We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay with so many wonderful outdoor activities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crackenback
Certificate of Excellence
Vincentia, NSW
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great place to stay with so many wonderful outdoor activities.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay with great Service. Plenty of activities for adults and children.The only drawback is the lack of airconditioning in most of the chalets. This isn't a problem during winter but in summer it can be. If they wish to market LCR as a year round resort then this should be addressed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    225
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
288
258
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently had a holiday starting at Thredbo and finishing in Bright with a couple of spare days in the middle. On one of my husband's morning bike rides he checked out Lake Crackenback and suggested that we book in for those two days. I only wish we had more time - it is so beautiful and serene. There are enough things to do to keep you occupied if that's what you want but it is such a lovely place to wind down and soak up the peace. We loved it and the children (12 yrs old) loved it.The staff everywhere were terrific, both restaurants were wonderful and we will definitely recommend it to our friends and family.
We hope to return in a future holiday and spend more time there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in a one bedroom lake view apartment. It was dated and fairly basic accommodation, but if you're not looking for bells and whistles luxury, then it was all you would need, very roomy for two and a picturesque setting. The real joy is all the things to do-fantastic trails complete with bridges and exercise stops, archery, kayaking, trampolining-it's a family paradise, so much so we were wishing we hadn't left the kids behind! The only drawback was that you are paying resort prices for pretty average food. We did have a nice meal at Cuisine-although our steak order arrived overdone, the waitress was quick to remedy the error and gave us a free wine to compensate for not eating our mains together. The service at this and all other points of contact was very good. Our meal at the cafe was not great-the flavor balance was off for most dishes and quite overpriced. My husband and I debated whether the room was good value, but when you factor in breakfast and the setting and all the activities, it probably was. I would encourage the owners to update the kitchen and bathrooms soon however. Overall we'd definitely return to this resort, with kids, and we had a very relaxing time. Very much recommended!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braidwood, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We took a two-night package at Lake Crackenback Resort just before Christmas 2012 and had the most awesome time. With so much to do with kayaks, paddleboards, mountain bikes, the pool, walks and activities, archery, trampolines, fly-fishing, river sleds, Christmas carols and of course, the Segways; we packed a heck of a lot into the 48 hours or so we had there.
The staff were amazing and I think they are LCR's strongest asset The team at Activate (Matt, Matt & Georgia) were so friendly and helpful that as my daughter said, we felt like we had known them for ages. They gave us lots of help and advice of things to do and were great fun to go along with. The staff in the day spa, restaurants and reception were also all really friendly and helpful and provided excellent service. I wholeheartedly recommend LCR for a family holiday!

Room Tip: Lakeside apartments are in a great location but be careful running around naked in front of the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamoHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear DamoHeart

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent holiday at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, we are genuinely pleased you and your family loved your stay with us.

One of our biggest selling points, we believe, are the number of free activities available to our guests to suit all levels of ability and skill, so we are thrilled you mentioned this - it is an area we will continue to add to in the future to ensure our guests continue to receive excellent value for money.

Thank you for personally naming some of great team members - it has been directly passed on to them and acknowledged so much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Resort, in the meantime please feel free to join us on Facebook and Twitter to ensure you can be updated with the latest happenings, events and deals available at the Resort.

Warm regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Lake Crackenback is a perfect place for a holiday. 2011 we spent christmas there for four nights. 2012 we saw in the new years for 2013 and spent six nights. Next time we are staying for 6 nights. there is so much that we still haven't done. The Segways are excellent value and loads of fun. Our guides Georgia and Matt were friendly and very professional. There is a walk for everyone. The pizzas at Alpine Larder are excellent and the dinner we had at Cuisine was lovely. The staff are great, the food is great and the whole resort is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Libby H

We are so pleased you and your family had such a great time with us over the Christmas / New Year period!

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of yout experience and also personally naming our great Activate staff - it is always so nice to be able to provide them with feedback as our team are so passionate about their roles and the Resort.

We look foward to welcoming you back next Christmas / New Year for your annual stay.

Warm regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We recently spent four days over Christmas at this resort. Unfortunatly we were unable to book into one of the Lakeview apartments but managed to rent a Bronze Chalet 1 bedroom. We believe these chalets are not part of Novotel and are privately owned. Ours was very nice and overlooked the Little Thredbo River where we watched the kangaroos grazing in the evenings just near us. We have a couple of complaints. The fridge was very small and iced up. The bathroom, very clean, but very badly designed. The bath was very difficult to get into as it had very wide sides. It was slippery too. This is not good for us older patrons when the only shower is over the bath. The bedroom was very good, as was the small loungeroom and balcony.
Breakfast was included and we were not terribly impressed. Obviously we were there in a busy period but we figured a Novotel breakfast should be better as it is in most other Novotel establishments. We were there for Christmas lunch which cost $135 a head. The seafood was good. The hot dishes very poor - tired old meat in baine maries. No green vegetables. The only salad we could see was a Caesar salad which did not really go. Alcohol was extra. We shall not do that again. Overall the resort has a lot to offer but we felt that it was in need of some refurbishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghostsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear ghosts Travellers

Thank you for your review of your recent holiday to Lake Crackenback over Christmas - we are glad you loved our part of the world, we are very passionate it.

Your comments regarding the breakfast standard and your Christmas lunch were disappointing to hear and have been taken up with our F&B manager and team to discuss and review. You are right in that it is a very busy time of the year, however we pride ourselves on the level of servce and product that we offer at all times so this should not have negatively impact your experience at the Resort.

The chalets are individually owned as you stated and the designs are therefore unique. We have the room configurations and images of the Chalets on the website to try to overcome any disappointment - and the overwhelming majority feedback from our guests are that they love the accommodation standard. We understand in your case you had issues with the bathroom design and need to put this down to personal taste and unique design. The icing of the fridge is under our control and has been passed onto our housekeeping department as this is not our usual level of service.

Thanks again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the future.

Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed a 3 night Spa Indulgence package at LCR. The food was exceptional and the wine list excellent! The Spa was magnificent and the massage one of the best I have ever had. It was a relaxing, tranquil and beautiful setting and we loved it - we'll definitely visit again!

Room Tip: A lakeside chalet is a must for afternoon naps listening to the lulling of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crackenback
9.9 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
390 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
9.1 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
189 reviews
3.4 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
66 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa

Property: Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Address: 1650 Alpine Way | Snowy Mountains, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia (Formerly Novotel Lake Crackenback Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crackenback
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the border of the Kosciuszko National Park, Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa is a natural playground nestled in the Thredbo Valley surrounded by the spectacular Snowy Mountains. Just 15 minutes from Thredbo and Perisher Resorts. Its unique setting and many complimentary activities appeal to both couples and families to relax and absorb the scenery or experience the many mountain activities on resort and in the local area. Lake Crackenback is a perfect base to explore the region from sightseeing, local attractions, snowsports in winter and the many summer activities including walking trails, mountain bikes, Segway Eco Tours, canoeing or fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lake Crackenback Hotel Crackenback
Novotel Thredbo Village
Jindabyne Novotel
Accor Lake Crackenback Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing