We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 25th wedding anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crackenback
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lake Cracken Back has been a favorite of ours for a few years now. We have experienced excellent services everytime. Recently we booked a lodge in the resort NO: 4 Bullocks Way the house was perfect for our special event. This weekend we were celebrating 25 years of marriage and we had the honour of witnessing a young couple starting their marriage. All other visits we have booked a Water view apartment in this apartment my husband enjoyed fishing off the balcony whilst I sat back and read a good book by the open fire place.
A big thank you to Scott and your team for making our every visit just as special as our first. We highly recommend Lake Cracken Back Resort.

Special thank you to Nicola in the day spa and Alex in the Alpine Larder Restaurant

Warmest regards
Darleen and Malcolm Barton

Room Tip: We now prefer a chalet on Bullocks way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 731 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

A picturesque location, reasonable rooms, apartments and chalets BUT building season in Spring, Summer and Autumn so you pay good money to be put in accommodation where workmen angle grind and hammer 7am - 4pm EVERY week day. When you complain, they can't offer anything better as all of the accommodation appears to have building works next door.
Expensive cafe with one highlight of good service.

Overall a massive disappointment. 1 star.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orcajellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear orcajellyfish

We are disappointed to read of your feedback on your recent holiday to Lake Crackenback as we strive to ensure all of our guests truly enjoy this spectacular setting and all of our many resort offerings.We are passionate about our product and offering and it honestly affects us when one of our guests leaves feeling they did not have a positive, memorable experience.

As we are situated on 150 acres and have 50 lake view apartments and 50 privately owned mountain view chalets and studios, there will be at times building work occurring as there is with any progressive Resort or hotel. We do try at all times to minimize the impact on guests and in your particular case did offer to move you to various alternative accommodation – which was not taken up by you. We do take offense at your unrealistic comment that building works occur all day, every week day for three quarters of the year – this is quite obviously not the case and unreflective of our offering.

We appreciate your freedom to post your view but feel the need to defend our Resort when the information is overly exaggerated. Please feel free to contact me directly at the Resort should you wish to discuss further.

Regards

Scott O’Neile
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed on the weekend and can highly recommend it as a lovely sanctuary getaway. Stunning scenery, peace and quiet, and fun activities. I recommend booking the restaurant when you book the accommodation as there are often weddings so it's closed relatively regularly on a Saturday night. A gorgeous place to unwind, we had a lovely time and will certainly go back for a winter getaway too.

Room Tip: If you're going for a romantic weekend, book a room with the corner spa - a bottle of bubbly in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureAndBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Claudia H

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent holiday to visit us at Lake Crackenback Resort and Spa.

We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated the serenity of the Snowy Mountains and beauty of the natural settings of the Resort. It is such a special place to get away to, especially given the fast pace of everyday life.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the winter months - another beautiful time of year here...in the meantime please feel free to join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep up to date with some of our special upcoming events and offers on throughout the year.

Warm regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times last 12 months and we have enjoyed it tremendously (except disappointment with the most recent stay). The 3 trips were all different reasons, conference, skiing with a group of friends and a romantic retreat.

I probably don't need to elaborate the beautiful lake and mountain settings, ample of activities on site for the family, beautiful restaurants by the lake with inclusion of buffet breakfast, friendly staff.

We have stayed at the loft studio and the 2 bedroom apartment which were excellent. The comprehensive inclusions in the apartment make the stay comfortable. However the most recent stay at the Platinum studio (16 Stockwhip Way Studio) was a disappointment for the money we paid compared to the loft studio and 2 bedroom apartment. It's a small cramp room with broken curtain, limited TV channels, neither a mountain or lake view or spa as promised on the description.

Despite this disappointment, we will still return but will be more careful with the type of accommodation available

Room Tip: Apartments by the lakes are magnificent. Loft studios are also nice and very spacious (1 Little Thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanberraTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I don't think we have ever been anywhere as quiet and as comfortable as Lake Crackenback Resort and Spa. The scenery is stunning, the staff very friendly and helpful and the onsite facilities make it a very comfortable place to spend a few days or even longer if you can spare the time. Our package deal through Lake Crackenback Resort included accommodation and food along with a Spa Treatment and a 2 day Yoga retreat run by Kris McIntyre. The accommodation and healthy food were balanced nicely with great yoga classes and ample free time to explore the grounds, relax and take in some nature.

After only 3 days away i'm back at work feeling like i've had 2 weeks off.

Lake CrackenBack Resort and Spa and a Kris McIntyre Yoga retreat are an awesome combination. We will definitely be coming back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Adam S

It was so lovely to get your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Resort for one of our highly popular yoga weekends.

We are so glad you enjoyed the weekend and the blend of yoga, food, spa and 'me time'....we are so fortunate to have Kris McIntyre hosting yoga retreats with us throughout the year - she is truly amazing and we are finding we need to put more yoga weekends on as they are selling out so quickly with people wanting to return for more ! We will be sure to pass your positive feedback onto Kris and also onto our team here- thank you.

We look forward to welcomingy ou back to the Resort in the near future, b ut in the meantime please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with the latest events we have coming up here at Lake Crackenback.

Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

- The only place that I unwind from the hustle and bustle
- Food is amazing and athlete friendly
- Scott the general manager is friend and approachable
- Has everything you need and close to Thredbo Village

Room Tip: The water front rooms are best. Top floor not as noisy as lower floors. If you want something a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Caro L

Thank you for letting us know your feedback from your recent visit to the Resort earlier this month - we love hearing from our guests on all aspects of the Resort and are delighted you enjoyed your time with us.

Your positive comments regarding the food have been passed on to our Chef and his Food and Beverage team who all work tirelessly and with continued passion to ensure they consistently deliver above guests expectations - they will be appreciateive of the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We wanted to get away for a weekend, just my wife, two kids and myself. We were looking for a place that we could just unwind and relax whilst the kids could have some fun as well, we found it at Lake Crackenback Resort and Spa.

Even though it was the off season when we stayed, which was the 26th and 27th of Jan 2013, we still found the resort had lots of activities to keep the kids entertained. They could choose to do, archery, tennis, swimming, bike riding, trampolining, and kayaking. The only activity that incurred an extra cost was the bike riding which for kids is $15 per day. For adults it is $30 per day for the bike hire.

The accommodation was top notch, we stayed in a 2 bedroom chalet which was very nicely appointed. The chalets do vary in style but from what we could see they all appeared to have the same high standard of fittings and furniture.

We found the chalet to be generally pretty clean the only exception was the oven and microwave which appeared to have been overlooked by the cleaning staff as the oven was literally swimming in oil, I have no idea how so much oil could get on the underside of the grill tray, and the microwave glass platter needed a good wash before we used it.

The bedrooms were clean and well presented with ample towels for our length of stay. However the beds were very firm and not what we are used to as we have latex foam top mattresses at home.

The water pressure in the shower was not great, we like a strong shower but that is just us.

We appreciated that there was a good range of not only free to air TV channels but also a good range of FOXTEL channel as well. Our kids loved the Nick channel.

It was great to be able to leave the windows open of a night and not be disturbed by noise, the clean fresh mountain air was brilliant.

We did not eat at the Cuisine on The Lake so we cannot comment on what it is like, the main reason we did not eat there is there was not the kind of food our kids would eat on the kids menu.

However we did try the Alpine Larder for lunch which was not the best experience so we would not bother going there again. One and a half hour wait for a Caesar salad, an already prepared Focaccia that only needed to be toasted and a bowl of fries is a bit too long of a wait in my opinion.

What I do recommend is that as you pass through the town of Jindabyne on the way to the resort that you stop at the local supermarket and pick up some frozen pizzas, garlic bread etc and use the fully appointed kitchen to prepare them. You also have a BBQ on the deck if you wish to have a BBQ dinner or lunch, again just pick up the meat at the supermarket on the way to the resort.

The swimming pool and sauna were great and we spent a lot of time there with the kids, it is n indoor pool and there is als a small gym for when the weather is inclement.

Unfortunately the day spa was fully booked so my wife missed out on having a spa package this time. She is looking at going back there this coming May with her sisters, so she intends to book a spa package then.

We would definitely recommend this resort for families and those who want an active weekend away, equally you could have a nice relaxing time and do absolutely nothing and come away feeling nice and refreshed.

Room Tip: Get food supplies at the supermarket in Jindabyne on the way up to the resort, especially milk, brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crackenback
9.5 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
9.0 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
197 reviews
8.9 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
215 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
87 reviews
3.4 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa

Address: 1650 Alpine Way | Snowy Mountains, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia (Formerly Novotel Lake Crackenback Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crackenback
Price Range: $217 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the border of the Kosciuszko National Park, Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa is a natural playground nestled in the Thredbo Valley surrounded by the spectacular Snowy Mountains. Just 15 minutes from Thredbo and Perisher Resorts. Its unique setting and many complimentary activities appeal to both couples and families to relax and absorb the scenery or experience the many mountain activities on resort and in the local area. Lake Crackenback is a perfect base to explore the region from sightseeing, local attractions, snowsports in winter and the many summer activities including walking trails, mountain bikes, Segway Eco Tours, canoeing or fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lake Crackenback Hotel Crackenback
Novotel Thredbo Village
Jindabyne Novotel
Accor Lake Crackenback Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing