We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crackenback
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our second stay at this great location. Lovely, but beware - you may need to pay for the wood for your lounge-room fire. We had to ($25/bag) and were refused a refund on an unused bag. Great breakfasts. Many of our group enjoyed their 'extreme' Segway off-road tour.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Wendy W

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent return trip to the resort - we really appreciate your loyalty and custom.

We are so pleased you loved your stay and the Segway tours - theya re very popular and loads of fun - sounded as though your group had quite an adventure!

I did want to follow up on your firewood incident and apologise for what seems to be a communication breakdown on our behalf. The firewood from 1 May - 7 October is provided free of charge and is kept conveniently located outside your accommodation. Outside of these colder months it is not included - however is available for sale as you are aware. You absolutely should have been credited for the unused bag and on speaking to our Front office manager and team we believe a room credit was offered - however perhaps this was not adhered to on check out? It absoutely should have been and if this was the case we apologise and would like to offer you a room credit to this affect on your next visit if you would like to mention this at the booking stage,

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future, and in the meantime invite you to join us on Facebook or Twitter to keep up to date with the latest events, offerings and deals on at the Resort.

Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 741 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a lovely quiet and relaxing 2 days at Lake Crackenback Resort and Spa. Mind you, I am not sure that this is what the Resort would like me to say, as it is set up for plenty of activity – golf, kayaks, Segways, mountain bikes, gym, spa, pool and much more, including a shuttle bus to the Ski Tube in the season. We were there out of the ski season and outside school holidays, so it was quiet. We were welcome to potter on our own.
The resort is a civilised, well-groomed oasis surrounded by gum-clad hills.
We chose to stay in one of the lakefront apartments with a balcony out over the water. It was well and comfortably equipped with a full kitchen, a full laundry; 2 bathrooms and 2 TVs. The bedding arrangement was a bit unusual – a double in the main bedroom; 2 singles in the open mezzanine and 2 bunks hidden behind a screen. I believe that the apartments are privately owned and each is different. You might want to check beforehand that the bedding arrangements suit your party.
The nights were cold but the heaters dotted around the apartment provided ample warmth. I’m sure that in winter the wood fire would be most welcome. Our car was grateful for the covered parking.
The posh restaurant, Cuisine, was closed the nights we were there, which was a pity because the menu lists plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes. We ate a tasty breakfast at the Alpine Larder, a most pleasant spot. Gluten-free bread was offered.
The resort is within easy reach of the little townships of Jindabyne and Thredbo for buying food supplies, finding a meal or browsing the outdoor and gift shops. Some shops and cafes close for the off-season.

Room Tip: All apartments are different. It might be wise to detail your needs, particularly as regards sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Eve2611

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent holiday with us here at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa.

We loved your comments regarding your take on the Resort and how relaxing and quiet it is - regardless of the number of activities on offer. This is exactly how we position the resort as having something for everyone, and to do as much or as little as you like. It is simply breathtaking scenery here and relaxation and nature is a very important part of our mantra - Relax, Rejuvenate and Activate.

It's a shame you weren't able to try our hatted restaurant Cuisine, however perhaps on your next visit!...

Thank you for your comments - we believe this area is very special and just love hearing the positive effect it has on our guests who come to stay. Please feel free to join us on Facebook or Twitter to keep updated with the latest events, deals and happenings at the Resort.

Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Visited this place with some Australian friends. I was expecting a simple cottage. What we got was a top modern house with all luxuries. Wonderful little lake and easy access to nice walks around.
Try out the segway tour, it was great fun.

We were also lucky with the weather and the sun was shining all the time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wargen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights here, we had a studio apartment and it was very place there was king size bed. The only down fall was the kitchen was small. The room had a large lounge with a nice gas fire and heating in every room. The breakfast was very good. If you want something different it is no trouble for the staff to go an get it.
Great place for walking and you can learn how to fly fish and go fishing after you have learnt. There is archery also a heated pool sauna and a gym.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holden10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

had studio apartment on boundary with bush mountain views for a 3 4 2 special, beaut location tween wild brumby schnapps distillery, horses, and thredbo walks, restaurants/cafe/dayspa staff and food beaut, can be an active stay with tennis, pool, segway, kayak, paddleboard, mtn biking and gym or a relaxing stay with eating, pool, walks of all grades here and around Thredbo

Room Tip: read fine print of inclusions and beware of 'may' inclusions as they probably wont be includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Lake Crackenback is definitely my home away from home! I have stayed numerous times and I will keep coming back. I don't think that there is anywhere else that offers the range of activities, beautiful facilities and tranquility as LCR. The restaurants are superb and the chef's amazing food really show's why Cuisine has been awarded a chef' s hat. The Ladder Cafe is also wonderful. Great to walk in and have staff remember your coffee order and they are always friendly and ready for a chat! And the activities! Is there anywhere else that you can go where you can enjoy so many free activities? I have tried my hand at fly fishing and the segways and am ready to jump on a mountain bike next visit and try out their tracks. The accommodation is beautiful. I try to stay somewhere with a mountain view especially in the winter with the snow capped mountains, although lake view rooms are really lovely.
Winter at the resort is fantastic and Harro and his team will set you up with all your skiing and boarding needs before you hit the slopes. A bus does a loop of the resort to take you to the ski tube and will pick you up again in the afternoon.
The resort has easy access to the ski tube in winter and it is a short drive to Thredbo and back into Jindabyne. I do recommend stopping in at the supermarket in Jindabyne on your way to the resort and stocking up on some basics. The rooms have fully equipped kitchens and honestly, once you get to the resort, you won't want to leave to go back to Jindabyne and shop!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently stayed here with my husband for three nights in an overwater Apartment. We booked for a single bedroom but got upgraded to the two bedroom apartments. We loved our time here - watching the lake, mountains and ducks swimming past in the day and waking up to the subtle and yet, surprisingly nice, sound of ducks splashing and quacking ( not loud enough to disturb or wake you but rather, you notice it pleasantly as you wake). It was really beautiful and peaceful and relaxing. The apartment had two bathrooms, one downstairs and one upstairs, but all beds located upstairs ( queen and two singles - the single beds were in a bit of a loft/open area but I'm sure would be fine for families). We were in appt 36. Also have to mention the lovely underfloor heating in the kitchen - so nice on a chilly morning as you make breakfast. I think there should have been underfloor heating in the downstairs bathroom but we couldn't make it work - not an issue for our stay but presumably something you'd want to work in mid-winter (and it could have been user error! :-) )
We dined at both restaurants and we both loved all the food - and the fact we could take away to our appt on one night! Only downside is the fact that its all a bit remote and once the shop shuts (7pm ish), it's an 18km drive to town if you want to do a late night chocolate/ice cream run - but this could be easily overcome with the provision of a few vending machines discreetly located around the resort or keeping the front desk/shop open longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crackenback
9.5 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
9 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
198 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
17 reviews
9 mi away
Panorama Jindabyne
Panorama Jindabyne
#5 of 10 in Jindabyne
145 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa

Address: 1650 Alpine Way | Snowy Mountains, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia (Formerly Novotel Lake Crackenback Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crackenback
Price Range: $208 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the border of the Kosciuszko National Park, Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa is a natural playground nestled in the Thredbo Valley surrounded by the spectacular Snowy Mountains. Just 15 minutes from Thredbo and Perisher Resorts. Its unique setting and many complimentary activities appeal to both couples and families to relax and absorb the scenery or experience the many mountain activities on resort and in the local area. Lake Crackenback is a perfect base to explore the region from sightseeing, local attractions, snowsports in winter and the many summer activities including walking trails, mountain bikes, Segway Eco Tours, canoeing or fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lake Crackenback Hotel Crackenback
Novotel Thredbo Village
Jindabyne Novotel
Accor Lake Crackenback Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing