We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains(Jindabyne)(Great Value!)
$123
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marritz Hotel(Perisher Valley)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barrakee Lodge(Perisher Valley)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ski Rider Hotel(Perisher Valley)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveler rating
451
247
56
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
247
56
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalpine larderski tubefree activitiesbedroom chaletcuisine restaurantsnowy mountainsbike ridingsegway touropen fireplaceheated floorsbreakfast was includedbush walkinglake view apartmenteach morningminute drivegreat facilitiesunderfloor heating
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 782 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights at Lake Crackenback in the Snowy Mountains with three couples and kids and had the three bedroom lakeside apartment. The apartments were very well equipped and directly facing the lake. They were also very centrally located and at a short distance from the gym, spa and the two restaurants. Highlight for us was a day trip to Thredbo where we climbed Mt Kosciuszko. It's a great walk and not very strenuous. The resort has two restaurants and we tried the cafe twice which was great. The kids enjoyed the archery and all the water sports options on the lake. If you're visiting from overseas and want to see kangaroos: I have never seen so many in and around the resort. For a great relaxing visit to the Snowy Mountains Lake Crackenback is definitely a great option.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank SanThom2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband & I decided last minute on a few nights away at Lake Crackenback for some much need time away together. Our initial browsing of your website sold it to us in a flash - although must admit that all the different chalet types and their varying differences made for a difficult choice - so I ended up phoning your office and sought recommendation from the receptionist. We arrived after hours, but the collection of our key and directions to our studio were easy to follow. Whilst it was late November it was quite cold, so to arrive to our studio and it already be warm and snug was a pleasant way to start our stay - and most attentive of the staff to do prior to our arrival. Dinners at the Alpine Larder were so scrumptious - can highly recommend the Wollondibby Goats Curd Pizza - such a beautiful mix of flavours. Our complimentary breakfasts in the restaurant each morning were such a nice way to start the day - Beautiful outlook of the lake and once again a scrumptious array of yogurts, cereals, hot breakfast items etc - their peppermint tea is very nice :) I am afraid that I forgot to ask the ladies name that served us each morning at breakfast (has two children and her husband works there also), but she is a true credit to your business - taking a nice interest in our day and a wealth of information in regards to local activities. In fact all staff we friendly & informative. Our studio apartment was spot on in terms of cleanliness & the studio contained everything we needed, including a fully self contained kitchenette which we put to good use. The grounds are kept beautiful, was lovely to see a wombat walk past as we sat to eat dinner one night. We used Lake Crackenback as a base to stay as we wanted to do the walk to Mount Kosciusko - and it was most conveniently located. Would we return? Most definitely. Would we recommend to others? We already have!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have just spent the last weekend at this resort for my fathers 70th birthday. We had about 28 people in a range of accommodation with the majority staying the the chalets. This accommodation is just lovely, all the chalets were different but all were of a very high standard with lovely linen, soaps, all were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We booked dinners at both Cuisine and Alpine Larder and both nights the food was excellent. Because of the numbers we had to have a set menu which we were not overly enthusiastic about but can understand why and the food did not disappoint. The only down side was we had 4 guests that were quite late because of car trouble so we asked the kitchen to keep their meals but there must have been a break down in communication because when they arrived there was no meals for them so they went hungry that night!! It wasn't a big deal but it would have been nice to have an apology of sorts.
The resort itself has a lot to offer with bike and walking trails, indoor pool, golf course, archery and more. Oh and the beautiful spa. My kids ( 8 & 6 ) had the time of their lives. If you want a relaxing holiday with your kids this is the place because once you arrive you don't have to go anywhere and the kids are really happy just enjoying the area. I highly recommend this place, I have been 4 times now and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

U have just returned from my hens weekend away with my best friend, sister, mum, sister in law and two great friends and we all had a wonderful time!
Check in was prompt and efficient, my best friend (MOH) booked and had requested a specific chalet and we got it! The chalet was beautifully clean, the spa was already on for our arrival and it had everything we needed and more - we could have stayed forever!
The stag also called after around half and hour to ensure that the room was to standard - of course!
The heating worked fantastically, their was wood provided for the fireplace, plenty of towels (2 each!) and bathroom items (soap, shampoo etc)
The views are amazing from every window of the chalet, it is peaceful, homely and I truly never wanted to leave.
This is my third visit to Lake Crackenback Resort and I must say it gets better and better each time! If the manager is still Scott than I would really like you to know that you are doing a wonderful job! Well done!
Ps breakfast at Cusine is brilliant, the day spa gave me the BEST hot stone massage I have ever had and the staff at Alpine Larder are still fantastic with brilliant service and food (the waitress even remember us from another hens party two years ago!) your doing everything right LCR! We will all be returning.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ShereeNMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I booked two nights mid November and were looking forward to our stay very much as we had stayed there a few years ago and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. There had been recent snow and rain and the weather was unseasonally cold.

We arrived late afternoon and after walking around the lake had dinner in the restaurant. The food was nicely presented, but neither of us really enjoyed the meal. Perhaps the tasteless rabbit tartare complementary starter put us off a bit.

Back to the studio unit, which was quite cold. There was no sign of the sub-floor heating that was supposed to be on for four hours. Tried the air conditioner without success - there were no instructions on how to use it. The heater in the bathroom was not working either. We later found out that the heating is turned off in October and the air conditioner takes about ten to fifteen minutes to start heating. We could not complain or ask for any assistance because reception closes at 7:00 pm and we were warned in a recorded message that a call-out that was not a real emergency could incur a stiff fee. The bed was first rate and we had a good night's rest. The next morning we were offered a column heater to make up for the lack of adequate, quiet heating but we decided not to stay the second night.

We were told that all the units there are privately owned and Novotel manages them for the owners. Some of our issues were the owner's responsibility.

In summary, an uncomfortably cold stay with sub-standard food for dinner. Beware, this resort charges full fee if you cancel later than fifteen days before your booked arrival date.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear AruthurL

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa. It disappoints us greatly to hear that you were not satisfied with your experience here at the Resort, as it is our primary goal to ensure guest satisfaction.

November certainly has been unseasonably cold and as such the majority of the accommodation in use has heating available, it is unfortunate that you found the studio uncomfortably cold during your stay. You mentioned a stiff after hours call out fee, please be assured that guest heating not operating as intended is certainly an emergency in our eyes, and would never incur a fee.

Should you wish to stay again in the future we encourage you to please bring any of your concerns to our attention at the time, to allow the staff the opportunity to effectively and efficiently remedy the situation. This extents to all areas of the Resort, Accommodation, Restaurant, Cafe, Spa & Wellness Centre, and Activities, if you have any issues please allow us the opportunity to match your experience with your expectations.

We do hope that you will return and allow us to showcase our normal high level of service and product here at the Resort.

Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews