We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay,make sure your upstairs,can be noisy when full”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crackenback
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to stay,make sure your upstairs,can be noisy when full”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This was a great place to stay off season. The segway is well worth doing. The place can be quiet or noisy. Its worth noting despite the modern appearance of the buliding that if you have accomodations above you you will hear your nieghbours.

We thought this place was bliss till a bike trail event was held here and we realised you could hear our new guests come ,go shower etc above us.

They could also do with a window cleaner!

Apart from that this is a charming place,with loads to do around the area. Places to eat can be slim pickings. The kitchens are stocked with great gear,so I suggest bring some wonderful food to cook and maybe your own non stick pan and some medium or small saucepans.

Didnt eat here as the main restaurant was shut ,but did hear good things. Very romantic place.

Room Tip: make sure you dont have people above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear saltpan

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your holiday at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, we love hearing feedback from our guests.

Your comments regarding windows and noise have been passed on to our maintenance and housekeeping teams to look into, thank you for letting us know.

It is a shame you weren't able to dine at Cuisine Restaurant & Bar during your stay. While we do have self catering in all of our accommodation, if you don't feel like cooking we also have our alternative restaurant / cafe Apline Larder available which serves wood fired pizza, pasta, tapas and some delicious signature dishes.

Thank you again for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you here again soon,

Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    225
    49
    16
    9
See reviews for
295
258
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Having driven pass the driveway on the way to the ski tube over the years, have always wanted to stay at Lake Crackenback and what a better time than for a birthday celebration.

We recently spent three nights in a two bedroom waterfront apartment. We originally wanted to book a one bedroom apartment, but as none were available were given a two bedroom for the same price. Loved the open fireplace and there was plenty of firewood available outside the apartment. The apartment was very spacious and provided the option of eating in, although we chose to eat at the two restaurants - The Alpine Larder and Cuisine. Our package included breakfast on two mornings - a very generous buffet. Both restaurants were very accommodating when it came to dietary requirements.

The free activities included in the package were great - golf, archery, tennis, kayaking, walks. We absolutely loved the segway tour and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting.

We would definately stay again, but perhaps look at staying in one of the chalets on the property for a different perspective. Recommend looking out for the three nights for the price of two deals. Our stay was nice and relaxing and can't wait to visit again (perhaps when it is slightly warmer).

If looking for somewhere different to eat, would recommend lunch at Wild Brumby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siem217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear siem27

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your recent holiday at the Resort.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your Lakeview Apartment and agree it is nice to get a different perspective and stay in a chalet as well on consequent visits. It is one of the benefits of staying at our Resort that there are so many unique styles of accommodation to suit individual needs and tastes. All of our chalets are shown on our website with a virtual tour on each for your reference.

Your positive comments regarding our two onsite restaurants have been passed on to our Food and Beverage Manager - it is great feedback as we realise the importance of having high quality restauraunts to choose from for our guests, and we're so glad you enjoyed our full buffet breakfast each morning at Cuisine Restaurant & Bar.

The number of free activities at the Resort is an area we take great pride in and will continue to offer our guests. We are also continually looking at adding new experiences and when you return you may like to try our amazing new River Sled tour down the Thredbo River which is spectacular and operates in the warmer months.

We look forward to seeing you back here again soon, however in the meantime feel free to join us on Facebook or Twitter where we post upcoming events at the Resort and latest additions to help you plan your next visit.

Kind regards

Scott ONeile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We have just returned from another awesome Holiday staying at the Lake Crackenback Resort. We stayed in the gorgeoous Waterfront apartments, our was a newly renovated room ( which I was told to ask for when booking) and we certainly were not disappointed. The apartment was Divine, there was nothing we didnt have to make our stay feel like home. The beds were so comfy, the kitchen had all the essentials you need. We stayed in the 3 bed apartment, 2 bathrooms. An open fire place with a stack of fire wood outside the front door.
We love the resorts Activites, Bike riding, Archery. Golf, Walks,Canoeing, Trampolines, and the new addition of the Segways made it so much Fun.I could highly recommend the Alpine Larder for anyone Gluten Free, they had a great menu for Us ! The staff at the alpine larder Cafe couldnt have been more helpful around my daughters dietary needs/ and allergies....NOTHING was a problem, they were so welcoming and Kind. We spent 6 nights at the resort, in that time we visited Thredbo which is delightful at this time of the Year (May) the scenery is Divine.We especially went there for the Tobogganing, but dont trust the opening times, the first day we went it was to open at 11am but didnt until 12pm. We loved it so much we went back and they told us it wouldnt open until 1pm, but after a lot of waiting around it didnt open at all that day ! so call first before you go.You must drive up to Charlottes Pass for some Grand Views, some great walks up there. We were really lucky it snowed the day before we went up and everything around was peppered with snow, so beautiful. We visited the Wild Brumby Winery 3 days for our lunch ( they have the best soup ). We booked a horse riding adventure ( across the road from the wild brumby) but we were very disappointed in that we paid for a 1 1/2 hour ride and returned well before the time was up ! we didnt do anything more than a walk...................... The Guy Nev didnt make it much fun,Just business to him. Next time we will source out somewhere different. I would highly recommend this Resort to anyone looking for a fun holiday, to just relax or getting out there and having FUN ! This Resort should be on everyones MUST DO list !!

Room Tip: Ask for a Newly renovated room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Janet C

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what a great holiday you had recently at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa - it is fantastic to see you return.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your Apartment so much - we think they are pretty special with their stunning views over the lake and mountain ranges in the background. You certainly made the most of your 6 day holiday doing the many free activities on site as well as our new Segway tours which have proven very popular. We are always looking at adding to the guest experience - so next time you are here there are sure to be more new activities for you to explore! It is great that you also got out to Thredbo, horse riding and the beautiful Wildbrumby Distillery - it is such an amazing area we are in...

I have passed your lovely comments regarding the Alpine Larder staff and menu options onto our team - we are continuiley striving to exceed guest expectations and it is so nice for our staff to receive this positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future, in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Twitter and Facebook to keep updated with all the happenings and future events at the Resort.

Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Lake Crackenback is a vast resort with an Australian bush setting - Kosciusko National Park surrounds it. I've been here in all seasons, though my favourite is summer, mainly because I'm not a big fan of winter. It is situated about halfway between Thredbo and Jindabyne. It's about a 2 hour drive from Canberra.You'll definitely need a car to stay here, though in winter, I think there is a shuttle bus that takes you to Thredbo or the Ski Tube at Bullocks Flat.

Staying here is a bit on the expensive side, but it is worth it. You can decide to stay in lake view apartments overlooking Lake Crackenback or in studios or chalets which mostly overlook the Snowy Mountains (which by the way only have snow in them in winter). There is a pretty little walk around Lake Crackenback. In the morning and early evening you can see kangaroos coming out to graze. Studios and chalets have three standards of accommodation - Bronze, Gold and Platinum. The rate will vary according to the standard of accommodation you select. I must say though that some of the standards seem to vary. I stayed in a Platinum studio but I thought it really should have been rated a bronze. I've stayed in bronze studios that should definitely have been rated higher. You can get a good idea of what studios or chalets look like by doing a virtual tour on the Lake Crackenback website. Studios and chalets styles of accommodation are newer than the lake front apartments. They are privately owned and let out. There is freehold land around the resort to build on.

There is a restaurant on site - nice but food isn't that fantastic. E.g The scambled eggs just don't taste like real scambled eggs and is just made up in bulk from some powdery substance. Danishes and pastries seem soggy and not fresh - not what you expect from a place of this calibre. There is also an Alpine Larder which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and a small very select grocery store in reception - which charges outrageous prices. Best to stock up at the Woolworths in Jindabyne if self catering.

There are a lot of resort activities - apart from skiing in winter, you can hire a bike, swim in the indoor pool (nice in summer when doors open) on a warm day or in Thredbo River (not in winter though!), go for bushwalks along the Thredbo River, do archery or trampolining or a round of golf or relax and book a spa.

This place is a very popular venue for weddings in Autumn and Summer - quite often the restaurant is booked out for wedding receptions.

One funny/quirky thing about TV reception - some of the stations seem to be linked to TV from the Northern Territory - lots of commercials for places in Alice Springs.

I keep on coming back here - it is just so nice and peaceful.

Room Tip: Avoid school/public holidays and the peak winter season to get decent rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Aus59,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, I am so happy to hear that this is not your first visit and wont be your last!

Thank you for your comments regarding the different accpommodation styles you have stayed in. As the properties are all privately owned it does help to have the virtual tours available on the website so you can choose the one that most suits your needs.

I have passed your comments regarding your breakfast experience onto our Head Chef, we like getting feedback regarding this so we can better our service and meals.

In regards to our television reception we ae very pleased to announce that we have now gone digital and have all digital channels. You are correct that some of our channels did come from a feed which is based in the Northern Territory, luckily no longer.

Thanks again for your comments, we look forward to seeing you back at the Resort soon, in the meantime we invite you to join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with the latest events on at the resort.

Kind Regards,
Scott O'Neile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Recently had a 3 night stay at Lake Crackenback and stayed in a 3 bedroom chalet with family. The chalet was lovely, spacious rooms, large living area, 3 king size bedrooms, 2 large bathrooms, separate laundry and drying room, not to mention superb views. The kitchen was very well equipped for self catering.

Lots of free activities were great, unfortunately the weather wasn't so great so on a very wet day we ventured into the Games Room - very disappointing and definitely in need of a makeover, hardly any games in there, but we were able to borrow some board games from reception. Lots of activities we didn't get to try because of the rain but managed some superb walks, would recommend the walk to Bullocks Hut, scenery is superb.

We ate at Alpine Lader for breakfast, lunch and dinner but were disappointed they don't have a dedicated children's menu, options for children were pizza or one pasta dish and nothing for younger children. There was little variation between lunch and dinner menus.

Hope to return to the resort in the summer and particularly welcome their 3 for 2 deals.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morris80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Morris80,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa. I was so pleased to hear that your family getaway was so enjoyable. Sorry that the weather didnt hold out for you so that you could enjoy all the free activities we have to offer

Thank you for telling us about your disappointement with the Games Room and the menu and Alpine Larder. I will pass yoru comments onto our team for discussion.

Thanks again for your comments, we look forward to seeing you back at the Resort soon, in the meantime we invite you to join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with the latest events on at the resort.

Kind Regards,
Scott O'Neile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Our apartment was perfect - gorgeous views, more than enough room, great kitchen and deck, super-clean and warm. The whole resort was beautifully maintained with plenty of activities included complimentary. We loved our lunch at Apline Larder, canoeing on the lake, trying archery and best of all our segway eco tour - Matt went out of his way to tailor the tour to our family (in order to include a small person) and we loved his attention to detail and sense of humour. We all wished our stay could have been longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrackenback, General Manager at Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Narelle P

Thank you for your recent post and letting us know about your recent time at the Resort. It is always so nice to hear that our guests only regret is they could not stay longer!

Your comments have been passed on to Matt regarding your Segway tour (they are so much fun!) and we are glad you and your family all loved the range of complimnetary activities on offer as this is one of our ongoing commitments to guests at the resort.

Alpine Larder cafe has only fairly recently been an addition to Cuisine Restaurant at the Resort and so far feedback has been fantastic - which is great, the setting and local produce offered is difficult to beat.

Thanks again for your comments, we look forward to seeing you back at the Resort soon, in the meantime we invite you to join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with the latest events on at the resort.

Kind regards

Scott O'Neile
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crackenback
9.5 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
9.9 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
398 reviews
3.4 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thredbo Village
282 reviews
9.0 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
189 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa

Property: Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Address: 1650 Alpine Way | Snowy Mountains, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia (Formerly Novotel Lake Crackenback Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crackenback
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the border of the Kosciuszko National Park, Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa is a natural playground nestled in the Thredbo Valley surrounded by the spectacular Snowy Mountains. Just 15 minutes from Thredbo and Perisher Resorts. Its unique setting and many complimentary activities appeal to both couples and families to relax and absorb the scenery or experience the many mountain activities on resort and in the local area. Lake Crackenback is a perfect base to explore the region from sightseeing, local attractions, snowsports in winter and the many summer activities including walking trails, mountain bikes, Segway Eco Tours, canoeing or fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lake Crackenback Hotel Crackenback
Novotel Thredbo Village
Jindabyne Novotel
Accor Lake Crackenback Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing