we also have 29 hard standing pitches with electric-hook-up to accommodate Touring Caravans and Motor homes and a separate Tent field, facilities here include Hot Showers, Toilets, Chemical Toilet disposal and Washing Up facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Grouse and Claret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse And Claret Hotel Rowsley
Grouse And Claret Rowsley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing